We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got the order wrong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McAlister's Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McAlister's Deli
371 S Illinois Ave, Oak Ridge, TN 37830
865-685-0156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 79 Restaurants in Oak Ridge
Restaurant details
Shenyang, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Got the order wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I usually love McAlister's Deli but this one left me a little irritated. I got a to-go order with 4 meals. Three were correct and good but the 4th was entirely wrong. Unfortunately I didn't check the order before I left & was too far away to turn back by the time I realized the mistake. I wasn't able to eat the food because I can't eat pork and my baked potato had bacon mixed in to the potato & the cheese covering it. I had expressly requested no meat.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My first impression was negative, I was hoping to sit down and order (it was our first visit). However, the young lady at the counter was quite helpful and we placed our orders. At first glance I thought that the prices were on the high side, but after seeing the size of the sandwiches, I revised that. Her Reuben and my half Muffaletta were too much for one meal, we each took half back to our hotel room for later. Both were very tasty. I was not fond of the potato salad but will have something else next time - we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I like all the sandwiches and entrees I've ever had here. A few of the sides are not to my taster, buts there are several to choose from. The service is quick, and the people are always friendly. I've never had diner here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I always leave hungry...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great food, as far as the taste of the sandwiches. But we always seem to leave hungry when we try to have dinner here. Also, the kids meals are lacking, especially the pizza and the nachos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always a Good Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I don't think I've ever had a bad meal at McAlister's, any location. With one opening in Oak Ridge there is one more steady, consistent eatery. Their menu of sandwiches, soups, salads, and spuds has great variety. I also like that if you bring your church bulletin in on Sunday that they give you a free cookie. Can't beat their sweet tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McAlister's Deli also viewed

 

Been to McAlister's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McAlister's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.