We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aubrey's

Aubrey's
481 South Illinois Avenue, Oak Ridge, TN 37830
865-685-0821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Oak Ridge
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Family restaurant, not a lot of competition in the immediate area, so it's usually busy. Steaks are good, wings are great on Wednesday nights, bartenders are friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad terrible slow not very good service, food iffy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Third time a Aubrey's...every time the service has been slow and unfriendly.....2 weeks ago we arrived at 6 and didn't leave until 8:30....SUPER SLOW. This time the Hostess was flirting with the bartender and was obviously upset I was interrupting, then the Parmesan spinach which I love had frozen hunks of spinach in it and my potatoes had obviously been sitting under a heat lamp sweating and getting filmy on top...and yet were unbelievable lukewarm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visited Aubrey's last night and was very pleased. The food was very tasty and the service was fast and friendly. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. I would suggest it as a date night restaurant as the menu is a little pricey.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, fair price, clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Only open for a couple of weeks, yet finding their stride. OR crowd moves a little slower than in Knoxville (where Aubrey's has a 15 year head start) and the staff seem to get it. Our entire party of six disliked the spinach con queso (greasy chips, gel-like dip, just too orange in color) and loved the steak bits on fried onions (perfectly cooked med-rare as ordered, tender juicy grilled.) Meals were mix of entree salads (all good and oversized - easily feeds two), fish and chips (average, more like fish fingers, chips awesome hand-cut potato slices - will order these as an appetizer next visit), and potato soup (one of the best had anywhere.) Dozens of beers on tap, at $3 a glass is very nice. And a good sweet iced tea. Service was prompt, informative, and attentive in a friendly, casual atmosphere. Six people, appetizers, alcohol, other drinks, and good meals for $100 pre-tip - that seemed appropriate for what we enjoyed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another choice in a small town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently lunched at the newly opened Oak Ridge branch of Aubrey's. The decor is bright, modern, attractive, if a bit cold... We felt that though the food was good, the cost was a little high.
We are after all, a small town, and city fare carries a "sticker shock". If you are going to spend $25.00 for lunch, it should be a little special. Aubrey's is nice, yes, special, no. The waitress was slow to greet us, and unfamiliar with the menu. ( O.K.) they were newly opened. Overall, we felt that the food, prices, ambience were very similar to another restaurant in town, but without the spectacular river setting....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubrey's also viewed

 

Been to Aubrey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubrey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.