We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Newport Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Newport Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Newport Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1015 Cosby Highway, Newport, TN 37821-7323   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Newport
Harrisburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were traveling on I 40 and need a place just to get a shower and some sleep. This filled the bill just fine. We were ready for a stop but the rooms at many hotels in the area closer to Knoxville were taken by football fans as there was a home game the next day. It was a relief to find a lower priced room that could accommodate us with clean new carpets, fresh fairly comfortable beds and adequate bathroom facitilities. Our room also had a mini fridge and microwave. The size of the room might be small if you were staying a few days or traveling with children but it was fine for us. We did not try the breakfast. It was served in the adjoining pizza parlor which had emitted strong pizza aroma when we arrived. We chose to get breakfast at a Cracker Barrel that was within easy walking distance. For price and convenience this is a good place to stop.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
From all our Guest Service Team here at the Best Western Newport Inn we send you our upmost gratitude for your decision to stay at our Newly Renovated property! Our competitive rates for our accommodations is very reasonable in our market. We want our guests to have a home away from home experience at a very affordable price, along with our Superior Customer Service.
Our appreciation to you again for your recent business and the pleasure is ours for the opportunity to accommodate you Above and Beyond Your Expectations! Thank You for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    52
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
41
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honey Brook, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The check-in staff was extremely friendly. Our room clock had the incorrect time and could not be set. Told the front desk when we went to breakfast and when we got back later a new clock was in the room (they still did not put a 9-volt battery in for the backup). Breakfast was just okay. The first day there wasn't much sausage or bacon in the steamer. Biscuits and Gravy was good (would have been better if sausage gravy). Orange Juice was terrible - had ice in it and watered down/sour. The scrambled eggs were good, but the shredded cheese containers were empty and no staff around to ask for more. Contractors had rooms near ours, they kept knocking on doors near us and very loud. It wasn't really relaxing with them there. One truck parked right in front of our door and halfway over the sidewalk (we had two rooms). We didn't try the restaurant - 10% off w/room key. Had to drive down to breakfast since it was raining (rooms in one building/lobby and restaurant in another). Rooms very clean. Handicap shower was very big. Coffee pot/ice bucket are in the closet. Regular room has the fridge/microwave in the sink area (commode/shower in separate room from sink).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We would first like to say Thank You for your most recent stay and review at the Best Western Newport Inn! We are happy that your interaction with our Guest Services was most pleasant and also the issue with your alarm clock was handled appropriately in a timely manner.
Our apologies that your experience with our Free Hot Breakfast did not exceed your expectations but we do appreiciate your feedback. We value your business and review on your experience at the Newly Renovated Best Western Newport Inn and we hope to serve you again for your next consideration of business at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staff was courteous, helpful. Room was big, clean, with everything we needed, refridge, microw, flat sceen tv. Just remodernized I think. Easy to get to. Low cost. Would go back again. I'd give it 4.0-4.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
The Best Western Newport Inn extends our gratitude for your most recent stay and review. Our staff strives to exceed our guests expectations and we are more than thankful for your business at our newly renovated property!
Again our appreciation and we hope to serve you Above and Beyond Your Expectations on your next visit! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I were passing by TN on our way to KY and chose to stay in this hotel because of a fantastic rate deal they had. Last time we did something like this with another hotel it turned out to be a bad experience but to my surprise our room was sparkling clean, smelled fresh and was the right size for what we paid! I gotta say that I tried to find something that would make it look not so perfect, but I couldn't find anything!
Hot breakfast served until 10 am was good, receptionist and housekeeper were both very friendly and helpful. It is not absolutely important when what you are looking for is a nice room to sleep, but decoration (specially their paintings) was very tasteful. Whenever we go back to our old KY we will definitely stay there again. Keep it up!

Room Tip: They have 2 floors, our room on our way to KY was on the 2nd and on the 1st on our way back (yes! we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Wow! First of all, we want to say a resounding, "THANK YOU!" for your wonderful and pleasant visit with us here at the Newly Renovated Best Western Newport Inn! Our award winning staff strives daily in all areas to exceed our guests expectations. This review from our staffs point of view contains self gratification as our reward for the hard work and dedication that we endure to provide this Superior Customer Service!
Value is very prominent after an experience at the Best Western Newport Inn! Our Superior room rates provide an excellent experience along with a True Southern Hot Breakfast!
Our appreciation again for your recent stay and we hope to see you again soon to serve you above and beyond your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have had mixed feelings about BW and its prices at times. But for 68$ this was a really good deal. They have done a remodel that is high quality. The rooms are almost like hotel quality.
You can tell that the designers took the best features from several hotel chains and combined them for a nice room. One interesting thing was they replaced the windows in about half the rooms, the rooms at the farther end. Many motels in the SE and south were built in the 70s and 80s with solid pane windows that didnt open. A terrible feature for a motel because you need fresh air. Especially in the years past when chains used those sickening perfume soaps to cover up smells.Luckily most chains have stopped using those. But its nice to be able to open windows anyway. Just ask for a room with the new windows. Oddly only half the rooms got them. The designer probably bought a truckload of windows that happened to fit in the existing
openings but it wasnt enough to do all the rooms.
Anyway overall an excellent job on the remodel and for the money it was a great deal.
I would recommend.
The pizza joint that has relocated next to the motel is above average and
much better than chain pizza. Way better.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
From all our family here at the Best Western Newport Inn, we extend you our gratitude and appreciation for your recent stay. Input from our guests is very valuable to our property as we analyze comments and suggestions for future consideration to make changes where they are needed and we greatly appreciate your specific insight on our Newly Renovated property. We are very pleased that your stay was most enjoyable and our thanks to you for your pleasant comments regarding our renovated rooms and value.
Again our thanks for your recent stay and we hope to serve you again Above and Beyond Your Expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, TN, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our room was located on the second floor. A luggage cart was readily available. The elevator was fast and soon we were in our clean, fresh smelling room. My wife sleeps with many pillows--I gave her two of mine; each bed had four which to my way of thinking are two-too-many! Oh, my bed felt so good after having driven in from the Wilmington, NC area. For once, I slept, peacefully, all night long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
How Great! Our staff here at the Best Western Newport Inn is very appreciative of your recent stay and review. We strive to exceed expectations for each guest and we are happy that you enjoyed our accommodations. The Newly Renovated rooms are very welcoming and relaxing as noted in your review and our staff is very enthused that your stay was a restfull and relaxing experience!
From ALL our staff, we hope to see you again soon on your next trip and as always, we hope to Exceed Your Expectations! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Traveling back home from a golf trip in S.C. This place was a wonderful value. Just off the freeway, well lighted, clean and organized. The Pizzeria next to the lobby added to the convenience---and the pizza was super.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
How wonderful! The Best Western Newport Inn highly appreciates your superb experience with us and also taking the time to let other potential guests know about our Newly Renovated property. Our trained staff strives to provide superior service with a family atmosphere while providing a no site restaurant, the authentic Brooklyn Pizzeria, which I am happy to hear to enjoyed.
Our appreciation again for your recent visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Newport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Newport Inn

Address: 1015 Cosby Highway, Newport, TN 37821-7323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Newport Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Newport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.