We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room and view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher Place Resort

Save Saved
You added Christopher Place Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic room and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was a beautiful location. We stayed in Margaret's Room. It was a huge room with big bed and updated shower. The views from Christopher Place are fantastic. We had the optional dinner one night and it was delicious. Breakfast was good too. The only awkward moment was when I was walking up to the building and came upon the manager repremanding an employee. He saw me and just kept right on going.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    28
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
163
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Not quite what we had hoped for based on glowing reviews, but worth the half-price Groupon we had. Good breakfast and nice views. Complimentary bottle of wine was very good. Chairs in room were very comfortable. However, Camelot room bed was harder than either of us cared for and this sparsely-decorated inn lacked in the little things that make a B&B great- like an entry desk or someone to greet you without going into the kitchen to ask for help and big fluffy bath towels (I'm not very big and even I found these small). Shower-only bath in general was not very nice. So- overall, we had a decent stay, but were glad we hadn't paid full price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston72, Owner at Christopher Place Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for finding us through our great deals offered with Groupon. We are happy you enjoyed the views, dining, and wine list. We pride ourselves of offering guests a beautiful location with fine antiques. Certainly not every room appeals to each guest and so each room is uniquely decorated with pictures online allowing our guests to select the room that appeals most to them. Camelot offers some of the most amazing views of the Smoky Mountains and we have purposely chosen not to interfere with that view. Our staff is always here, but we choose to be in the background, allowing you to enjoy the time with your travel partner. Again, this may not appeal to all guests, but we have found the majority of our guests prefer our policy of not being intrusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The staff, location, view and food were incomparable. The staff is friendly, caring, always there when you needed something, yet unobtursive. Our first trip to the Smokies, what a beautiful part of the world. There is a hiking trail that starts right behind the resort and climbs to the top of the bluff. The hiking in the park itself was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Lion's Den room! What an amazing room! The view, food, and staff were all amazing! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We planned to stay 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary but left after 2 because we had NO HOT WATER in the shower. At $275/night for a B&B, we certainly expected the minimum in amenities. We reported the lack of hot water the first morning and thought it would be fixed by the end of that day. Didn't happen. Again the following morning, no hot water in the shower. We advised the owner that we would be leaving and he "generously" said he wouldn't charge us for the 3rd night that we had reserved and made no offer of a reduction in price for the 2 nights without hot water. The plumber arrived before we left and told me that the circulating pump had been turned off; an easy fix that certainly could have been (and should have been!) handled the previous day. The staff were very nice; the food was OK, but not great. Breakfast the 2nd day was not edible-eggs were very salty. Dinner was cancelled our 2nd night and apparently they thought they had told us the previous night,but we didn't "hear". We had special ordered an entree for that night and arrived for dinner and were told we could have a sandwich in the library but not the previously ordered dinner. The setting is lovely although quite isolated. The nearest town (Newport) is a small town with minimal restaurant options. Gatlinburg is 30+ minutes away. The closest entrance to the Great Smoky Nat'l Park is only about 15 min away but is only suitable if you plan to hike since the road is very short and only leads to a campground and several trail heads. The house is lovely and has been restored beautifully. Although our review would have been much improved by hot water, willingness to reduce the cost based on lack of hot water, etc., we would not recommend it for anyone who wants to visit Gt. Smokies Nat'l Park or Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Christopher Place was a very nice start to our trip. We got in late and ate off the Library pub menu. They set dinner up in our room for us and it was excellent. The place is just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

We've visited Christopher Place at least 6 times. A pool, luxurious rooms, hiking trails, great breakfasts, romantic dinners, picnic options, and the rocking chairs on the back porch...we want for nothing. Go see for yourself. Marston and his staff are the best.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher Place Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.