We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Newport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Newport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   255 Heritage Blvd, I-40 at Exit #435, Newport, TN 37821   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice motel, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Pigeon Forge. I have never seen a cleaner Motel 6. The rooms are small but for 1 night it was OK. The room and the bathroom were very clean. We checked in about 9pm and the front desk person was very pleasant and considerate. In the morning when we checked out the front desk person was once again very nice. Would definately stay again, Got a good rate on the internet at the Motel 6 website of $49.95 which is about the same as AAA rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyJo10, Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thank you for your comments on Motel 6 in Newport. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. It is a great location off I-40 and near Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We look forward to seeing you again.
Betty Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
10
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Clean and reasonable - no breakfast but comfortable bed at a very reasonable rate. Just driving through and was surprised at how nice it was.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We read the other reviews on this and they are correct - this is a very nice place to stay for the money. We didn't get to use the pool had a view of it (as well as a view of the mountains) and it looked very nice. Of course there is no free breakfast with Motel 6 but there was coffee in the lobby and it was a perfect place for us to stop, get a good night's sleep, and get on the road the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeensboro, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

My wife and I spent the last night of our Colorado trip. The room was small (think Microtel) but very clean with no odor. Mattress was comfortable and the linens were fine. I did like the way the bathroom was laid out.

We did notice that some things that we have come to take for granted from most of the low end chains (hair dryer, coffee maker) were not present which felt a little odd given the price we'd paid for the room. And I had to use an Ethernet cable (provided by the desk) to connect to the Internet as there was no wireless signal in our end of the building room. Not a big thing and not the fault of the motel. The contractor who wired the building should have made sure that the signal reached all the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Thank you choosing the Motel 6, and for letting us know you were pleasantly surprised by our Motel 6! We strive to present a clean, affordable, and friendly place to stay in Newport! We will certainly tell our staff of your kind words of appreciation, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

My review would basically repeat the previous review with the addition of one noteworthy positive...my wife and I were both surprised at the thickness and softness of the bath towels and face clothes. Also noteworthy: good internet and friendly desk persons.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you were pleased with our staff's friendliness along with our free wireless high-speed Internet service and our bath towels and cloths! It's surprising how the little things really do make a better stay! And we strive hard to give each guest a great stay!

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Kentucky
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My wife and I were on the road and getting tired. We usually like to check reviews before we stay anywhere but we took a chance on this place. We're sure glad we did. Check in was quick. Our room was clean. The bed was clean and comfortable. The room had wireless internet, TV, and the A/C worked well. The bathroom had plenty of counter space. There was even a pool outside, although we didn't use it. Overall, this was a textbook Motel 6. Affordable, clean, comfortable. Hey, they even left the light on for us:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
We are certainly glad you found our light! :o) Thank you so much for writing and letting us know that you had a nice experience at the Motel 6 in Newport, TN! Our staff will be so glad to know their hard work as noticed, and appreciated! We all work so hard to give each guest the same experience you received! We hope we will have the pleasure of your company again the next time you pass through Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Motel 6 says that this is a "refreshed" motel. It really appears to be not over a year old. The rooms are very basic and not large but our queen bed room was quite fine for two people who don't plan to spend the whole day in the room. The TV is on top of the clothes closet as shown in the Motel 6 website. A little strange but of not a problem. The desk area had two chair swhich makes eating carry out easy.

The bathroom is a bit larger than average. The tub/shower area is diagional across one corner so you have a nice open tringle shaped area opposite the shower curtain. I gues overweight people would like this and the bath as a whole.

Just peered at the outdoor pool and hot tub but it looked clean and well maintained. This motel is right off the interstate and near many restaurants and the SuperWalmart. Next door is what I believe to be a local chain type steak house which I heard offers maybe 10% discount to motel guests.

Only coffee for breakfast but McDonals and Burger King right at the end of this side street.

If you need wifi, be sure to check when you arrive or maybe ask in advance. Our room on the ground floor at the end of the building was lacking wifi signal.

Don't know if room with two beds are larger. A top motel for this class. Will stay there again when on probable next year visit. This might be the best inexpensive motel anywhere near the Smokies on the TN side.

Warning about all hotels/motels within 100 miles of Bristol, VA the next to last weekend of August. We were in Newport that time last year and even in Newport the room rates were double the weekend before or after.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyR89, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We greatly appreciate the kind words, and I'm so glad that your stay with us was a great one! It's guests like you that make it a pleasure to come to work each day. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Motel 6 Newport again soon. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve your hospitality needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 255 Heritage Blvd, I-40 at Exit #435, Newport, TN 37821
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 Newport, TN - Kids stay free! We offer high-speed Internet connection in all rooms, interior corridors, outdoor pool and hot tub, guest laundry, free local calls, free morning coffee! And pets are allowed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel 6
Newport Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.