We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky Mountain Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grill 73

Grill 73
616 Highway 73, Newport, TN 37821-6023
423-623-0970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Russian
Description: American - Russian Cuisine Eat In or Carry Out Tuesday - Saturday: 11 am - 8 pm Sunday: 11 am - 3 pm Do you have a dinner to plan and nowhere to go? Do you need a place to go for a family outing? Need a place for a private dinner? Planning to host or throw a party? Or do you not ever have enough time to prepare for a party or event? Call Val for reservations or to schedule a catered meal.
Restaurant details
Description: American - Russian Cuisine Eat In or Carry Out Tuesday - Saturday: 11 am - 8 pm Sunday: 11 am - 3 pm Do you have a dinner to plan and nowhere to go? Do you need a place to go for a family outing? Need a place for a private dinner? Planning to host or throw a party? Or do you not ever have enough time to prepare for a party or event? Call Val for reservations or to schedule a catered meal.
East Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Smoky Mountain Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great Russian food, great service and friendly ambiance. Found this gem on Tripadvisor and took a chance based on all the favorable reviews. We were headed for the new Front Porch restaurant in Cosby, but they hadn't opened for business quite yet. We'll give them a try when they do get the doors open. The Grill 73 owners easily accomodated our party of six in their small but charming space. Decor is bright and the entire place is spotless. We all tried the Russian specialties so I can't comment on the American menu items, but everything we had was served promptly and was delicious. My wife, and others, raved about the cabbage rolls. The poroshki was good, especially the cabbage variety. I had the pork chop and it was excellent as well. The owners were gracious and even showed us a video of their circus act from their previous careers! We all had a great time and plan to go back soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Russians have invaded the south, thankfully!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have eaten there several times over the past year along with customers, the place is small but clean, the food.......is spot on! The river is right across from the restaurant, the road is not that busy, it is scenic, quiet, and the prices are very reasonable. If you are traveling I-40 from Ashville, NC or to Ashville, it is worth the 5 minute drive off of the interstate. I forget which exit but it is around exit # 435.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a unique little Russian restaurant in Newport, TN. I ordered the Stuffed Peppers (not on the official menu, it was a daily special) and my wife ordered the Pork Chop Scalloped Potato Pie. The Stuffed Peppers were outstanding! I would definitely ask for this item again. The owners used to be in the Russian Circus (acrobatics) and they showed us a video of a couple of their performances. HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, friendly, and very tasty!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have been here twice now, and it was perfect!!!! The only bad thing is it is so far from us,1 1/2 hours. But still great food and service! Worth the drive!!! :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great American and Russian foods and not an expected find in the Smokey Mountains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Looking for a unique place to dine? You will find it at Grill 73. I recommend you try the Russian side of the menu for truly memorable visit to the Baltics. For the non-adventures the American side of the menu is excellent. The owners were aerialist in another life in Russia and performed worldwide. You will get a look at their life as well as a wonderful meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grill 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill 73, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.