We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel, worth the expense.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #28 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel, worth the expense.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Hotel upgraded us to a suite, very large - great view of the Frist Museum. The lobby is spectacular, with stained glass, iron railings, etc. Expensive for us - but worth the money to stay a night. Comfortable, clean, within walking distance of downtown (although we took a cab $6 back). No fridge or microwave. After dinner drink $12 at the bar - not top shelf liquor.
Parking was $17, $22 for valet.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    212
    97
    46
    28
See reviews for
77
330
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

On Thursday, 20 Nov 2009, I stayed in room 719 at Union Station. Wyndham has done a nice job of restoring the property & the public spaces are impressive.

The building itself is labyrinthine; the upper floors have narrow halls & it almost feels like a warren. It is fairly easy to get lost & the directional room markers are not always clear.

There were some problems in the room including a very slow shower drain & a cordless phone that didn’t work. The room was very spacious; however, since it was on the top floor there were odd beams that would jut out (much like if you were in an attic). The room was nicely appointed though the décor will be out-of-date in a few years (high marks for the suede “bench” & the Aeron chair at the desk, though).

I did not eat in the restaurant (Prime 108), though I did have drinks in their bar. $9 for a Jim Beam is almost extortionate, but the setting was nice & the waitress was affable if a bit talky.

The staff is what made this stay a “4” instead of a “3”. They were very accommodating & pleasant, from the valet to the front desk to the housekeeping staff. They didn’t hover but someone was always available.

For $169.00 (the price I paid) I would definitely stay again; for the rack rate ($399) or for more than $200 there are better options. Union Station, though downtown, is not near a lot of things. The tourist area of 2nd Ave is a not-so-safe 10-block walk & Vanderbilt is a 5-minute drive.

One hint – find out which direction your room faces before accepting/booking a room, if possible. Those that overlook West End Ave (northern-facing?) not only have lots of traffic noise but the spotlights that illuminate the façade can barely be dulled by the room curtains (not good if you want complete darkness).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

The hotel is gorgeous - right out of another century - but not overdone. Our stay was enjoyable and we loved our room. The furnishings were very nice and the bed was comfortable. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator however, and they charge for broadband internet.

When we arrived we didn't want to valet, not knowing that's the only hotel parking. We parked about a block away in public parking and worried a little about our car during the night. The attendant didn't seem to know how to charge us for overnight.

Also we thought the restaurant was too expensive with no in-hotel alternative. They need a cafe for quick or inexpensive meals.

The walk to the downtown music row is about 5 blocks but uphill on the way there. If you don't mind walking it's very handy.

Other than that, we loved our stay and would go back anytime.

  • Liked — The historic aspects and the room decor
  • Disliked — The expensiveness of the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Beautiful rooms with high ceilings. Service was great and friendly. Very clean and nice. Loved the atmosphere. Not just a same old hotel. Only negative I can think of is that the parking is a little bit of a pain, but the staff was very helpful and accomodating..

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here on one of the last nights of our honeymoon in Nashville and were so happy we did.
I called Union Station at about 3pm to see if they had any rooms available, which they did. The rate was really reasonable ($150). I told them it was our honeymoon. When we arrived, we went to our room, and we had one of the rooms overlooking the lobby withe floor-to-ceiling windows. It was so beautiful! Very unique and fun. About 10 minutes after we checked in, the front desk called to make sure everything was okay!
We were so excited to have such a nice room. The room felt so spacious, the beds are extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are very nice. The brown and blue colors are very relaxing and chic.
Overall, we absolutely would stay here again. It was clean, funky, and chic, and the check-in was friendly.

  • Liked — Room, Historic Feel, Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Union Station as part of a group attending a convention. We enjoy staying in "unique" hotels, and prefer the quirks and charm to cookie-cutter floor plans.

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews, we requested a room on the 5th floor away from the tracks. We got what we asked for. Here's some secret decoding of the Union Station layout:

The Main Lobby (street level) is on 3. Floors 1 and 2 are (obviously) below this, and I've heard complaints about the " basement rooms". I had a friend who stayed there, and he was very happy with the accommodations.

Floors 4 and 5 are above the lobby, and in some cases (mine) looked into the lobby. These rooms have 16 ft ceilings, and floor to ceiling windows, in many cases.

Floors 6 and 7 are "above" the lobby and are configured by the main roof line of the building. Thus some have windows in the (slanted) ceilings,

Got that? Needless to say, your mileage WILL vary. Apparently some rooms are quite small. Ours was not, and had a large two-sink bathroom with lots of amenities. Everything worked, and the in-room amenities were on the elegant side.

Side note: Becoming a Wyndham ByRequest member is painless and worthwhile. We received daily snacks and drinks in our room, free internet, pillow menu, and other perks. The ByRequest person (Amanda) did a great job.

Some downsides: We had trouble with maid service (glasses not changed, kleenex left empty...) when reported, they were all over it.

Second day, our keys wouldn't work. Took them to the desk, reprogrammed, all was well, Third day, same thing. Went to the desk, asked to speak with a manager. Was told "there's none on duty right now". Scary. Reprogrammed, and told that cell phones and other items can demagnetize them. But they were in two separate places, and both quit each day. Weird.

Parking is problematic. Valet is $20 / day. Public lot next door, with direct access to hotel, is $15 / day, but with no in/out. I moved my car after 26 hours, and the charge was $27. There's also an empty monthly lot behind the public lot, but no access or info on whether it can be used.

The lobby can be noisy, and filters into the rooms that overlook it at times. But we never heard a train...

We got a great convention rate ($136), a classy room, and had a good experience. Would recommend it, and go there again. But there seems to be a lot of variance in rooms, service levels, etc. The staff, except the mysterious AWOL "management" on one occaision, seemed anxious to do a good job. Speak up if you're unhappy.!

  • Liked — Beautiful historic building well renovated.
  • Disliked — Some uneveness in service.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Wyndham on a college visit to Vanderbilt. Unknown to us, the Music City Marathon was the following day so the entire town was booked. We got what I am certain was the last room in the hotel. It was on the top floor and absolutely tiny. It had a double bed (?!) and the only windows were slits on the ceiling which was sloped to accommodate the roof line. There were bright spotlights on the roof which shown into our room all night. My daughter ended up staying with us after all so we had to get a rollaway which made it all but impossible to move around in the room.
It is an interesting hotel. Being in the old railroad station was neat and the bell staff was particularly helpful and friendly.
For $270/ night, I expected better and should have had it based on the photos I saw of other rooms.
We didn't eat there as it was very late and there was no one in the dining room. It also looked like it would take 2 hours.

  • Liked — The historic site.
  • Disliked — The room!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Hutton Hotel
#10 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#16 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#9 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#33 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#10 Family Hotel in Nashville
#23 Business Hotel in Nashville
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.