We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel, but disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel, but disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while on our honeymoon. There is no doubt that the hotel is beautiful from an architectural standpoint. However, I had two chief complaints. First, for the price, I thought the housekeeping could have been way better. Even when we first arrived in the room, the bathroom housekeeping had been sloppy. Looked liked the shower doors had not been wiped down, floors were not well-swept, etc. The extra blankets looked like they had not been washed and had just been folded and put back after the last guest had used them. The blanket had what looked like crumbs ( or what I could only hope were crumbs) still stuck on it.
Secondly, do not waste time or money on the continental breakfast. It was not only disappointing, but we wasted at least an hour waiting for the yogurt parfait and biscuit we got. The hotel bar was also a disappointment, with a very disagreeable bartender.
The valet service and front desk service was very good though. So I have to give them kudos. They were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the basement with no windows. Ask for 5th floor or higher for nicest rooms. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    197
    87
    45
    27
See reviews for
65
309
22
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

The beautiful building is the big draw here and it is very special. And the restaurant food is excellent. The concerns raised in the reviews are all legitimate. My room was small, the bed is small, the room clean but not spotless, one outlet, the train noise could bother a light sleeper (not me personally). I found the staff variable and was particularly turned off by a housekeeper making it clear she wanted a tip for doing her job. The walk to attractions is definitely do-able but keep in kind that cabs in Nashville are unpredictable. On two occasions the hotel said they called one for me and they were not there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Markeiing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We were pleased that you enjoyed the beauty and architecture of this historic building. Due to the historic character of the building we offer several room types varying in size and apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service you experienced and your comments have been shared with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered. We hope you will return so we may better demonstrate the complete quality you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Let me make this clear -- we did NOT stay here but we wanted to see the building. We stopped by in the afternoon, bought a coffee and sat in the lobby, oohing and aahing. The women at the desk were very friendly, even though it was obvious what we were doing; they gave us a brochure about the building and welcomed us to go up another level and walk around the balcony. We were able to peek in to couple of rooms and now dream of one day staying there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. We had a room on the 2nd floor which is actually one story below ground level with ground level considered the 3rd story. The room was very well appointed and updated. The linen was very nice not as represented in other reviews we read that said it was cheap....hopefully they read the reviews and upgraded. The bathroom was also very nice. Have to admit the pillows were horrible, not what I expected being either flat and hard or fluffy (too) and lumpy. The hotel is breathtaking and the history amazing. The restaurant was very empty and we opted to eat elsewhere (Kaynes amazing food) came back for desert and was actually directed to the bar even though the restaurant was open....ok. I have a nut allergy and the bartender very carefully checked to find out every desert had nuts! My husband had the cobbler, said it was "good" the bartender offered vanilla ice cream and found chocolate for the top. The ice cream was freezer burnt and was horrible. So the negatives....bad pillows and ice cream the rest was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Short walk to the the "District" where you will find Tootsies, many restaurants with music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Upon arriving at Union Station, you feel as if you are being transported back to another era! What a magical time for my children (10 & 13) to experience this stunning hotel. From the valet on, it was an A+ experience. With regards to distance from honky tonk row, the Country Music Hall of Fame and other main Nashville attractions, it is a little bit further than say the Omni, but nothing crazy at all. Totally manageable if you're looking for something unique.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel at least 6 if not 7 times and it never underwhelms. From the moment I booked our room - the hotel called me to see if I would prefer a king versus a 2 double bed room - to the time of our stay, top notch service and hotel experience. Even if you are staying here you need to come visit this hotel - it's not only a historic landmark it's beautiful!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a lovely place to stay! The building has been restored meticulously, the large foyer is spectacular. Coffee and cake in the morning, tea and cookies in the afternoon - all of it delicious and on-the-house. The restaurant 108 was delicious, the bar is comfortable, has a nice wine list.

A couple of complaints: $30 charge for valet parking; beds are wayyy too soft; cocktails were mediocre at best. Spoke with the manager about the beds and he agreed. The other two issues, well, just manage expectations and you'll have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Check in is on the 3rd (ground level) floor. Double beds and high ceilings in upper floors, king be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Business Hotel in Nashville
#20 Family Hotel in Nashville
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.