We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel--But Know Before You Go . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel--But Know Before You Go . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I went to Nashville for our anniversary, and we chose Union Station because of its history and the beauty of the facility. The photos just cannot do it justice. Union Station Hotel has an amazing lobby, and the stained glass throughout is breathtaking. Our room was very comfortable--we were there for four days--and since we were on the outside facing the art museum, it was reasonably quiet. We recommend ear plugs, because yes, there are trains. It was a railway station, remember, so the tracks are right there. The other issue is that the air conditioning unit came on with a crash--literally--every time. You get used to it after a while, but that's something the management might want to consider fixing.

We had breakfast in the restaurant, but not dinner. The breakfast was good, but the service somewhat inattentive and disengaged. We felt breakfast was overpriced, but again, absolutely fine from a taste standpoint.

The valet parking staff deserves our special compliments, since they were amazingly helpful, always ready to get us in and out efficiently, had good directions, and steered us to really cool things to do in Nashville. Lots of good things in walking distance, if it's not mid-day in the summer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "front" of the building facing the art museum if you want quieter sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    183
    80
    42
    26
See reviews for
60
287
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First time in Nville and decided to stay here... Ummmm amazing historical bldg.... Great location to the wonderful foodie places and honky tonk... Was there and ran into capital cities...and felt very safe and sound :). Staff was ubber attentive and Sandy the concierge was professional and fantastic. We got into all the lovely restaurants... So yes love love loved this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nashville, my lodging experience was absolutely delightful. The hotel has preserved much of the railroad mystique and beautifully updated the rooms. My room had a small seating area adjacent to the bedroom and a beautifully decorated bathroom.

The lobby bar offers a wonderful selection of food and drink options. I ordered breakfast from room service and my eggs Benedict arrived timely. The hotel is walking distance to the Country Music hall of Fame, Ryman Auditorium, and the honky tonks of lower Broadway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
571 reviews 571 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This historical hotel is in a great location, has been gracefully and cleverly restored, has large clean rooms with large baths, coffee pots and big screen tvs, robes, etc. Beautiful lobby area with a nice bar (We did not make use of the bar.) A bare bones workout facility but useful nevertheless. Free paper and coffee in the mornings and comfortable beds. Expensive but very nice. Great service.

Room Tip: We were in room 521, and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First off, this hotel is absolutely stunning, indoors and outdoors. All of the hotel staff we encountered were incredibly friendly, as well--southern hospitality at its finest!

A couple of things to note:
*The street level lobby is actually considered the third floor, as there are rooms below the lobby. If you're concerned about getting a lower level room, ask when making your reservations.
*There are public parking lots nearby, so don't feel as though you need to have a valet, as the hotel doesn't have their own self-parking lot.
*There is coffee cake and coffee available for free to guests in the lobby in the AM, and cookies, fruit infused water, and tea in the afternoon!
*When we were here (during the week), there were at least a couple business meetings/conferences being held at the hotel. One morning, there was a meeting on the patio of the hotel, which was right below our room, so we could hear the speakers and music starting at about 6:30 AM, which was one major downfall of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an above ground room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights here and it is very conveniently located close to the main attractions and music area. The hotel has been tastefully renovated from its original days as a train station and the lobby is magnificent. Our first room was large but only had a double bed..we requsted a larger bed but the room was smaller. ..a bit odd . Service at desk & concierge was excellent our only complaint was with the staff in the restaurant who seem to be unaware of how inefficient the service is that they provide.

Room Tip: Trains still go past but noise is minimal..the A/C is noisier.!! Request bed size before you trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I recently spent a long weekend in Nashville. The Union Station Hotel was pricey but the location on Broadway was great. Close enough to walk to museums, Ryman Center, music bars, restaurants and shopping. Far enough from all the bars and music areas so that sleep was never disturbed. All staff were friendly and so helpful with suggestions for dining and shopping. Room was clean and roomy, bed comfortable. Architecture was beautiful. I would stay there again if I go back. I would recommend renting a car. The cab ride from the airport was a flat rate of 25.00 and to the Opry was also a flat rate of 25.00. The cab rides for airport and Opry came to 100. We could have rented a car for less and there were some nice neighborhoods that we would have enjoyed if we had a car. Also,. Nashville is all hills. Wear comfortable shoes. Still has trains passing by. Ask for room on opposite side from the tracks. Our room was quiet *a(and it was near the elevator) and I did not hear the trains at all. I read some of the other reviews and I never saw any cockroaches or bugs. Room was spotless.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from train tracks and a high floor. If you want any special reservations, ask as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#15 Business Hotel in Nashville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#25 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.