We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great easy access hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Napa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great easy access hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel itself was really great. We were there over a weekend and there was a wedding which was really fun to see. The entire lobby is breathtaking and set up for people watching. The location is very easy and off the freeway as well as walking distance to downtown. We did take some taxi's but most of the time it was not necessary. The room was a typical hotel room. Nothing really AMAZING but nice, clean and we had no noise issues. The only thing I didn't like was there was no pool. The only pool in the entire downtown that we found was at the Omni. Regardless, it didn't really make our stay any less fun and beautiful. It really is a lovely hotel, inside and out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    184
    82
    42
    26
See reviews for
63
293
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Union Station is a very fine hotel. The restoration is impressive and it is worth staying there for the building. We stayed there for 3 nights and I want to say that the valet attendants and door men and women were all pretty brilliant people. My problem was with those who handled our specific requests and the front desk staff. I had requested weeks before we arrived for a rollaway bed in our suite. I had not received a response. I then called up 2 days before we arrived only to be patched up to central reservations. I called again and explained in exasperation I needed to talk to someone at the hotel. The man was terse and said they could try. It is true that we requested a high floor (not met at all) and away from the tracks with the working trains (request met). I know that each room and suite are different but knowing I needed a rollaway bed - request at the front desk asked again - the receptionist, a dour woman, who couldn't crack a smile - put us in what must be the smallest suite with definitely no room for a rollaway bed. Remember that I have to ask on 3 occasions. In that small suite, to put one there would have been impossibly uncomfortable. We made do with the couch (an inconvenience of course). If they could not provide a rollaway bed in a suite, they could have told me earlier and I would have booked elsewhere in Nashville - after all, the request was put in online more than a week's notice and I received no response. We were put on the 4th floor - in a room with the worst air-conditioning system that was so loud that it reminded one of having a washer dryer constantly going. When I complained, the front desk people were not helpful or sympathetic. They offered to send someone over but it's not fixable. It's the problem of having a loud unit in too small a space. It is an infrastructural flaw. Furthermore, the windows were filthy outside and you couldn't see anything. Actually, the valet attendants and door people could teach the front desk some lessons in courtesy and attentive service. When we checked out, it was the same dour woman who couldn't be bothered to even smile or wished us safe travels. It felt like she couldn't wait to kick us out. She didn't ask about my issues and if they were resolved which in other distinguished hotels I have always received follow up calls and so on. In fact, unlike my experience at other very fine hotels, the reception and management NEVER bothered to follow up my complaints. Also given the average traveler with multiple devices to plug in, looking for a plug in the suite was impossible (one at the desk). If ever in Nashville again, I would stay at the Omni or The Hermitage (great restaurant in it too - Capitol Grill). The Union Station is a fail for Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Artloveruk, thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the beauty and ambiance of this historic building and that our valet and bell service team provided you with a sincere welcome and the service you expect and deserve. Our apologies that your pre-arranged items were not prepared for you on arrival and that our front desk team did not respond quickly and kindly to your request and needs throughout your stay. We are sorry that the guest room did not live up to your expectations and that our team was unable to correct the situation. We take pride in our hotel and especially the guest experience and quality of the rooms and your comments have been shared with our leadership and action taken to ensure we correct these issues. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and provide the experience you expect from the Union Station Hotel.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband surprised me with this stay. I had always wanted to stay at Union Station, and he is a Marriott Platinum member. So when it became a Marriott property, he secretly made our reservations for our next Nashville trip at Union Station. The stay there was delightful. It remains a trail station, so it was like staying in a historic place. Very neat. We had a good room on the 2nd floor. The only problem is that I do not sleep soundly, and the second floor had not ceiling; is was open to the train station. So voice was present all night. That sort of drove me crazy. Not a great night's sleep, just because of the noise that drifted into the room.

Room Tip: I loved the historic nature of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I am a Marriott Platinum rewards member - just want to say that up front.

We stayed here during the CMA festival - so it was not cheap.

We arrived and were promptly greeted by the valet and doormen. We had a wonderful check in experience. The architecture of the building and lobby is breathtaking, and the location is a 5-10 minute walk to the Broadway area - though the walk is not for the faint-hearted as its pretty hilly in the neighborhood. The property charges $8 per day for internet (unless you are Marriott Rewards status member) and parking is $30 per day - more than I pay with Marriott in larger metro areas!!

On check-in, though, we were disappointed to hear the hotel does not have a concierge lounge. I had called ahead and asked if the hotel had a lounge, and the person told me they do. Unfortunately they meant the hotel has a bar. Honestly we would have booked at the Renaissance downtown had we known as we generally like to stay in Marriott's with concierge lounges.

The hotel itself is a bit like a maze - it can be hard to find your room or elevator at times. Of course this is due to the fact the hotel is an old train station.

The room was big and had nice skylights with a view of the downtown area - we were on the top floor. I read where some people's rooms were in the basement, but fortunately I did not have this issue. Moreover, the AC was not loud in my room. As I said, the room was large, and had plenty of space even with a king sized bed. There was plenty of seating and storage space, and the bathroom was large and amenities nice. The room lends well to the ambiance of the property - classic style meets contemporary quality.

We had a few issues with the room, though. First, the closet was EXTREMELY small - if you have a great bit of luggage, you wont have much space to store it. Second, there is no refrigerator in the room. Thirdly, and this is going to seem nitpicky, the showerhead in the bathrooms need to be changed. They are super cheap and are not in line with the overall quality of the hotel or what I have had at other Marriott branded hotels. Something out of a 50s gym locker room.

Be warned - this is an old train station - there is still an active track behind the hotel, so there is some train noise to be expected. I sleep like a rock, so it did not bother me. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to sleep elsewhere.

The hotel had a nice morning coffee service in the lobby, though. I am not sure if this is the norm, but at least during the CMAs it was. The bar was not bad - it was reasonably priced and the staff were generally nice. We ate breakfast at the lobby restaurant. Food and service were both top notch (and on higher end of breakfast prices).

Otherwise our stay was ok. With a bit more attention to detail, stays here could be more enjoyable. If you are more into modern amenities, you may want to stay elsewhere. But if you enjoy historic architecture and can get a room here at a reasonable rate, it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear bojislayer, first of all, thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and for taking the time to share this review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you enjoyed the beauty and architecture of this historic building and that you received a warm and sincere welcome from our valet and front desk teams. Our apologies that we are not able to provide a concierge lounge but hope you enjoyed the morning and evening amenities offered each day in the lobby. We are pleased that you found Prime 108’s food and service top notch and will share this with our team members. Your feedback regarding the room layout, lack of a refrigerator and the showerhead have been shared with leadership as guest comments are extremely important to us as we strive to provide the best guest experience possible. We hope your travels bring you back to Nashville and you will give us the opportunity to make the next visit your best.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

On our arrival we were met by the valet guys who were very helpful and professional, we walked into the main building and it was beautiful and quite breathtaking. Reception staff were also helpful and welcoming. We were taken to our subterranean room - really a BASEMENT room!!! It was small, dark and definitely not what I was expecting for the hiked prices that we were charged due to the CMA fest being on in town. The beds were so small, most unexpected for stateside. We were fresh in from England and this was the start point of our vacation. It wasn't long into our sleep when we were woken by the air conditioning which was so noisy every time it came on, then what sounded like a helicopter overhead and we realised we were sleeping next to the rail road line! The following morning after a less than peaceful nights rest we were moved to the other side of the subterranean floor, still a less than pleasant room, horrendously loud air con and the rumble of the rail road, due to the fact we were on the same level as it. We booked 5 nights here and on the Sunday evening decided to have a night cap before getting an early night in preparation for our onward trip. We were greeted by the bar man with 'you've got 15 minutes, I'm closing'! Two other couples followed us in to the same welcome and totally unlike anything else I've ever experienced in 'hospitality America' this guys attitude was appalling to the point it became amusing. We were served our drinks and then he proceeded to spray the table around us all, making us feel totally uncomfortable, so ourselves and the other 2 couples moved to the lobby to finish our drinks. I was so disappointed to have spent so much money and feel that it was totally not worth it at all. Great having the CMA festival on and hiking up your room rates but you need to improve these rooms to justify the spike in rates.

Room Tip: Probably choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Arizona Sky, thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed the beauty and architecture of this historic building and that you received a warm welcome from our staff. Please accept our apologies that the guest room you stayed in did not meet the expectations you expect and that we are committed to providing. This historic building does provide unique opportunities for accommodations and intermittent train noise. We are sorry that due to the high demand of CMA Music Fest we did not have the flexibility to move you to another area of the building. It is also regretful that the service in the lounge was not top-notch and your comments have been shared with leadership so that we can continue to improve every guest experience.
If your travels bring you back to Nashville we hope you will give us the opportunity to provide different accommodations and the quality experience you expect.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Impressive lobby in this former train station, nice staff, good location.

Ended up with a small bed and a small room with one desk chair. We must have been near a major ventilation duct - it was noisy. Otherwise the room was very nice.

Why is it that economy chain motels can offer parking, breakfast (OK, not usually the best) and wifi at no extra charge and the more cushy hotels charge for all of these? In this case parking - $30 a night, breakfast in the lobby restaurant - easily $15 to $20 per person (more steel cut oats than anyone can or should eat). $8 for in room Wifi - free in the lobby business room - just annoying.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Northwest near the middle of that wing. The railroad tracks are on the Southwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Neil, thank you sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you found the room to be pleasant and apologize for any inconvenience due to noise. For guest convenience we offer complimentary services including coffee and pastries in the morning and infused water and treats in the afternoon as well as complimentary wi-fi in the lobby and sorry you were unaware or unable to utilize these services. If you travels bring you back to Nashville, we hope you will return and enjoy the quality experience your expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this property over Memorial Day Weekend. The minute we pulled up we were met with very professional valet attendants and doorman. They were excellent and remained so all weekend. The front desk staff was friendly but seemed rushed. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and each room is different. Our room was nothing special and in my view not worth $287 per night without all the taxes. It was clean and the floor lamp did not work but was fixed after reporting it. We did not eat in the hotel but did have a drink in the bar which is very nice. Kudo's to the concierge for being very professional and friendly. Paying $30 a day to park is just too much with the price of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.