We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent restaurant, beautiful lobby, large comfortable rooms and attentive staff. Only negative was the hours and staff of the lounge. Closes at 10 - too early for a nightcap after a night out and for the most part, bartenders unwelcoming. But overall an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    184
    83
    42
    26
See reviews for
63
293
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The building is beautiful! Our room (king bed, 5th floor) fabulous however when you make your booking I would recommend a room away from the nearby railway tracks. The train movement in the middle of the night is not conducive to a good night's rest. This combined with a wedding reception near the lobby that were very noisy could be easily heard from within our room. For the cost of the stay I feel breakfast should have been included. Complimentary coffee and pastries is a nice touch but 10 minutes after started most of the "pastries" (about an inch square) had disappeared. Valet parking is not necessary unless you really need it. You can easily park yourself in the nearby parking lot. Wifi also is charged.

Room Tip: Away from railway tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing comments on your recent stay with us and our sincere apologies that your visit was less than anticipated due to train and reception noise. We strive to minimize the impact on other guests when events take place in the lobby and regret any inconvenience. Understanding that train noise can be disruptive our apologies that we did not anticipate and ask if you preferred to be away from the train side. If your travels bring you back to Nashville we hope you will give us the opportunity to provide the quality experience you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

When on a recent business trip to Nashville, I chose to stay at the Union Station Hotel due to it's affiliation with Marriott's Autograph Collection.

A previous guest at the Renaissance in the heart of Downtown, I realized this property was a bit further from Nashville's touristy section, but closer to the up-and-coming district known as The Gulch. In case you're not familiar, The Gulch is a great part of town with a number of great restaurants, bars, and, of course, live music venues. With a lot more locals than tourists, you'll feel at home wherever you choose to enjoy the afternoon or evening.

Upon pulling up, valet, though a bit unorganized, eventually greeted me and took my car. The moment you walk in, you realize the grandeur of this enchanted old train station. Imagine the hustle-and-bustle as hundreds of travelers ran with their bags down to the tracks!

Fortunately, there were no stampedes here. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was quite courteous. I loved the old railroad timetable above the check-in counter. Despite arriving at around 11am, my room was ready. In fact, I had been upgraded.

Now, don't get me wrong. I booked probably the smallest room in the place, with not even a queen bed, so I was every bit excited for the upgrade. I now was up on the 5th floor. However, upon getting to the room, I noticed that I was "upgraded" to an inside room. Granted, it was certainly larger in size than the room that I booked, but with a window that faced an internal station walkway and no outside windows/sunlight, it was a bit different than the floor-to-ceiling windows you get used to in many of today's modern hotels. I shouldn't complain though - it was extremely well cleaned and the bathroom was a fair size given the historic building - not to mention the bed was one of the softest I have ever slept on in a hotel. And, for those who mentioned it was an issue, I didn't hear a single train come through.

Since there is no lounge, as an Elite Marriott Awards member, the hotel gives you 20% off all food and drink. Unfortunately, it's not automatically discounted - so don't forgot to present your Elite room key like I did! I dined at the steakhouse in the lobby for lunch. It's certainly better than your average hotel restaurant - with a sumptuous chicken sandwich and mouth-watering fries - among a handful of other options.

In all, I would not hesitate to book another stay at this hotel when in town again. To anyone deciding whether or not to book the Union Station during their own travels, I'd certainly recommend it. Just remember that it's a historic building that was converted to a hotel; there are some quirks, like the room I had. Though you won't find any glass-elevators or automated check-in kiosks here, you will find the kind of attentive old-school service that's surely on-par with the magnificence of this historic hotel.

Room Tip: Like everyone says, ask for a high floor away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and it was gorgeous!! Just absolutely gorgeous!! The staff was wonderful and I would recommend everyone to stay here anytime you visit Nashville.We will only stay here when we come.This is by far a five star hotel by all means!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetenham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had high expectations for this hotel as it was the most expensive on our trip. Certainly the building will not disappoint with is stained glass roof and period features, but. The staff were helpful but very business like and the valet parking will cost you £30 a night. A little more personal attention would have helped.

The complementary afternoon drinks and cakes were a disappointment and they disappeared very quickly. We had to ask for a hot drink as only iced tea was available. It came reluctantly in a cardboard mug! The in room welcome pack stated that the WIFI cost £10 a day!! When we asked at the desk we were given a password for the free WIFI. The rooms were very small but adequate but ours overlooked the railroad track at the back. Luckily being on the upper floors the sound did not intrude but the view was rubbish.

There was a business meeting in the foyer on the first evening which spoilt the atmosphere.

There was no included breakfast either!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel to celebrate our 15th anniversary. From the moment we checked in with Dani, it was a fantastic experience. The hotel is a beautiful property, located within easy walking distance (5-10 minutes) to the downtown strip, but far enough to avoid the congestion and noise.

Both Dani and Matt at the front desk are excellent ambassadors for the hotel; professional, friendly and extremely helpful with all questions including recommendations for local restaurants and directions.

Sandy, the concierge, is also a pleasure to work with. Very knowledgeable about the Nashville area, and helped us obtain Opry tickets at the last minute. She can help with anything you want to do in Nashville!

And yes, it is a restored tain station. Beside train tracks. You will hear the train, but that was all an expected part of the trip. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and lovingly restored. It's updated but in keeping with the venue of an old train station when train travel was the way to go. Our room on the main floor off the lobby was stunning and beautifully appointed. Not large, but more than sufficient. We enjoyed the continental breakfast twice and it was more than is traditionally offered at other hotels and beautifully presented. We had lunch one afternoon and dinner a different evening. With all that Nashville has too offer, we still found the food in the hotel dining room delicious. Have recommended it to others and hope to stop by again for another stay. Also, a perfect location for downtown Nashville can walk to everything!

Room Tip: We were not at all disturbed by the train sounds, but it might bother some so I would ask in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.