We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Taste of Europe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Small Taste of Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked this hotel after having the luxury of staying at the Pullman Hotel on Aachen, Germany. Once you have been introduced to the finer hotels such as the Pullman you want each stay thereafter to be replicated. I was very pleased with my room and the amenities. Everything was as promised at the time of booking and as depicted on the web. The dining experience was also amazing throughout the day. The chef prepared a remarkable lobster bisque and the bison burgers. I recommend this for lunch. The hotel staff were very professional and provided excellent customer service. My only regret was the hotel did not have spa services. On the whole, I would book this hotel in the future as this was the only hotel that did not to have reported complaints of bedbug infestation in its guest reviews.

Room Tip: If you book a room with two beds, indicate in your notes that you will need additional robes and sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    184
    82
    42
    26
See reviews for
63
292
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, beautiful lobby, friendly valet and welcoming staff, all except ironically the front desk. We are traveling as 3 for a girls weekend, one was a new mom being away for the first time. We arrived early in the morning and understandably the room wasn't ready, no big deal except they were supposed to call us when one would. We kept having to check in and our room wasn't ready until late afternoon. Also being a new mom my girlfriend had needed to breastfeed and knowing that the front desk ladies didn't do anything to assist or volunteer a vacant room or somewhere private we were like huh? The girl in the bar who was awesome, Hollis, helped us and found an event space where my friend could have privacy. Why couldn't front desk help us? We finally check in and the room was ok... Bathroom dirty, mold dirt in the shower grout not clean.. Not what you would expect for almost $500 per night. Certainly need to work on their service.. Oh yes did I mention we ran out of toilet paper and there was no more and we had to call for some more? How does housekeeping keep more.. certainly not worth the money.. For that you expect extremely high service and they have a lot to learn and work on for future. Valet and doormen terrific and restaurant but first impression is front desk and they couldn't be bothered. Not typical southern hospitality we had thought when we booked and stepped into this gorgeous historical establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the beauty of the hotel and the welcome you received from our valet staff. We are very sorry to hear that you did not receive the quick response from the front desk regarding the private space needed but certainly glad one of our team members was able to assist. We were also disappointed to learn of the lack of cleanliness and amenities of the guest bath. We take pride in our hotel and especially the guest experience and quality of the rooms and your comments have been shared with our leadership and action taken to ensure we correct these issues. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and provide the experience you expect from the Union Station Hotel.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I loved this place in so many ways. It is charming, and the rooms are beautiful. I spent a lot of time in my comfortable king room, with its view over the concrete walkway with the original iron railings. The bathroom has a walk-in shower, and nice tiles, a lighted make-up mirror, and lots of space. The closet with the cloth drapes was cute. I loved the headboard.

The bed was very very comfortable, the room well-lit and beautifully maintained.

I had a light dinner at the bar. The crab cakes were uber rich, and satisfying, enough for a full meal with a salad. The lobby is beautiful, the bar charming. And the staff is welcoming and attentive. I also had an amazing experience - the hotel contacted me because I had forgotten something in the room - and offered to courier it to me. This is the only time I have ever had this happen - thank you!

My only reservation is the noise. I could hear the trains from my room, and while I, personally, find the sound of trains soothing, I could understand why others might not. Also, I could hear creaking noises from the room upstairs, as people walked around.

Overall, this was a great stay. I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

You can't help but be amazed by the beauty of this building - it's spectacular glass ceiling, magnificent stained glass windows, detail carvings. And the service is absolutely outstanding. Food was delicious, if a bit pricey ( in-room dining and smoked chicken Cobb salad was the best I ever had). We had appetizers and dinner at a separate function, so I assume reflected the quality of the dining room food, and all were outstanding! Rooms were nice enough but not special. Couldn't find the closet till I realized it was in the bathroom. Free water and wifi. Be sure to ask for rooms above Floor 3 (the main floor) - ours was on 2 with no light at all coming in because of the vaulted stone arch outside our window. Really good location in walking distance to restaurants and music. Can't say I did the town justice, but that was my fault. There is some noise but it wasn't terrible and the trains coming through every now and then were quaint. Flat $25 taxi fare from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently stayed for 4 days at this beautiful property. We had a car and so we used the valet. Not sure of the cost, but seemed within reason. They were prompt with bring the car to us.

The rooms are similar as to what you will find in Europe. Very nice, but not of the size some Americans are use to.

The restaurant and bar were both nice and the staff quite helpful.

We enjoy finer hotels and this was on par with our expectations. We would stay there again if we find ourselves in Nashville.

Room Tip: May want to be on the side the front desk is on after reading reviews of train noise. Our room was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Union Station Hotel last weekend. The hotel and lobby were very beautiful. The rooms are small indeed, but I guess that is expected since this was one time a working train station. The staff was very helpful and catered to us whenever we needed anything. The doors in the rooms are way too noisy. Every time someone enters or leaves a room the door slams loudly. Each time this happens it woke us up. It was very annoying. This needs to be remedied as soon as possible. When we arrived we were handed a piece of paper from the manager indicating there was going to be a wedding and it would not interfere with our stay. Untrue!!! The wedding was an all day and all night affair. The noise was very annoying. The walls are very thin apparently. We could even hear a tenor next door practicing his singing. We had an early flight Sunday morning and were in bed at 10 PM. From 11 to 11:45 the wedding party was screaming at the top of their lungs in the lobby and valet area!! We woke up and looked out the window to see several hundred wedding guests screaming at the arrival of the Bentley picking up the bride and groom. The screaming continued for 45 minutes while pictures were taken. Finally they left, leaving the guests to mingle until about 12:30, when they finally left. Maybe it was our bad luck, booking the same day as a wedding, but it left a very bad impression, especially considering how much this place costs. I really liked the way the hotel looked, but the small rooms, the annoying slamming of doors, and the really annoying wedding noise ruined our experience. We began our trip staying first at the Omni Hotel. I am sorry to say, we should have just stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Steve C., we appreicate your feedback on your recent stay and glad to hear that you found the hotel beautiful and our team was attentive and helpful during your stay. We do occasionally host events in our grand lobby and try to do everything possible to minimize the impact on other guests and apologize that the noise from the wedding guests disturbed your stay.

If your travels bring you back to our area we would welcome the opportunity to provide you with excellence in service and value that you expect and deserve from Union Station Hotel.

Sincerely,


Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good location...nice historic atmosphere. Rooms small...had double guest room on 7th floor. Very noisy all night with train whistles, bells,and track noise. Could have been cleaner in the bathroom especially given prices. Also think free wi fi should be included in rooms. Was gone all day, returned to room at 3pm and it wasn't made up yet. A bit disappointed in my stay.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with least train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Katie W. , thank you for taking the time to share this review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and glad to hear you enjoyed the location and the historic ambience of the hotel. We were sorry to hear that the train noise distrubed your rest. The issue with the bathroom cleaniness and prompt service has been addressed as this is not the expereince that we want to provide and you should expect. We hope to have another opporunity to serve you if you travel through Nashville again.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.