We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The building is gorgeous, both inside and out, and has been lovingly repurposed to a unique hotel. The room was spacious and immaculate, with all the amenities you would expect from an upscale hotel, and the staff were excellent. The only suggestion I have may be too picky, but I was surprised there was no doorman to greet us as we wrestled our luggage through the entry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    183
    83
    42
    26
See reviews for
62
293
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Union Station Hotel in Nashville, Tennessee is a beautiful building. I am so glad that it was not torn down like Atlanta's two train stations. I don't know how much it actually resembles the time that it was the train station but it was really nice. We had breakfast included with our room and the food was really good. My car was left with the valet and it was already ready within five minutes from when I called. Also, I had left something in the safe and remembered it when about half way home. We called and the item was FedEx'd to us in two days. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Also, the location was great. We walked to the music city bars one evening and walked to the Country Music Hall of Fame (fantastic) and also to the Bridgestone Arena for a concert. A truly great find.

Room Tip: A good choice for that "special occasion or just a week-end getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here when we stayed in Nashville for my birthday. The hotel is very nice with historic touches along with all of the modern amenities needed for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We were within walking distance of all of the touristy stuff that happens on Broadway and right next door to the Frist Center for the Visual Arts. We were only a couple of blocks away from the Ryman, where we saw a show on Sunday night. A short cab ride got us to the East Nashville area where there are some excellent local places for food and drink that are a nice change of pace from all of the country music and chain restaurants on Broadway. The room itself seemed newly renovated and was quite large and comfortable. We were on the lower level which stayed nice and dark into the late morning. We did not really notice any train noise in our room but enjoyed watching them outside. We enjoyed the cucumber water and cheese and crackers put out in the late afternoon. The hotel bar was a little pricey but the service was very friendly and the bartender made us feel welcome even though we stayed past the closing time when we returned to the hotel after the show on Sunday night. Overall we had a wonderful stay here and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very nice hotel! The hotel staff was very hospitable and knew everything there was to know about Nashville. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It's very close to downtown, The District and The Country Music Hall of Fame. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who looking for hotel with a rich history and wants to be close to everything.

Room Tip: 516 - Tall ceilings with a view of the trains coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever stayed in. The rooms were clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. Thing to know: some rooms do not have doors on the bathroom! Also, the hotel is extremely noisy, the building is old so the walls are paper thin. You cannot even speak at a normal level without everyone hearing your every word. Also, they were having a wedding during our stay but that wasn't as noisy as people just simply walking down the hallway. If you are a heavy sleeper this is the place for you. Beautiful building but very noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from an elevator as the walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel well located for a 10 minute stroll down Broadway to bars and clubs. A bit on the expensive side if using the restauraunt and room service was ridiculously priced. That said, you should expect to pay over the odds for the class of hotel so no point in complaining - just be warned.
The only poor area of service within the hotel was housekeeping. Departing the hotel at 09:30 in the morning and returning at 16:30 to find our room not serviced wasn't exactly pleasing but complaining to the front desk elicited the response - "they sometimes don't finish until 5pm" didn't exactly rock my boat. I was tired, hot and all I wanted was hot shower.
One other area for the wary traveller is that the hotel is an old railway station -and is situated by live working freight lines that can be noisy. A train whistle blasting away at 6am every morning may not be everyones cup of tea.
Bottom line - Nashville is a terific vacation spot and the Union Staion is in a perfect location - oh, and the beds were one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced in any hotel worldwide.

Room Tip: Bar prices are on the high side of ridiculous - use the pub situated right next to the hotel. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F, Marketing & PR Director at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for bringing them up in your review as your feedback is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality so that others do not share your experience.

Your business is extremely important to us and I sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity and consider returning again. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me. We are always listening to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This property has been well maintained and is absolutely gorgeous. The architectural elements are incredible. The front room still has the tile that was in place during WWI and WWII. It is absolutely breathtaking. The location is great. The sleep rooms are very well decorated, not in typical hotel or "Marriott" style. The room was quite spacious, and the color choice was quite calming. The bed linens were comfortable. The toiletry items were very nice. The only complaint that we had was in regard to our room location. We were placed in a tiny corner of the hotel that houses approximately four rooms on the ground level. From this location, lobby noise was easily heard. Being at ground level proved to be somewhat problematic as the hotel uses the patio/balcony area outside of these rooms for meetings, gatherings, etc. Let me just say that it is a GREAT area for those kinds of things. The fact that parents use that area as a baby sitter for their children created the greatest issue. There were children running up and down that area at 6:00 a.m. (No, I'm not kidding.) For a couple without children looking forward to a restful and refreshing weekend, this situation did not work well. I realize the burden is on the parents to be considerate; however, the hotel staff might want to consider monitoring that area a little more frequently. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at this property. It is by far the nicest Marriott property that we have stayed at in quite some time. I would recommend this property. I would caution the rooms at ground level. Be prepared to pay, what we considered, a hefty charge for parking. (The hotel we stayed at the following evening was about $10 cheaper for parking.) The hotel staff were excellent, very knowledgeable and quite helpful.

Room Tip: Consider rooms that are not on the ground level with the balcony/patio area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.