We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Makes This Place Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staff Makes This Place Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stay in hotels almost 200 nights a year. The staff at this hotel is one of the nicest I have experienced. I was commenting about the treatment I received and how nice the staff was to someone after my stay. This person indicated that for me to say that about a hotel staff is quite remarkable. In this instance, the staff is quite remarkable. The building is very nice, especially if you are into historic buildings. Originally I thought the location was not good but we did walk into the entertainment district, an easy walk of about 6 blocks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    167
    74
    41
    25
See reviews for
57
271
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here for 3 nights as a stop on our road trip. I was some what Suprised when we turned up that the whole lobby was set up for a wedding party complete with cake. We had to drag our cases through the tables. Had we arrived any later we could have joined the speeches ! The room we are in 515 is opposite the elevator and adjacent to the balcony over looking the lobby. It is also overlooking the train tracks. So into the night we have had to deal with noise from the wedding party ,elevator and worst of all the trains. They run all night and blow there horns at all hours. At that just reminds me. The air con makes a racket to! The room is very small , with the bed being even smaller , not big enough for two. The hotel does have some redeeming features. The lobby is amazing , the staff wonderful and the locatoin great for downtown with plenty of bars and restaurants. Would I stay here again - no the bed size and noise are a deal breaker.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were advised on this hotel for a central position for down town Nashville it certainly was that but so are many other well known brands of hotels,
We read about the hotel being a revamped old railway station building with millions of dollars spent on it over the last few years and i would say it was done beautifully but let me clarify one thing it is still an old railway station, the rail tracks are still in use and let me tell you that these big diesel locomotives they have in the USA were trundling past not 50feet from your room window all night it is not funny needless to say after 4 nights we left that hotel shattered, some nights the whole room would shake with them, i did video one train passing and it took 6 minutes to pass our window at 2-3 in the morning you would do anything for peace and quiet
When the train had passed, you then had to put up with a/c unit thermostatically controlled it came on although the space shuttle took of from nasa
This hotel does NOT give you sleep time. Crawling into breakfast in the morning, you get a really nice breakfast then find you are charged $3 extra for coffee although outside in the foyer coffee is on tap free Would we stay here again certainly not, would I advise anyone to stay definitely NO

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

All the other reviews do justice to the architectural marvel that this hotel is. I'll hit on some other points.

First, the literature claims that over 3 million servicemen traveled through the station back in WWII. Apparently, Union Station Hotel still supports at least the Navy since there was evidence of many Seamen in the hotel. Sorry - that should be semen!! Yes, semen.

We checked into our 5th floor grand lobby view elegant room on Sept 4th, and immediately noticed a large 'wet spot' on the fancy fainting chair. It was evidently bodily fluid left by Seaman Stains the prior night. My wife sat on the bed and noticed another white disgusting stain on the bedroll pillow! About that time, the manager from downstairs called to see how our room was after check-in, so I told her about the stains. She didn't apologize or react well at all, but did send not one but two housekeeping men up to clean the furniture with a can of carpet cleaner. The manager never called back during our 4 day, 3 night stay to check on us.

Anyway - the room itself was nice. The room was high-ceilinged and very long, so the TV was about 20 feet across the room from the bed. There was minimal noise or disturbance from any guests or coming from the lobby, and there was no train noise from outside (which may be because our room was interior and overlooking the lobby). The bathroom was clean; it was long and narrow, and did have a tub not just a shower, with dual vanities.

Yes, the "closet" was a corner of the room enclosed by a drape or shower curtain, but big deal. It's a boutique hotel. The biggest thing missing is a small refrigerator. I don't understand why a hotel of this caliber wouldn't have them in the rooms; there was certainly room for one.

Also - you are told at check-in that hotel guests get 20% food in the fancy restaurant downstairs. We had an excellent dinner there one night, but did not get the 20% off, so keep that in mind. Not sure why they'd lie about that, but it's true. We had 2 Filets, one small salad, 1 glass of wine, one diet coke and it was $137 after tip.

The fitness room is small but has a nice selection of dumbbells ranging from 5 to 50 lbs, 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, and 2 ellipticals. No pool. There is free fruit in there, so if you want an orange or apple him the gym!

The location is just about perfect; you can easily walk to the American Pickers Antique Archaeology place, the Country Music Hall of Fame, or any of the Broadway/District attractions. We walked to the Parthenon at Centennial Park too, but that was a bit of a hike and on a hot day it'd have been miserable.

The staff at Union Station was very very nice and helpful, and always around when you needed them. I am a little disappointed in the manager not following up on the stain situation, which was a wet blemish on the experience, but didn't ruin it.

Room Tip: King grand lobby view as advertised. Interior rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a great location - 5 minutes down Broadway to the center of Nashville. The attention to detail in the renovation is obvious the moment you enter. The lobby and common areas are beautiful and the rooms spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend this location for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Union Station Hotel is a renovated train station! From the moment you walk in, attention is a priority. The bell staff race you to the door to open for you. Morning coffee and scones as well as cheese/crackers and tea in the afternoon are set up in the amazing lobby, complimentary to all guests. The rooms appear large due to the 18 foot ceilings. Nice to have robes offered in the rooms too. The decor is beautiful from the ceilings, moldings, bannisters, art on the wall and furniture. Just a short ten minute walk to the happening area of Nashville. Sorry we didn't have time to visit the bar or restaurant in the hotel. The staff was wonderful about packaging up carry out bagels and cream cheese for our travels home!

Room Tip: Choose an outside room at a higher level looking towards the downtown/river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our address during our first trip to Nashville. The hotel is a beauty- so glad that they chose to restore it. Overall service was very good, friendly staff( as we found during our entire stay all over in Nashville) Resturant served well prepared. delicious food and the rooms were roomy and so very comfortable. We were albe to walk - safely- right into the downtow area to take in all the sights and music. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#20 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#26 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.