We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to begin? This was awful...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Apex, NC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where to begin? This was awful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Where to begin. I stayed at the Union Station Autograph hotel in Nashville on June 7-9, 2013. It was me and my wife's 18th anniversary and we went to the CMA Music Festival. For two nights, I paid $409 a night after tax something like $950. What a joke. Our room had a double bed -- we got no sleep. They put us across from the fitness center which was loud. And believe it or not, our room had no door separating it and the bathroom. This was hardly worthy of a Marriott property and certainly not close to what we paid for it. I asked twice for a new room but there was nothing they could do according to the front desk. Amazingly, my co-worker, who is not a Marriott rewards member, traveled by herself and got a king bed!

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank You for your comments. I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. Our Marriott Rewards guests are very important to us and we make every attempt to upgrade the room when possible based on occupancy. CMA Music Fest is one of the busiest times of the year for Nashville and we were fully booked and unfortunately we could not upgrade you without displacing another guest that had reserved an upgraded room type. I hope you understand why we had to assign you the room that was originally booked. I do recognize that you were unhappy with the room size and layout. Due to the historic nature of the hotel every room is unique and we have some rooms that are larger than others and unfortunately we are limited to the changes we can make to some of our rooms.

The fitness center noise has not been a problem in the past but I will look into this directly. I certainly apologize that you were unhappy with your stay especially on your anniversary. I hope you will give Union Station another opportunity next time you travel to Nashville. I am aware that our Director of Rooms reached out to you prior to this review and I hope you have the opportunity to contact him or me and we can personally make accommodations and arrangements for you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    171
    76
    42
    26
See reviews for
59
276
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Used our Marriott points for this stay they also gave us extra points back since it was a signature hotel. I would not pay full price for hotel at around 200 a night Park on your own is around 10 bucks down bellowed the hotel in a private lot. Valet is 25. Rooms are tiny and no wifi in rooms. Nice beer place next door the fl,ting saucer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Union Station. I was happy to hear that you were able to utilize your Marriot Rewards points to stay at Union Station Hotel. We hope we get the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I like the Union Station Hotel. It's got cool architecture and the staff is nice. But I'm still not 100% sold, even after two stays.

The trains can be a bit loud, and the rooms have very high ceilings which give you the impression the rooms are bigger than they really are. I stayed here this time with a crazy low rate, and it was worth that, but if it's pricey, I don't know that it would be my first choice.

Its proximity to downtown is nice, but it's not super close, and it's an uphill walk back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I appreciate your feedback on your stay at Union Station and was happy to hear you’ve stayed with us more than once. Union Station is a unique hotel where almost every room is different. We make every effort in the design and layout of our rooms to create an upscale and welcoming feel while maintaining the historical and architectural integrity of this great building. On your next visit to Union Station please make sure to let the front desk know your preferences related to the room layout and they will work to accommodate your request if availability allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It is unique to look out of the large windows onto the lobby with the enormous fireplace and large clocks. One afternoon a guest entertained everyone by playing the grand piano. Iced tea is served in the afternoon and coffee and delicious scones are available in the AM. One cup coffee machine is in the room but no refrigerator. the hotel is conveniently located for an easy walk to all the downtown sights. Very friendly doormen are always ready with a friendly greeting. Union Station has much more charm and interest than the typical chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at Union station Hotel and for also taking the time to pass along your comments about your stay. The scones and coffee are one of our signature experiences at Union Station and is received well by virtually every guest so I was happy to hear that you enjoyed them as well. We hope you will stay with us again so you can enjoy this amazing hotel and great city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Well to be fair it is a very attractive hotel, but it was a train station and yes the trains still run next to it. It is also a bit far from the center of the city's entertainment district, yet it is walkable. But what really irked me that after paying almost $300/night for a room, they charge you $11 for access to the Internet!! Even a red roof inn does not do this!!

The lobby had construction during our stay. The staff was excellent and attentive. Finally, the restaurant was excellent! But to be honest, it seemed like a lot to pay for an attractive lobby!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to hear the team provided great service during your stay and that you enjoyed your meal at Prime 108. We continue to evaluate the needs of our guests related to the internet and will certainly take your comments into consideration as we move forward. Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again to Union Station in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent two nights here a few months ago for business. The location was convenient to downtown. It's a very interesting hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed, but it's odd that the rooms on upper floors all face into the lobby, with no external windows. A different experience, but personally I like a little sunlight. The bathrooms are very nice.

The restaurant and bar at the hotel are both quite good as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Our internal rooms are one of our most requested room types but understand they’re not everyone’s preference. These Rooms actually once were the offices for the Executive Team for the L&N Railroad. On your next visit please let our front desk team know that your preference is to have an exterior view and we will make every effort to accommodate you request. Thanks again for your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Perhaps one of the most beautifl lobbies I've seen with a fanstastic historic touch.
The rooms were small but the bed was very comfortable.
Walking distance to downtown.
Bar is small but the service was great.
An expensive place to stay but you have to experience this once.
BTW: I've never seen valet's run that fast in my life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Union Station. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and this great hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with our valet team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#23 Business Hotel in Nashville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#24 Family Hotel in Nashville
#28 Spa Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.