We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lovely, lovely hotel right on the edge of downtown Nashville. Beautiful building, gorgeous room with high celings and luxary bedding. Accomodating staff. Awesome birthday meal in the hotel restaurant. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    162
    70
    41
    25
See reviews for
56
264
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It almost pains me to give this hotel a 3 but I really do not think it deserves anything more than that.

First with the good points:
The hotel is gorgeous. The stained glass ceiling is amazing as are the 2 lovely staircases. The rooms are very well decorated and the bed was comfortable. The complementary bottles of water and the robe were also nice touches. I attended a conference and the conference was very well organized by the hotel. The food that the hotel catered for the event was very good, even for hotel food. Also, the location was great. Just a few blocks walking and you were right in the heart of the music scene in Nashville. I also liked that you can control your own thermostat.

Now for the negatives. While I loved the location of my room, one wall was all windows overlooking the lobby and the black out drapes let light from the lobby in all night. It was irritating. Also, my bathroom was very small and had very little space for toiletries. Not so much a big deal for 1 person but if there were 2 in the room it would most definitely be an issue. Now for the part that really bothered me and a lot of people at the conference I attended. The Trains! The noise at night....multiple times a night. It was very frustrating.

While there were good points for the hotel: location, very beautiful, and the food I think the high price and the trains would make me not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great service, wonderful staff. Couldn't ask for anything better. If you can afford it (posted rate $399/night) well worth it, you do get what you pay for. The only 2 downfalls were the lobby/lounge bar closing down early so if you want to stay and have a few drinks you will have to bring your own or go out to the local bars which are in close proximity and in abundance and there was no pool/spa to unwind. The room we stayed in was big enough for the 3 of us and having a double sink in the bathroom was a great plus with us getting ready in the morning. Being on Broadway close to downtown and all the major sites was one of our reasons for picking this hotel, we didn't need a car rental and if we needed transportation the bus system was reliable and very cheap compared to other major cities, taxi service was fast and also had flat rates between certain attractions ie to/from airport, Grand Ole Opry etc so you could budget your transportation costs. If we do go back we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms facing front parking lot and don't be afraid to ask for extras ie rolla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Freight trains in Nashville come through at 1 in the morning, 2 in the morning, 4 in the morning , and 5:44 in the morning. This restored hotel sits directly next to ACTIVE freight train lines. Went for a sales meeting. After the first night 4 of our 15, myself included, were either switching room or switching hotels. Best bet on a room is an upper floor on the street side. Best overall bet is to visit the hotel bar for a drink and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the street (non freight train) side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Union station is absolutely beautiful. Our room was on the first floor, although we were high enough we could still hear traffic noise. We were also able to hear noise coming from the hallway. our room was close to the main open lobby and away from elevator.
Our room had 18foot ceiling which was spectacular, the decor is tastefully done, the room had free starbucks coffee, bottled water.
The hotel itself offered coffee and scones in the am & cheese & cracker and ice tea, lemonade mid afternoon. no big buffet. We never ate at the restaurant, it was quite pricey.
No shuttle service to and from airport which a downfall for a Marriott hotel.
no swimming pool or sauna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First, let me say that Union Station is absolutely beautiful, and worth a visit. This is a hotel though, so I am reviewing it as such. Even though it's historic and very, very cool, when room rates start at over $300 a night, you're really paying for a certain level of service. A "wow" experience. Marriotts are usually very solid.. but for our one-night stay, Union Station misses the mark.

Parking, for instance - huge hassle. The only sign directs you to the valets who were terrific, but seemed completely overwhelmed. On the day we arrived (a Thursday), the valets were so busy that at times their line of cars backed up onto Broadway - a pretty major street. There is a self-park option, but you have to ask the valets how to find it, and at $28/day with in/out privileges, the valets are the better value unless you don't need access to your car for the day.

Valets aside, the hotel staff were all polite and professional enough, but not overly hospitable or pleasant - a huge disappointment given the excellent staff I've encountered at other Marriott properties.

As others have stated, the rooms in this hotel are small - only a little larger than you'd expect in San Francisco or Manhattan, but certainly unique. The fourth and fifth floor rooms that look out into the lobby are cool, but creepy since the floor-to-ceiling windows put your entire room on display for anyone in the hallway.

Our room was on the dreaded first floor, yet it was well-lit, very quiet and the bed was insanely comfortable. (We had requested a higher floor, but were told curtly that it wasn't going to happen because they were sold out.) Overall, the room was in pretty good shape and well appointed - free bottled water even! But there were lots of scuff marks on the walls, a few holes in the furniture and bathroom fixtures badly showing their age. There was some train noise, but not bad.. honestly, the noise from the hallway was louder.

The lobby features free coffee and scones in the morning, and tea with cheese and crackers in the evenings, something you rarely see at full-service hotels anymore. The hotel also features a business center and there is a small workout room on the seventh floor. Wi-fi is plenty fast, and free in the lobby or $13/ day in room.

Breakfast at the restaurant is pricey, but awesome (try the omelet!) I'll echo other reviewers here - service was lackluster. With the restaurant only half full, we waited 15 minutes for a table. Fortunately, the hotel is in a fantastic location, so there are plenty of other food options within very easy walking distance.

Union Station is a neat lesson in history, and I'm glad I had the opportunity to stay here. Expect to be underwhelmed, however, if you're expecting a top-notch hotel experience.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are across the hall from the hotel's meeting rooms, which makes for a very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel with a few exceptions All we did was sleep there as we left the hotel by 11am and never got back until midnight. We never used any of the facilities or the restaurants. The hotel lobby is beautiful, our room on the 4th floor was large and well kept. I was a bit concerned about noise since we were over the main entrance of the hotel and right beside the elevator but never heard anything. Also did not hear any trains but our travelling companions were on the 2nd floor and heard trains at least 3 times during the night. So unless you are a very sound sleeper ask for higher rooms facing away from the tracks.

Room was lovely, large and clean with very nice toiletries (I agree with another traveller, really liked the toothbrush holder), only thing missing were the robes and a do not disturb sign also towels were a bit worn.

My major complaint was the bed (room 403) was very very soft and I woke up with severe back pains that are still bothering me a week later. So that would really be my only issue.

Hotel was only about 5 blocks from all the action on Broadway, very manageable walk. Front door staff were friendly and helpful in getting taxis. The taxi drivers that we had (Grand Old Opry and out to the Belle Mead Plantation and airport) were hit and miss. Some could not speak English and had no ideal where they were going and relied on wrong GPS directions. My husband always sat in the front seat to help them. Nashville is not that big so I was surprised that taxi drivers were so lost.

Room Tip: High room away from tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#19 Business Hotel in Nashville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#24 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.