We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Hotel with an Exceptional Staff and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Hotel with an Exceptional Staff and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I absolutely LOVED the Union Station hotel. I had booked this hotel before looking at reviews and some weren't too pleasing to read...many people remarked on the loud sounds of the bypassing trains or unclean rooms or a cold staff. I found these remarks to be completely wrong in my case. Upon arrival, the valet parkers were extraordinarily friendly and helpful to us (valet parking is $24 a day, but if one knows ahead of time, it's not much of a shock...but it is worth it. I promise.) They carried all of our bags and parked our car. When you choose valet parking, you can retrieve your car at any time and it doesn't cost more to re-park it. Anyway, the staff was extremely hospitable upon arrival and the hotel lobby was truly a grand view and sight. The architecture was exquisite and superbly clean on all accounts, and the people working the front desk were cordial and amiable. We called earlier to request a room non-trainside, and they managed to get a beautiful one for us! However, Nashville is not a huge train city (only a few trains passed the whole weekend we were there and never sounded their horns). The room was large and spacious and everything was very modern and clean, but still retained the charm of a 4 star luxury and historic hotel. The room service was also very prompt and friendly. The food was from a lovely restaurant in the hotel called Prime 108. It was a bit pricey but delicious and hot nonetheless. In the morning following our arrival, there was renovation and restoration being done to the windows so we were abrubtly awakened and it was quite unpleasant. When we voiced this to the staff, they profusely apologized and told us that the workers were finished on that side. And they were in fact...no harm done! But this hotel was fantastic because it was within walking distance of nearly everything in Nashville! Broadway is the main street for entertainment and dining, and Union Station was just a few short minutes away! Also, there is a lovely art museum right next store with a lovely cafe for lunch. Overall, our stay in the Union Station hotel was superb and I FULLY recommend it to anyone travelling to Nashville for business or pleasure, or just to experience its majestic and elegant charm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    184
    83
    42
    26
See reviews for
63
293
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I choose this hotel solely for because of it is both a historic hotel and close to the honky tonk bars. The price was nice, too. But, my business was not isolated to downtown. The hotel offers two choices for parking: valet or public lot. Valet is come and go as you please, parking lot is pay each time you exit. Either route is inconvenient and costly. I suggest the hotel if you love historic buildings, you are not budget minded or you spend the majority of your time downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Union Station. I traveled with a friend who was in town for a conference and this was perfect for both of us. The hotel was incredibly beautiful and the staff went out of their way to accommodate. When my friend left with the car for her meeting on Tuesday morning I was still able to see the city because this hotel is within walking distance of a lot of Nashville attractions. The guest rooms were clean, comfortable, and very pretty. I was originally concerned after reading other reviews about this hotel. Several reviewers had complained about the train noise. We requested a high room on the non-train side and had no problem with noise. AND, I'm a very light sleeper. I would definitely stay here again if staying in Nashville.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was so helpful and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were a little nervous at first because we had read some reviews from people who used the Priceline "Name your own price" to book the room, saying they weren't treated as well as non-Priceline customers. However, starting with being given an upgraded room overlooking the interior of the hotel, to room service being delivered in 15 minutes (we were quoted 30 minutes when we ordered), to just the overall friendliness of all the staff... Needless to say, it was an amazing experience! We were within walking distance of all the downtown nightlife, restaurants, etc. If you are looking for a beautiful, romantic, historic, well located hotel, I HIGHLY suggest this one!

Room Tip: Just ask at check-in for a King rm or what it $ to upgrade to one if your rsvp dosen't cover it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff was great and the rooms were beautiful! We received great service and walked to the Rhyman from the hotel for a concert. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A beautiful old train station made into a grand hotel Near the museum. A short walk to the downtown music bars and cafes. Be sure and visit the Country Music Hall of Fame. You can walk to it but we took a taxi. Loved looking out over the trains from our room. Breakfast in the cafe was good. There was a little confusion checking in and out but it got straightened out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed July 4th weekend, 2011. We booked a room with a King bed. Little did we know that a King bed is about all the room could hold. The room was literally as big as our bedroom at home. King bed, two side tables, an armoire and a small dresser with t.v. on top. Bathroom was BEYOND itty bitty. We had a view of the train tracks. The trains didn't bother us though as we are heavy sleepers.
The bed was the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in. AMAZING, AMAZING comfort!!
Lobby is SPECTACULAR. We did not eat at the hotel. The valet staff was very friendly (we felt a little out of sorts with our Nissan in a lot full of Jaguars, Mercedes, Corvettes....) and the 22.00/day charge is well worth it. We were left to our own devices with our luggage and finding our room.
We never got maid service even though we had put out the 'service requested' card on our doorknob.
They charge $9.00/day for internet service which is ridiculous.
We found plenty to do within walking distance. Our favorite spots were The Flying Saucer and, if you like Japanese food, you MUST visit Virago. Try their wok-charred spicy edamame and The Bomb roll. SOO TASTY!
All in all, a nice place but the price you pay is for the history of the building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. Union Station Hotel is the modern incarnation of Nashville's iconic railroad station that originally opened in 1900. Now a sophisticated boutique hotel from the Autograph Collection by Marriott, the grande dame property is celebrated for its castle-like limestone exterior and Romanesque interiors that include a magnificent lobby with a 65-foot barrel-vaulted ceiling, 128 original Luminous Prism stained glass panels, 20 gold-accented angel of commerce figurines, marble floors and stately limestone fireplaces. Union Station Hotel offers 125 elegant guest rooms, some of which were the offices of railroad executives and with no two exactly alike, the award-winning Prime 108 restaurant and lounge, fitness and business centers, and more than 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.