We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Demonbreun Street, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #85 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Millburn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our room was small and quite dark. Even after asking for a light bulb to replace the one that was burnt out, it was still very difficult to see in the room. We were there for two nights and an odor from the bathroom became stronger as time went on. Also, there was a space between our room door (to the outside) and the wall, so much so that there was cold air coming through and you could see outside!

We arrived at the buffet breakfast a few minutes before the ending time. Our breakfast would have been enjoyable, except for the woman working in the room who started to put the food away as early as 5 minutes before breakfast time even ended and then actually asked everyone to leave the room by 5 minutes after!

Out of the six hotels/motels that we stayed in those two weeks, this one was the most disappointing!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    126
    134
    60
    90
See reviews for
86
156
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel to be a very clean and nice place to stay.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main area. We found the area to be safe to walk around at night with no problems.

Breakfast in the morning was good. View have lots of selection and fresh waffles.

If we return to Nashville we would stay again and we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Took a gamble on hotwire.com and paid $45/night for a mystery hotel that you find out after paying - it was the Comfort Inn Nashville/Demonbreun Street. Reviews were not great so we prepared ourselves for the worst. The hotel room itself was fine for what we paid. It was fairly small but had a fridge (one bonus!). The hotel itself was not the dirtiest, but I still wore shoes/socks to walk around in and laid towels on the tiled floor as it did not seem too incredibly clean. The worst part was the chain latch had clearly been broken off and just screwed back on and the door did not fit properly so little bugs got in the room. The breakfast was not really that great compared to other places with continental breakfasts and it ends pretty early (in case you intend to be out partying to late!).

The walk to downtown Broadway Ave was about 10-15 minutes. In the daytime, it was fine but at night I did not necessarily feel that safe (walking with my fiancé). I admit that I am also just a little paranoid of walking at night anyway, my fiancé felt safe.

We would have stayed at this hotel to save money on our trip however one night upon returning from downtown there was a very sketchy person on the top floor (where we were also staying). We walked up and he had moved around to our side of the building. I did not feel safe so I said to my fiancé "I think I want a drink from the pop machine" (so the guy did not think I was just freaked out to go up because he was there) and we went back down to the first floor. We went in to the main lobby so that I could relax a bit. We decided to go back to see if this guy was gone and as we were walking past the pop machine - he was getting off the elevator to go to the pop machine (seemed like an odd coincidence!). We hurried quickly up the stairs to our top floor room and I did not feel safe for the rest of the night (especially because our chain latch had clearly been busted off once before!!).

We decided to switch hotels because of this experience as I did not want to feel unsafe and paranoid for the rest of the trip. There was not really any security that I saw - only one person working the front desk at night and it is a motel set up so anyone can go up and down the floors. We did not receive any money back for the 4 nights that we did not spend at this hotel as it was paid up-front with no cancellation allowed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay NSW
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

spacious room, clean, great location. Didn't use pool but it looked nice and clean. Great buffet breakfast included. Ten minutes to walk to Union Square and the Honky Tonk bars. Three woman walking at night, felt quite safe. Ten dollars to catch taxi back to hotel also good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin IRELAND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A friend of mine had already booked this hotel when I got to read the reviews. Boy was I worried ! As it turned out I have to say the bad reviews in my opinion did no justice to this hotel at all. Maybe they have cleaned up their act in recent times, but I have to say this place is real value for your dollar. Centrally located, free bus into Broadway and despite reports very clean. The reception and room service staff couldn't do enough to please. Overall while not five star there were no problems with what you get for your money, in fact I thought it was great value! Will call again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel was super busy with loads of visitors to the Nashville area. Easy to get to and lots of things to do within walking distance.
Room was fine and clean. Nothing special but not horrible. Bathroom area was small but clean.
Breakfast area was crowded but was expected.

Outside entry rooms but we stayed on 2nd floor and felt very safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level. Lots of people traffic at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

After staying two nights, our family felt the name of this inn should be changed from "Comfort Inn" to "Uncomfortable Inn." As I write this, my back is still sore from trying to sleep on their uncomfortable, lumpy beds with small pillows instead of standard pillows The sheet and the mattress protector bunched-up and would not fit the bed correctly. One bed had a large roach waiting to tuck us in. Nothing is more unsanitary as big brown roaches on your bed! We like chocolate mints on our pillows, not nasty bugs! Their staff was slow, unprofessional, and could hardly speak English, and at check-in they were unable to communicate to us how to find our room. The "free" breakfast was a disaster! One day, I tried the biscuits and gravy, but couldn't stand the taste and threw it in the garbage; and on the next day I couldn't even get a piece of toast because they hadn't prepared enough for their customers. The free breakfast was depleted 30 minutes before the serving time was scheduled to be finished; and in broken English, a dining room employee responded to my desire for bread with simply, "...no food." So, if you plan to stay at the "Uncomfortable Inn of Nashville," don't expect to have a good breakfast. We walked away from their merger breakfast and traveled10 miles to eat a great breakfast at Cracker Barrel on I-40. I recommend any of the Cracker Barrels in the Nashville area. When we see an advertised service at a Comfort Inn, like breakfast as part of our stay, we expect to get what we pay for; but they couldn't even serve me a piece of bread. As I made my reservation, their room rates seemed reasonable, but when I look closer at the quality of their services, I feel a bit cheated by a second-rate property not worthy to be called a franchise of Comfort Inn. This is a inn that needs better management!

Room Tip: In the future I recommend reading reviews, If I had read the reviews provided here, I would have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 1501 Demonbreun Street, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is ideally located in the downtown area, providing easy access to all major interstates. This Nashville, TN hotel is less than one mile from the Bridgestone arena, the New Music city Center and the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. The campuses of Vanderbilt University, Belmont University and Tennessee State University are only minutes away. Tourists will enjoy shopping a wide variety of specialty stores and visiting local museums. There are several restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area, including "Nashville's #1 Dining and Entertainment Destination," the Wildhorse Saloon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Nashville/Demonbreun Street Hotel Nashville
Nashville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.