We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Would stay again in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We were in Nashville for the Garth Brooks concert so we wanted to stay close to the Bridgestone Arena. The Renaissance is about a total of 2 block walk (at the most) from Bridgestone Arena and therefore, also the start of the bars and entertainment on Broadway Ave which was SO convienent.

We had a king bed room on the 14th floor and when we walked in it smelled very clean and fresh (as it did every day after the maids cleaned it). The bed was ridiculously comfortable. The view was amazing. Only complaint in the room was that the walls are very, very thin so if you are looking for an early night sleep you may be interrupted.

We ate in the restaurant on the main floor three times - twice for breakfast, once for lunch. The breakfast buffet is amazing value for $15 - such good food. Lunch was okay - however, the menu was small and I am a very picky eater. Service can be a bit slow at breakfast because it is pretty busy but all the wait staff were very kind. There is room service available at EVERY hour of the day, however, we did not get any but this is handy.

John Young at the front counter was great. We wanted a later check out because our flight wasn't until 6:20 pm. My boyfriend asked a lady on Tuesday night and she said we wouldn't be able to. I spoke to John on Wednesday morning and he extended it two hours - no problem. We had John for our check in process as well and he was very friendly, answering questions about the area, letting us know where the arena was, letting us know that he felt safe in the area with his 4 year old.

The "Navigator" area - all people I spoke with were extremely helpful in regards to sightseeing tours (ours didn't pick us up, so they phoned them and had them come right away), shopping mall recommendations and stowing out baggage after we had to check out.

There is also a line up of cabs just up the street from the hotel and the valet parking guys outside will flag one down for you if you need to go somewhere which helps reduce the hassle of getting one yourself.

The pool is small (we didn't use it because we didn't have time). The fitness centre area is pretty good for cardio selection, weights area is standard is smaller.

I am so glad we chose this hotel. Though, the internet (in room; floors 1-3 it is) and breakfast were not free which was a draw back, the hotel made up for it. We walked everywhere downtown around Broadway Ave at all hours and felt safe. There are some homeless people it seems but they did not bug us. Also, on our shuttle back to the Airport we picked up people at the hotels we had thought about staying at and they were much further from Broadway Ave and Bridgestone Arena and the area did not seem as safe.

Cannot wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    414
    183
    49
    29
See reviews for
144
279
53
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

From check-in to check-out, staff was so awesome. It was my Mother's 81st birtday and front desk sent up wine and mixed nuts. Justin and the bell staff sent up a box of toffee with a nice note. Rooms have big windows for great view on 25th floor. Cushy beds and comforters. Bridge over street on 3rd floor hotel (4th floor in parking deck) made it easy in the rain. Located right around the corner from Ryman and all the music venues and bars. Country Music Hall of Fame is fabulous & not to be missed, located about 3 blocks over.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Visited Nashville as part of holiday trip around Tennessee and Kentucky, also took the opportunity to take in an NFL game. This hotel was just right to us, with excellent location just off Broadway and within walking distance of all the attractions of this part of Nashville. Comfortable rooms with a great view over the city. Breakfast was very good and so were all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

If you get the opportunity to "upgrade" to a corner room, don't be wowed by this prospect. It's not actually a corner room....at least not in my opinion. It's more of a hexagon shape. The bathroom was extra large which was nice but it took up most of the "corner". And the layout of the large bathroom was a poor design. Hard-to-find light switches, small shower/tub combo, no fan, etc. The bed was nice, but the room (and bathroom) was badly in need of renovation. It's just NOT worth the $220 price we paid. Marriott needs to come up off some of their profits and remodel this hotel. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stay here all the time for business. I travel all over the United States. In very expensive to moderate hotels. I get free internet everywhere. Lets face it....it doesn not cost the hotel anything. The Renaisaance charges $15 plus .... which I beleive to be robbery. At the most, the best hotel chrages 5$ or most often nothing. I think it is stingy of them. Starbucks in the lobby if you qwant a $5.00 coffee. Staff says to bad! Lobby is free and noisy as is the bar...music is blarring...if you go around the corner where it is quiet reception sucks.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tn
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This hotel was great! The beds are incredible, I didn't want to get up and check out and leave the bed behind! The hotel is extremely close to Broadway. We were able to go out and bar hop to our hearts content and stumble back with no problems whatsoever. Additionally, the hotel bar is really neat and the bartenders were great! The only complaint was the elevator. When you are tipsy and it takes off, you have to grab on or you'll fall. They are incredibly fast! But, after having to wait a while due to a large influx of conference attendees, I understand the need for speed as the faster the elevators go, the less wait time there is. Also, we had a room at the end of th hall by the elevator, so we heard a lot of noise from the hallway. I had no trouble sleeping or staying asleep however, so it wasn't that bad. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We were extremely impressed with your staff especially a young lady named Christie Smith. She above all was very helpful and seemed eager to help and assist us. My husband is handicapped and Mrs. Smith was eager and willing to asstist us when she saw us and was very sweet in doing so.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#5 Business Hotel in Nashville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#9 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.