We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it but pool is crowded and messy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Brookfield, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it but pool is crowded and messy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Loved our room-location is perfect to Broadway etc. Pool area had a lot of bachelorette parties going on so there were beer cans , towels, and food everywhere-my suggestion is to be a little bit more on top of that because you also have families staying there. room was really nice though-elevators took FOREVER though-that was a pain

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    414
    183
    49
    29
See reviews for
143
278
52
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I had opportunity to stay here in conjunction with a national convention two weeks ago. In spite of being full to capacity, every employee, from the restaurant wait staff to the front desk receptionists to the concierge, they all took time with us and never made us feel like nameless faces . They really went out of their way to show a personal interest even though the place was bustling! And our room was quiet! We decided to stay an extra two nights after the convention was over to do some additional sightseeing. The hotel staff displayed the same gracious hospitality and demeanor to us after the convention as well as during. The taxis are a little pricey but worth it if you aren't accustomed to walking up and down hills. I highly recommend the Renaissance as well as the sights.

Room Tip: We were close to the elevator bay, but our room was so quiet we never noticed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a mostly great stay. The staff was very good and the location can't really be beat. 1 block from the Ryman and 2 from the main strip. Many restaurants, bars, honky tonks, and more within short walking distance. Probably 8 blocks from the Riverfront. The parking garage across the street is only $12 per night if you self park vs. the $30 for the valet and the garage is connected via a skywalk called the bridge with a bar on it. The hotel was nice and clean though not quite up to the normal Renaissance standards that Marriott has. As many have wrote, the elevators were terribly slow but not the end of the world. All in all, I would stay again but I'm a bit surprised its a Renaissance and not a Marriott. The side of the hotel was mixed as well. Very good view of the strip but even on floor 22, we could hear some of the carry over music from the bars. Nothing too loud that it made much difference though. Worth a stay if you want to be downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made reservations several weeks in advance for their "club" floor. The rules were explained to us on Friday AM when we checked in for two nights (Open 6:30AM - 9:00AM and 5:30PM - 9:00PM).... When we went to the "Club" Friday afternoon we were informed that it was CLOSED ON THE WEEKEND. We insisted on a room-price reduction (which was granted, but only after significant persistance on our part).

In addition, we found the room safe was locked. When we called that in, a person arrived who said they couldn't unlock the some of their room safes, and this was one of them. When we spoke to the "hotel mamager" she went on at some length about how they were upgrading all their rooms and that problems like this would be dealt with as part of the upgrade. Apparently, she had NO CLUE why a current customer would wonder what difference that makes TODAY!

On Saturday AM, we depared the room at 09:45 AM, get it wasn't made up until after our return around 1:45PM. Egregious service.

We've been Marriott customers for over 30 years, but this astonishingly poor performace has changed that practice.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, however this hotel needs some updating. The carpets were stained and the walls and bathrooms needed some paint. Elevators were unbearably slow (one time I waited 10 minutes). The club lounge was full of children every time I went in (which in all the years I never seen that). Overall great for the location but when the Omni opens they will need to make some changes to keep people coming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice location but the price for this hotel is not what I expect from a Renaissance. The room was absolutely disgusting. This hotel needs a major renovation.
The breakfast buffet was ok. Ask for a 25% discount if you are a rewards member. Also don't let them charge you for internet if you are a rewards member too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very friendly ang helpful. Close to everything. Temp in hotel was somewhat erratic in the room. The staff at "The Bridge" restaurant were very pleasant and accommodating. Great fun to be with. Everyone on staff was very helpful and friendly. Great view of the city. One block from , Ryman, Broadway, Nissan center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nashville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#9 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.