We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #16 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I would stay Renaissance again because of two things: the staff and the location. All staff, from valet to front desk and concierge were really friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location. We stayed on the 20th floor and did experience some issues with water pressure in the morning, but it was addressed by the staff and it wasn't enough to deter me from staying here again. It's a little outdated, but nothing you can't get over.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    513
    201
    59
    32
See reviews for
170
367
60
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Renaissance Nashville Hotel and had a enjoyable visit. The hotel is part of the Nashville convention center complex, connected to the convention center from the lobby with easy indoor access, very convenient for those attending business at the convention center, a short walk in same building.

It is 5 short minutes walk to the very busy Broadway with many live music pubs, restaurants and tourist souvenir shops, we could walk to Jack's BBQ for lunch on Broadway and be back in 40 minutes. It is also next door to the Ryman Auditorium, the original Grand Ole Opry and the Bridgestone Arena where many concerts are held. The location is excellent for businesspeople and tourists. There is no business, traffic or people by the hotel, peace and quiet.

Taxi from/to airport is $25 flat rate. In room internet is $13.95 a day(too expensive, so everybody use their smartphones). Breakfast buffet is $16. Daily parking is $30.

Hotel offers excellent friendly service, always multiple staff at the front door ready to assist guests. Breakfast buffet on ground level is good quality selection and service to match. The best part of Renaissance Nashville is its Club Lounge on 24th floor, with very good free breakfast and coffee, excellent evening food and dessert with exceptional first class services by the 2 ladies, one of the best among all the Club Lounges we have visited.

Our room was on the 25th floor (top floor) facing the beautiful State Capital building, good size room with great view. Room is comfortable and clean but dated, the entire hotel looks dated but comfortable. We slept very well all night through. A major flaw is the very slow elevators, not all 5 are working and the wait can be quite long, some guests said they waited 10 minutes, it is a constant problem; there is a sign says they are modernizing the elevators but no sign of work being done.

Do not miss the wonderful Demo's Restaurant at Commerce at 3rd, 3 blocks (6 minutes walk) from the hotel, a great old restaurant for steak and pasta, very reasonable prices. Long line but moves rapidly, great food and great services. Unfortunately we discovered it on the last night, otherwise I am sure we would have visited several times on this trip.

One earlier review said Nashville is a heavy drinking town with openly intoxicated people, as non-alcohol drinkers, that review created a bad wrong impression Nashville for us. I do not agree, in our 5 days/4 nights stay we did not see heavy drinking nor any unruly intoxicated people on the street, even with live music pubs and big concerts during our stay, we did not see any heavy police presence nor was it needed. Maybe they attended events or frequented places where heavy drinking occurred. Nashville is a clean safe town with Southern hospitality, modern and efficient infrastructures, a great city.

Room Tip: 24th floor is club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We got this through Priceline great deal & upgraded once there to a corner king room. The bed is yummy no better way to describe it. The bedspreads are laundered upon check out so dont be afraid of wrapping yourself and getting cozy.
King bathroom was huge & handicapped ready. It was clean & a soft bathrobe is provided.
This is the perfect location for a night of honkytonk & moonshine its such a close walk.
Staff is fantastic, the elevators are slow so avoid check in/out time. Your in nashville chill listen to the lobby music enjoy the cucumber water & itll be there soon enough.
They are renovating the elevators. I would highly recommend naming your own price we got an amazing deal, even with upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Rooms were fine, comfortable good pillows soft bead. Had a bit of a hard time getting the room temp low enough. We had a convention here and the hotel is attached to the convention hall by a short walk- that was great. At $150+ a night you get an in house Starbucks and a couple of bars. Parking is extra per night (which is expensive) and Internet is $15 a night-yikes! Internet , anymore is like a sink (you have to wash your face) and should be part of the cost of the room. Seems like these big expensive hotels in metro areas could cut you a break and give you free Internet or parking- just a thought! Normally this drives me to hotels who do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My co-workers and had had the best dinner at the Commerce Street Grille on Wednesday, April 30, 2013. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable and the atmosphere was amazing!.. Harold Summer, Kenna and Cody did an amazing job taking care of all three of us. When we didn't finish our meal, they offered to box it up and send it to our room, they even had a refrigerator put in the room for us.

Room Tip: The views were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel was in a great location only blocks away from the action. This hotel needs some major updating and repairs. The room looked old and worn out but the worst part was the elevators. There were 6 elevators to support 25 floors but only half of the elevators were working. Every time we left our room we waited 5 minutes for an elevator to open that was already full of people. For the price of this hotel, Marriott should be ashamed of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We wouldn't stay here again. There simply isn't enough elevators to deal with the hotel crowds which means long waits. Valet parking during early evening was similarly annoying. Our room was small with very little room to unpack our family of four. Bathroom was average but missing a hair dryer. TV was full of static. The hotel had limited dining options given its large size. The pool was freezing!! We stayed on the 24th floor but still heard a lot of noise from outside. The only open outlet in the room was the bathroom.

On the plus side, the front desk staff presented as friendly and helpful. My little boys also loved the glass elevators despite the long wait for them. The hotel is in a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,853 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#9 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#10 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nashville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#8 Family Hotel in Nashville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and Nissan Stadium formerly LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.