We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nicer than any mid-range 3 star, but the staff are fantastic!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Getaways: Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“No nicer than any mid-range 3 star, but the staff are fantastic!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose this hotel because of an event at the attached convention centre. It is a large hotel and very busy. It is the hotel that hosts airline staff, NHL teams and other celebrities, and everything here is priced for people who are using expense accounts. Mandatory 20 percent gratuity PLUS a delivery fee for room service.

The elevators aren't working, so you have to budget an extra ten minutes minimum at peak times. The walls are paper thin, we could hear our neighbor on the phone or watching tv. Hallway noise was worse.

Rooms were fine. Nothing special. Nothing bad. The website makes the hotel look very swanky, but it is just average. The pool is small and cold.

The fitness centre was nice, but too small for the number of guests and quite busy at peak times.

Aveda toiletries. I like that. Bathrooms old. Towels nice and fluffy.

Good, friendly, helpful staff with big smiles and a great attitude. The female concierge doesn't really know Nashville. The valets know the city better and gave us fantastic guidance and directions. Starbucks staff very pleasant and housekeeping were very attentive.

One bit of non- hotel related advice? Make dinner reservations!!! There were hour long waits everywhere good downtown during the hockey games.

I had an expense account this trip, so whatever, but I wouldn't stay here again on my own dime. Just an average stay. The staff here make the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    359
    168
    46
    28
See reviews for
120
247
48
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had an impromptu trip to Nashville. We called multiple hotels and after spending 20 minutes on the phone with reservations, settled on a concierge level king room. We arrived to find an extremely chaotic and somewhat dirty lobby filled with convention attendees. A very nice bellman helped us up a back service elevator to our room due to the extreme elevator wait. We arrived to find an extremely small room with 2 queen beds jammed into it, certainly not something anyone would pay a premium rate for. We opted to leave the hotel, late at night with 2 small children. The front desk manager , Justin, had little flexibility to work with us due to the conventions. He did offer to call other hotels on our behalf which we declined. I would absolutely avoid this hotel unless attending a meeting there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNash... M, Manager at Renaissance Nashville Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
EastCoastGray-
I apologize we were unable to meet your travel accommodations while traveling through Nashville. There are times when conventions keep us very busy, at this time we do use a back of house elevators for our bellmen to help with the wait time. I am glad to hear our bellmen was nice and offered that service. We always try our best to accommodate non-convention guest, I am sorry we were unable to make your stay memorable.
Jennifer Frandsen-Manager Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Renaissance Hotel for MTAC 2013. The hotel is very accommodating towards this group. The staff is overall very friendly and accepting of this fanatic group. We ate at the hotel restaurant every night during the convention, because after vending all day, we needed a close yet yummy place to eat. Together, my husband and I tried nearly everything on the menu! I especially liked the bacon wrapped meatloaf, which our server, Kelly, informed us was the chef’s personal recipe. We really enjoyed getting to know Kelly over the weekend. She served us at last years convention and remembered us. She supplied a relaxed and caring environment after dealing with hundreds of excited youth all day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect spot for everything you want to do in Nashville.
Pros: Location. wonderful beds, pay the extra for the vip floors. Amazing night time snack is a meal, and wonderful breakfast.
Cons. elevators SLOW, Valet is disorganized and trying to get into it or get your car is a mess!
I would stay again but self park.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have been staying at the Renaissance Nashville for the past eight years at least twice a year and have found the staff to be excellent on every visit. On my first visit, I met a waitress in the Bridge Lounge who over the years has become a friend. There are other staff members that recognize me from previous visits who acknowledge me with each visit. There is not a member of the staff that treats you as if you are someone special; I may not be a Country Celebrity but when I stay at the Renaissance Nashville that i the way the staff makes me feel. The rooms offer all of the amenity anyone could expect and I have always had a room with a great view of the city.

Room Tip: If you are going to Nashville for CMA Fest or any other time, I recommend requesting a higher room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I always enjoy staying at Renaissance Hotel-Nashville when I am in town for business or pleasure.

The staff is outstanding. Most importantly, Jessica Fry in the hotel's restaurant provides excellent service and is always smiling (something that feels good after a long day).

I encourage the staff to keep up the great work!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent traveler and a loyal Marriott customer, i feel uniquely qualified in making the recommendation of this hotel to any person traveling to the Nashville area. I have had the pleasure of staying with this property for almost 8 years on a frequent basis and would not blink an eye in staying there another 8 years continuously. The rooms are above average and make me look forward to laying down after a long day on the road traveling. The staff, however, is the highlight of this awesome property. I have truly never felt so taken care of, from the Front Desk staff, specifically Leah, Stanca, and James are always willing to more than accomodate any and every request. The staff at the Bridge bar, specifically Shawn, Zack, Derek, and Judy, have done there part to make me feel like a part of the Renaissance family. The level of profound care by the Concierge staff, specifically Debra and Catherine, has given me a sense of southern hospitalilty that lends to a down home feel in an upscale hotel.

If you are traveling to Nashville, your first stop or call for a room SHOULD absolutely be the Renaissance Hotel. You will not be dissapointed and will ABSOLUTELY leave a dedicated Renaissance Customer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#6 Business Hotel in Nashville
#11 Family Hotel in Nashville
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.