We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Fridge, No Microwave, $14 for internet $5 for water, no suite” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“No Fridge, No Microwave, $14 for internet $5 for water, no suite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was stunned that this is a 5 star hotel. There was no refrigerator or microwave. Most nice hotels I stay in are suites, these are one room. They have a bottle of Evian in the bathroom for $5. Most hotels have free internet...not this one $13.95. They don't put a USA today paper in front of your room...you have to go get it...the chair I sat in was falling apart. Th tv was small.. There was hardly any drawer space for clothes. They charge for parking. They had a coffe maker without a pot.The receptionist was really nice.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    414
    183
    49
    29
See reviews for
144
279
53
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at this hotel with the first visit on a special in August. We are paying substantially more this time -$239. The location is an easy walk to Broadway, Bridgestone, and the river park. It is a busy Marriott property given it is next door to the convention center.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Renaissance in Nashville. We visit Nashville a couple of times a year, usually for concerts and we've stayed in several hotels in the area. The location is fabulous in that it is a short walk to the Ryman theater, music row and Bridgestone Arena. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There were some Halloween events going on in the ballrooms and we were never bothered by throngs of party-goers or noise. We chose to self-park because valet is $24 a day. The deck is across the street and connected to the hotel by a cross-walk--I would have appreciated a sign indicating that the parking deck elevators were out of order so that we would have tried to park closer to the cross-walk. The decor of the hallways and rooms was a little dated and for $234 a night, I had hoped for in-room refrigerators and a little more space in the room. After the concert, we ordered room service pizza and a bowl of soup--both were terrible! Pizza delivery would have been much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've stayed in just about every hotel in Nashville, and here many times over the years. My first exposure was hanging out in Hospitality suites with some great musicians for the International Bluegrass Music Awards, the IBMA's that untilr ecently happend at the renaissance and were fun.. and made me think the place was a bit exotic.. it's not bad, a bit over priced for the standard of the room was often times my thought but the view made me feel up in the sky. I don't think the windows opened and I often wondered if the air int he room was recirculated, but somehow looking south over town from a high cloor or north towards the capitol was satisfying.. the lobby is big, and the whole vibe depends upon what convention is going on. One time it was a midget convention, and it was fascinating walking through... so pick your weekend.. the Hermitage is nicer, and there are other choices downtown, but it can be fun to be part of the action there at the Renaissance. YOu can't be closer to Broadway and the Rhyman, and there is a bit of a pool as well, kind of horse shoe-ed in.. parking is a bit odd but it's valet so it works out...

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great hotel in a great location - it is within walking distance of the nightlife on Broadway and several great restaurants. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. The rooms are adequate size and clean and the bed is very comfortable. Depending on the location of the room, you can get a great view of the Capitol. I had a small meal in the bar/lounge late one night and it was surprisingly very good. I was there for a conference and did not have to leave the hotel to attend any of the meetings because the conference center is connected to the hotel. Unless you get a special rate, the rate can be a little high but it is comparable to the other hotels within the downtown area. I left an article of clothing in my room upon check out and I called and they shipped it to me - I had to pay the shipping costs but there were still very accommodating and I received the package within a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is centrally located downtown close to the Ryman and many other attractions. The lobby area is nice, and the front desk people were helpful. However, the room seemed dated and tired. The carpet had stains, and there was a subtle but real musty smell. The bathroom was outdated. All of this wouldn't be so bad if the rates reflected these inconsistencies. Such is not the case, though. They ask for top dollar because of the location, but the room condition is not in line with the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I travel to Nashville three to four times a year and this is our favorite place to stay. It is always clean and very nice inside. It is in an excellent location for walking down to Broadway to check out the city. The bar is located on the bridge connecting the hotel to the parking garage and is one of the coolest I've been in. There are windows that give panoramic views of the city on either side and the colors are bright and cheery. The drinks are good too. I always like to stay on a floor higher up so we can enjoy the beautiful view of the city during the day and especially at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#5 Business Hotel in Nashville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#9 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.