We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to downtown hotspots” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
RALEIGH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very convenient to downtown hotspots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel is right around the corner from Broadway, where there are many joints playing live music almost anytime of day. It is across the street from Bridgestone Arena and just 2 blocks from the Country Music Hall of Fame. Aside from cowboy boot shops and an American Apparel, though, there are no places to shop within walking distance. Though close to the action, the hotel is quiet. My room was clean with a very comfortable bed and down comforter. There is a shuttle that runs from the Nashville airport to the hotel, which was convenient. There is a nice, spacious hotel bar with contemporary decor and a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    522
    202
    59
    32
See reviews for
177
370
63
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel is attached to the Nashville Conference Center which makes it very convenient for large meetings, especially when the weather is bad. I do not know how the room rates compare with other hotels in Nashville but I have been in much nicer rooms at lower prices in Marriott properties in Baltimore and Seattle. I have the usual gripe about having to pay 15 dollars a day for below average internet service in the rooms. Why is it that hotel chains that charge half the prices of the Marriott hotels can offer free internet but the large hotels cannot. Probably they cater more to the expense account crowd. Anyway, the staff is great but the rooms are small and a bit worn. There is minimal space for parking at check-in and valet parking is expensive. The self-park option (8 dollars a day) works well and if you park on the 4th level you can walk directly to the hotel on an enclosed bridge. The city library is great and there is an entrance on the same floor of the parking garage as the hotel entrance. Great location! Very near Ryman Auditorium and plenty of great places for food and music on Broadway. Also very close to Puckett's which offers great pulled pork barbecue and other tasty food at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I recently stayed here for a conference, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. For the purposes of busy conference trips, it's great to stay at hotels like this that are associated with convention centers, especially when you often have 7am meetings to start the day. The hotel is extremely nice and modern, and rooms are comfortable, as expected from this chain. They have a spacious fitness room, and a modern bar on the 3rd floor that has pretty decent lunch offerings. The Starbucks in the lobby is also a helpful addition! Location-wise, the hotel is right in the center of the downtown area, so you can't go wrong if you feel like wandering around to take in the nashville scene - if you're a music lover, there's plenty to suit your needs on Broadway. I couldn't hear any noise from the city in my room, but some of my friends who stayed in rooms overlooking browadway did complain that they could hear the music all night, so consider asking for a room away from that area overlooking Broadway if you're staying at the hotel and prefer a quiet night! The only problem I had was getting internet in my room - I'd say 9 out of every 10 attempts I made were unsuccessful. I spoke to the hotel staff and they told me that due to the number of people staying at the hotel, they were having bandwidth-coping-problems! Internet in the rooms was at least free, so I wasn't paying for the frustration, but it still seemed odd to me! they do have internet stations near the Starbucks in the lobby, as well as in the 3rd floor bar, so at least you can access it there if necessary too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Broadway music if you prefer a quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The Nashville Renaissance by Mariott is a slightly older hotel just a very short walk off Broadway and the Ryman Auditorium. If youa re in town for a concert or to spend some time partying on Music Row, this is a perfect location.

The front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. She was great with recommendations for food and even went the extra mile to suggest a local breakfast spot if we were "looking for something outside of the hotel." I thought this was great since they would usually push the hotel food and not want you to go out and explore the local restaurants. It didn't hurt that her suggestion - Puckett's - was amazing! We ate breakfast there one day and lunch the next it was so good! The day we were checking out, I inquired at the front desk about a PC and printer to print our boarding passes. The woman working pointed me to the kiosk, but mentioned that it worked great for everything but Delta. Figures! But no worry - she offered to print our passes right there and in a moment I was on my way. It was no problem and I didn't even have to ask. Nice folks!

Our room was spacious and clean and comfortable. We had a great view of Nashville. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The hallways and decor of the hotel are nice too with music-themed carpet and chocolate sculptures. Some of it is a little dated - but certainly not worn out or old feeling.

I had the opportunity for a quick soak in the hot tub and the whole work out room, hot tub and pool area were really nice. Strange how high up the bench n the jacizzi was, but it was nice.

We opted out of the valet parking and parked in the ramp across the street. at $8 a day it was a far better deal for us, especially since we only really needed our car once before we left for the airport.

The one thing that was an issue for us was that the walls seem a little thin. In the mornings and evenings we could hear people in the adjacent rooms talking and their TVs. They weren't being loud, and it didn't go real late, but it was noticeable. It wouldn't keep us from going back - just something worth mentioning. Also - Wifi is an outrageous $14+ a day. That is a shame.

In conclusion, this is a great property in a great location in downtown Nashville. It's pricey for sure, but the proximity and customer service can't be beat. We would definately consider coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Follette
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville for a work related trip. Upon entering the hotel, my immediate impression was a positive one, which made the next few nights seem like a nice getaway. After leaving the hotel, the best I can say is that it is "just another hotel". The room was typical, the TV was nice, the bed was ok, the pillow was a rock. The walls are paper thin, for I heard every conversation the woman next door had while she was on the phone. If you are looking to use the internet while you stay, you have two choices: use the two computers in the lobby for free, or pay $14 a night for wifi....I'm pretty sure that should be a crime. On the plus side, the staff was friendly, the pool and workout area was nice, the elevators are really fast, and they have a Starbucks on site if you are into that type of thing. You add all these things up, divide by a weird odor in the halls, and you get a rating of three. Not the best, but not the worst....if you need a hotel close to downtown Nashville...this one will work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Overall the stay was good. I was in town on business and chose this hotel because of it's location to where I was working. The room was clean and neat. I stayed on the 19th floor which gave a wonderful view of the Capitol. The bathroom was fine I thought the water pressure was weak but it was 19 floors up. The room was quiet. The hotel is a little dated but well kept overall. It is $$$ but everything downtown is. Parking is bad in downtown Nashville and it cost 8.00 self park after 6 pm across the street. The hotel is located just off broadway and is definitely in walking distance to all the attractions in that area as well as painters alley. It would be a long walk to Lp field.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed three nights for a conference and had a good experience. The hotel and conference center are attached so easy to get to. The room was clean and spacious and the staff was helpful. There were good restaurants, shops and music all around. The "strip" is about three blocks away and the country music hall of fame a few more blocks past that.

Room Tip: high floor facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,975 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#9 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nashville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#7 Family Hotel in Nashville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and Nissan Stadium formerly LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.