We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby and location, but rooms weren't anything special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Nashville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice lobby and location, but rooms weren't anything special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here Saturday night because of the proximity to the U2 concert at the Vanderbilt Stadium. We were happy our room was ready 2 hours before check in, and the staff was friendly. However, when I got to our room it reeked of cigarette smoke. I assumed I had been put in a smoking room since I didn't think to ask when I checked in. When I called the front desk, they told me that all their rooms were nonsmoking, and they were happy to give me another room. They apologized and sent a bellman right up with new keys. The next room didn't smell of smoke, but there were several large stains on the carpet. Another minor issue was that there weren't outlets on the lamps like most hotels have to make charging devices easier. We stayed at the Marriott at the airport the night before for half the price, and the rooms were much cleaner and more spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    414
    183
    49
    29
See reviews for
144
279
52
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times.

If you have a choice, go with a high floor on the North side of the building for quiet sleep. South side low floor for a feeling of the nightlife.

If you qualify or pay an upgrade for club floor, you will find a great service staff, knowledgable about attractions and daily local events. Good coffee, and plenty of selection above and beyond the ussual continental spread.

Parking, don't buy the hype about using the skywalk for easy access. $30 for parking is bull, walk a block and pay $4.

If you have anything going on in the convention center, this is the hotel of choice. Anything tourist is at most 4 blocks away, you can walk everywhere in the city from here. Convention Center, bars and clubs of Broadway, Stadium, Arena, Hall of Fame, state house, Ryman. It's all visable from here.

Rooms clean, internet strong, hallways quiet, flat panels with connection box. Food Drink and entertainment in house and right outside the door.

Only the Hermitage is worth paying more to stay at in Nashville.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel from Sunday, June 26th through Thursday, June 30th 2011.
I am a Marriott Platinum Elite Member (highest level), so I got upgraded to the 24th Floor which is the Concierge / Executive Level.
I stayed in a Corner Executive Room.
The furnishings, although dated, were nice. The room itself was spacious and equipped with a very nice flat screen TV. Someone had written a prior review stating that "one has to pay for standard TV channels". This is absolutely NOT true! The television channel selections were quite good and of course free.
The bathroom was extremely spacious. It had 2 marble counters and it too was equipped with another (smaller) flat screen TV.
The shampoo / soap amenities were very nice. They are of the brand - AVEDA. The Rosemary Mint shampoo was invigorating and wonderful!
My king sized bed was extremely comfortable and was adorned with the plush goosedown feather bed and pillows that one may expect at a luxury hotel.
There were bottles of complimentary water (as this was the Executive Floor) as well as a beautiful plush robe that was protected by a plastic cover. This was nice as there was no doubt that the robe had been dry cleaned.
The entire room was extremely well appointed and had been thoroughly clean.
Everything sounds pretty good so far, right? So why the "Poor" rating?
Because the room REAKED of mold! I called the hotel Management (they were extremely friendly and concerned) and had me check out 4 different rooms. All smelled of mold / mildew! My room was the "lesser of the evils" so I decided to stick with it. In retrospect, I really should have checked out of this hotel and book a completely different property. My mistake!
I then noticed that it was not just the guestrooms that smelled, it was everywhere in the hotel. From the moment you enter the lobby, it hits you. The air conditioning system just pumps out this gross mold smell throughout the entire hotel.
I don't know if this is due to the terrible flood they had a year ago or what but I do know that it is a major problem.

PROS - Great location! Hotel is in close proximity to major Nashville attractions, shops and restaurants. The conceirge lounge was one of the best. Deborah and Andrew in the evening were extremely energetic and accomodating. The food presentations were outstanding! The staff was extremely friendly and courteous.

CONS - MOLD smell everywhere. If you have severe allergies like I do - please do not stay here! The only thing that got me through my entire 4 night stay was I had to go to a local store and buy extra strength Febreeze. I would then repeatedly spray my entire room down, especially the ventillation ducts. I also would repeatedly turn off the air conditioning as it was constantly blowing out that gross mold smell! Thank God for Febreeze (however, we all know this is just a temporary fix). This hotel needs a renovation and desperately needs someone to clean / replace their entire HVAC system and irradicate the mold!

I really wanted to give this property a higher rating. I really did. It actually saddens me that such a nice property with so much potential is overshadowed by something that could be remedied.

I am going to write a letter to the General Manager of this hotel and to Corporate Marriott. Maybe they will get their act together and at least clean their HVAC system.

Unfortunately, I will never stay at this property again unless the aforementioned has been properly addressed / resolved. I cannot recommend this property and I actually encourage others to stay somewhere else until Marriott addresses this issue.

Room Tip: Become a Marriott Elite Member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Would have given this four stars based on the atmosphere, ammeneties, condition of property, etc. It was nice, definitely clean, but not incredible. However, the concierge staff-- specifically a gentleman named Mike-- made all the difference. Prior to planning a bachelorette party, our trip planner called ahead and was lucky enough to get Mike on the telephone. Before we even arrived, we had a ride from the airport arranged to pick us up (we flew in on two separate flights-- he hit the airport twice). Mike went so far beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had the best trip and the best stay possible. He made sure that they brought a mini-fridge to our hotel room, that we had rides to and from certain places. He even called to make sure we were awake so we didn't miss our flight home. He was extremely kind and such a gentleman. He was the best example of southern hospitality we could have asked for. Also- the breakfast buffet was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Attended a conference at this hotel in June 2011. Location is suburb, walk to honky tonk clubs, concert hall, public library next door, lots of excellence restaurants, and Country Hall of Fame, and a panera bread in next block.. 20 minute ride to Opry. Parking right across the street at $4.00 per day. Conference space excellent. Rooms nice; had one with a view of the city in front, but other friends faced a building so make sure you face the library. Lots of elevators; never waited long. Accommodated trying to get rooms together with friends. Housekeeping was late but wonderful with pleasant smiles and greeting and accommodating with extra towels, soaps, etc. in and out quickly. valet excellence with car; bellmen local and willing to chat about what to see. Reasonable rates for groups; confirmed several times during the months between booking. Did not use it but has a pool.

Negatives: inconsistent staff friendliness; check in was smooth, that person was lovely. But when I asked when our room would be cleaned, since it was already 3 pm., I was greeted with "well we were full last night and busy" and that was it! No apologies, no looking up when it might be cleaned. She was horrible. In-house restaurant is mediocre, limited menu, not fancy at all for such a large hotel, small starbucks inside but line was always 20 deep and they ran out of stuff by 10. Not a lot of seating space in lobby at all and it was not fancy in any way. So you'll need to eat elsewhere, local food is better.

Room Tip: Ask fo room facing library, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Beautiful facility, wonderful staff, spacious rooms, perfect location. Loved Nashville and would pick the Renaissance again in a heartbeat. Food was good too.

Parking is across the street, $8 per day. No resort fees, and a Starbucks on premises.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

We were in for the cma/fan fest and had an absolute blast at this hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by daniel (valet guy) and he couldn't have been more hospitable! Front desk staff and concierge were superb too.

Anytime we needed directions around town the guys outside were there to help and gave us great recommendations for local spots!

Room was great, view was
incredible. Breakfast in the lobby/1st floor restaurant was great as well. Great stay. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Nashville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Nashville Hotel

Address: 611 Commerce St, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#5 Business Hotel in Nashville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#10 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Nashville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Nashville Hotel is a perfect destination for those looking to stay in the heart of downtown Nashville, Tenn. Discover hidden gems within the hotel, including newly renovated rooms, elevators and indoor pool, fitness center, live music at the Bridge Lounge, and local eats at the Commerce Street Grille. Our Navigators can assist with sightseeing plans or point you to Bridgestone Arena and LP Field, both within walking distance. Plan your meeting or event with us, too! Our convenient attached meeting space options including 30,000 feet of newly acquired space. Book a meeting with us and receive personal Marriott Rewards bonuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Nashville
Nashville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Nashville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.