We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Save Saved
You added Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #17 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First stay at a Lowes and last. I paid extra for an upgrade to the concierge floor, only to find out that the lounge was close due to lack of staffing. They hotel offered free breakfast but again no staff to Handel guest. Restaurant the evening before had limited staff, had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink and the bar was full of dirty plates. On a separate issue I had to call the front desk for a maintenance issue, they placed me on hold, but I hung up after 5 minutes waiting. Follow up is not a strong point.

All in I was disappointed with the lack of service and would have had a better experience at the Hampton Inn where I would pay a budget price for luxury service vs. paying for luxury and receiving budget service.

PS you should not expect in room coffee. There is a Keurig but K cups where not provided.

Room Tip: Bring your own wifi. Hotel provided wifi requires you to re-login every 10 minutes. What a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    88
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
60
63
6
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Let's start by saying Nashville is amazing !!!! The people are incredible, and gracious at every turn. My wife and I were in Nashville to drop my daughter off at Vanderbilt for her freshman year.
And the university is also tremendous. Now on to this just redone hotel.

1. The relationship to Vanderbilt University seems incidental. Nothing special was offered in my mind for a hotel that borders the campus. The welcome sign was on an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper.

2. I thought I was paying 200.00 per night only to learn that for check-in weekend the hotel raises the prices to 300.00 per night. Not on any day or any night is this hotel worth 300.00 per night

3. The internet service is awful in the rooms of the hotel. I finally gave up even trying. I asked the front desk if they could offer assistance, and they recommended that I speak with the male concierge, who looked bothered that I was asked and basically said that was not his area.

4. I asked for reservations to the best three restaurants in Nashville, and the concierge included their in house restaurant, which is a dark interior room that also serves breakfast and lunch. I cancelled the reservation when I say one table seated at 6 pm. They should disclose that they are recommending their own restaurant. BTW be sure to book Etch restaurant while in Nashville......completely amazing meal.

5. The TV was broken and the in house technician came up and also said it didnt know why some channels were working and others were not. So rather than bringing me a new TV, I had NO TV

6. I asked for a high floor, away from the elevator room. I got stuck on the crappy 3rd Floor in the middle of the hall due to the way Loews segments their room quality. Well with no upgrade at 300.00 per night, I will check out the value proposition at the Hampton Inn, which is across the street.

7. Service in the restaurant across 3 breakfasts was POOR. No one seems to know what the other person is doing. I have never seen so many bodies and such poor service.

8. The garage charge is high for a regional market hotel.

9. When leaving, two of the four valets did NOT know the way to the Nashville airport. Amazing.

10. I travel 150 days a year and entertain clients for a living. This is a very disappointing Loews property, and the staff does not seem to be operating as a team.

Room Tip: Dont take the first room they offer
See more room tips
Green Features: I do not care about the hotels environmental policies. They have alot of basic hotel mechanics to get right before they worry about sustainability
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nicely refurbished lobby, with good break out spaces for group conversations and power points with USB everywhere. Very handy!

Club level okay too.

Room service is better than most hotels of this class.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's a Loews hotel for crying out loud. The location was excellent, the staff was courteous and respectful. The lobby looked great and modern (it even smelled nice for crying out loud). If you've stayed at a Loews hotel before you know exactly what to expect. It's a very high bar but the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville meets that very high standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orono
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We usually stay at the Hutton when visiting our daughter at Vanderbilt, but the Loew's Hotel had a lower rate. The location can't be beat - directly across from the newly finished dorms. The lobby is large and lovely. The bar is very cool and we enjoyed it on two occasions. The room is similar to the Hutton. It is very clean with nice large modern bathroom. The bed was cozy. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Greetings threekidsplustwo,
Thank you for the review of your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We would like to also thank you for choosing Loews and we hope that you experience many more stays with us. Please be sure to inquire if our Vanderbilt Rate is available when making future reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Rergards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great concierge, not so knowledgeable front desk staff(unaware of local places to purchase tylenol etc.), Shuttle only goes 5 miles from hotel, broken shower, broken iron, shotty wifi, upgraded for king room with view of parking lot(thanks front desk). Pro: AMAZING room service, AMAZING room service staff, restaurant also amazing and great servers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Greetings Nikki O,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We would like to apologize for the few mishaps you experienced with your accommodations regarding your in room amenities as well as the view from your room. We are glad to know that our Concierge Team and Room Service department were able to improve your guest perception. We will certainly share your feedback with our Team.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was beyond my expectations. The staff showed great customer service and treated you like royalty. When I return to this area I will be staying here again. Very clean in every area!! Loved it

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Beth E,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of your visit at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your accommodations and that our team was able to make your stay supremely comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Address: 2100 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nashville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#10 Business Hotel in Nashville
#20 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, the only AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Tennessee for over 28 consecutive years. The Loews Hotel in Nashville is your home base in Music City, where legendary Loews service meets true Southern hospitality.Our 340 spacious guest rooms, including 14 chart-topping suites, are both energetic and inviting – just like our charming city. Club Level rooms feature additional amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge. Loaded with amenities including complimentary fitness center access and an accent wall of Designer Denim Blue, both families and business travelers alike have the space they need to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, TravelClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Nashville
Nashville Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.