We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoa!!! Not that spectacular.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Save Saved
You added Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #16 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Whoa!!! Not that spectacular.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were on a road trip through Memphis and Nashville with our fourteen year old son. I'm a hotel snob in that I like clean hotels. The Hutton was full so the next best was Loews or Marriott Vanderbilt, so I chose Loews having never stayed at one of their hotels. This hotel has good location to driveable good eating and entertainment. The hotel looks like an older hotel updated and the staff was nice, but the service when you are in your room is non existent. I went downstairs to get a key the wet bar fridge so I could put some milk in it and front desk person said "I'll have a refrigerator brought to your room now so you don't have to do that" and this was ten O'clock at night. So we wait an hour and no refrigerator and then we go to sleep. The next morning we decide to sleep in and promptly at 9am housekeeping is rapping on the door wanting in! We go out for the day and return and they have cleaned the room but have not replaced the cups or coffee we have used so I call housekeeping and they say they'll have it up to our room. An hour later nothing. I call the front desk and ask at 11pm and then about 30min later the maintenance man is bringing out coffee cups and coffee. The cost of this hotel exceeds it's service. I wish I had gone with the marriott.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Halokla,

Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns regarding your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. At Loews Hotels we care about customer satisfaction and listen to the opportunities brought to our attention by the guests. We would like to apologize for the multiple inconveniences you experienced during your first visit to a Loews Hotel. We would hope that another stay with us would give a chance to show you what our brand has to offer in comfort and luxury.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    69
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
55
5
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Lowes Vanderbilt Hotel. The room was stylish and had great views of the downtown Nashville skyline. Bathrooms looked brand new and had good amenities. Excellent room service and a very good hotel restaurant and bar named Masons. Convenient location near Vanderbilt, Music Row and midtown business district.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings nevernsq,

Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. You are correct that the in-room bathrooms have recently been upgraded and a handful of our guestrooms have a view of the Nashville skyline. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed both our in-room dining and Mason’s restaurant. We would love to have you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights there in July and was pleased with that hotel. Rooms are nice and comfortable, employees very helpful and the bar is really beautiful! Got a good price on Priceline and would go back there if needed. The only thing is the location which is a bit far from downtown, about 30 minutes walking (taxi at about 7-8$)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Simon B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We are located in Mid-town though just a few minutes from downtown. If you are not interested in taking a cab we offer a complimentary hotel shuttle to guests needing to go within a three mile radius. We would love to have you back when staying in Nashville again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel for a week in early July. It was our first trip to Nashville, and the entire experience was wonderful from the moment we first arrived. The bellmen were always prompt and hospitable, checking to see if we needed directions whenever we were heading out and asking how our day had been when we returned. Estelle, who works at the concierge desk in the lobby, was incredibly knowledgeable of where to go, very helpful with making reservations, and always pleasant to chat with. We stayed on the Club Level, and our room was well appointed. Moreover, perhaps the best part of our stay was our interactions with the staff who work in the Club Lounge. In the evenings, Miguel Torres was simply fantastic; he treated us and all the other guests with a sincere graciousness that is rare to come by. And in the mornings, Jamie Peek was cheerful, sociable, and glad to assist us in any way she could.

Our solitary complaint was that the elevators seemed to need some servicing or updating.

Nevertheless, we have nothing but great things to say about all of the people who work at this hotel. Over the next two years, we will be traveling to Nashville frequently, and we plan to return to the Loews again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings Chris C,

Thank you for your great comments of your first visit to the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We are glad to hear your interactions with our hotel Team were well met and that you enjoyed the Team from our Concierge Department both in the lounge and the lobby. Please note your feedback from you and other guests concerning our hotel elevators has been heard and we are in the process of upgrading them. Since you plan on traveling to the Loews Vanderbilt within the coming months be sure to become a part of our loyalty program, YouFirst. You can find membership details listed on all of our Loews Hotels websites.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently were on a road trip back to our home and decided to spend the night in Nashville which is about half way. We made a reservation at the Loews Vanderbilt since a couple of months before we had a great experience at the Loews Atlanta. When we arrived, we decided to valet. They must have been short staffed with a full hotel as it took six or seven minutes to get the car taken care of.

My wife made the reservation through Expedia and got a "deal" on a room. It turned out to be on the third floor over looking the parking garage. That didn't bother us, but it is something to note in future trips. The room was clean, a comfortable king bed and a nice bathroom. Wireless was going to be $10 per day, so we passed. In this day an age, it would be like asking $10 a day if you wanted a sink in your room. Internet is part of life and hotels should provide it free, especially when we were spending $300 a night for the room. Internet is no longer exotic. We had a limited amount of time and walked the beautiful Vanderbilt campus which is across the street.

We realized that we failed to get a key for the minibar and hoping to have a nightcap later, we stopped by the front desk to ask for one. they were out but said they would send one up. It never arrived.

We had drinks in the lobby bar. I know this is a generational thing, but we were able to find two seats where the televisions were not a distraction. Our waitress was great and took car to check on us. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant -- Masons. There were no obvious choices for my wife who is trying to avoid dairy and red meat. However, the server was great and worked with the chef to come up with a tasty fish and salad. I had oso buco which was wonderful. Noise level was fine, staff great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Thomas S,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel during your road trip returning home. We apologize for the inconvenience of the in room internet fee but please note it is complimentary in all of our public spaces, on our Premium Concierge Level, and as a perk of being a part of our Loews Hotels loyalty program, YouFirst. Despite the few mishaps we hope you enjoyed your visit with us as you did with Loews Atlanta.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Loewss Vanderbilt Plaza is our favorite hotel in Nashville because of its charming location and the great service, especially on the club floor. We have visited the Club Floor for the last five years and the best thing about it is the host, Miguel Torres. He is a delight and remembers our family every time. He has done magic tricks for our son and always greets our daughter as if she were royalty. Mr. Torres is truly a treasure at the Vanderbilt Plaza. The club lounge is newly renovated and they now include complimentary wine & beer and great evening snacks and a lovely hot breakfast spread.

My husband stays at the hotel for business several times a year and we also stay there for family weekends four or five times a year. With their loyalty program, we upgrade to a suite, so that our teens have a room with a bath and so do we. At the platinum level, they provide a $100 food credit which fed our kids room service all weekend. What's not to like about the Vanderbilt Plaza?

We walked to Centennial Park and rented bikes. We all had a ball and will be back in October, November and December.

Room Tip: With kids, consider a suite. Some of them are huge and all of them are two rooms with a bath on each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings Memphisgirl99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your family’s most recent stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. Also, thank you for being a part of the Loews Hotels loyalty program, YouFirst. We will send Miguel your kind regards as his charm is well known amongst our frequent guest that stay on our Premium Concierge Level. We look forward to your family’s return in the upcoming months and many years to come.

Safe Travels and Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel has a great reception lobby with spacious seating areas and a nice bar. All the staff were pleasant and helpful especially the concierge staff who arranged the free shuttle limo for us to go downtown. We also took a trip to the Green Hills Mall by free limo arranged by concierge as the hotel car could not travel outside a radius of three miles. Couldn't believe this was free. We just rang to be picked up after shopping and also got a guided tour of the lovely gated properties nearby. The hotel room was very comfortable as was the bed and pillows. We tried the breakfast but were not impressed. The menu choice was limited. I much prefer a buffet style where you can choose what you want for a set price. The hot oats were nearly cold and the eggs benedict came at the same time so that was cold by the time I got round to eating it. The dinner choices were not good with an attempt at fine dining. The free WiFi worked well in the lobby but was very poor in the room even though we had to pay for this. It kept losing signal and was very slow.
I missed not having a pool to relax round and no adequate outside seating area or terrace to relax on. The property would benefit from a coffee shop.
Apart from these little niggles I would definitely stay here again as all the positives outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello MARTIN D,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We would like to apologize about your dining experience during breakfast and the functionality of the in room internet. We have since upgraded our internet service to a company that provides faster access, especially on multiple devices. The Concierge is great about accommodating guest with their transportation needs giving the best options available. Also please note for future stays Mason Bar offers a coffee cart in the early morning hours with a grab and go station to meet the needs of hotel guests that are in a hurry to start their day. Thank you again for staying at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Address: 2100 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Nashville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#10 Business Hotel in Nashville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, the only AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Tennessee for over 28 consecutive years. The Loews Hotel in Nashville is your home base in Music City, where legendary Loews service meets true Southern hospitality.Our 340 spacious guest rooms, including 14 chart-topping suites, are both energetic and inviting – just like our charming city. Club Level rooms feature additional amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge. Loaded with amenities including complimentary fitness center access and an accent wall of Designer Denim Blue, both families and business travelers alike have the space they need to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Nashville
Nashville Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.