We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the Vanderbilt campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the Vanderbilt campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Take home points:
1. Good hotel, typical Holiday Inn
2. Basic workout facility with decent quality cardio equipment
3. On-site dining is average with good live entertainment
4. Would return or recommend to a friend

Stayed one night prior to an interview. Parking in front and rear of facility, seemed adequate overall. Front staff was friendly, and I waited about 10 minutes to check-in due to one person ahead of me. Room was on the 11th floor and was single king, clean and adequate for all my needs. WiFi worked well and no problems with bandwidth for standard surfing/emailing. Dinner in on-site restaurant was average and had live entertainment, though I did sit on the patio for about 15 minutes without service before I went inside. Iron worked well and water pressure for shower was good. Workout facility was small, but typical and the equipment was better quality than I was expecting. Checked out using express check out, which required you to sign the charges sheet and leave key in the room, which was nice when needing to keep a schedule. Would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    213
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
110
128
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Valley, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When I went down to the lobby this morning at 6:45 to get a cup of coffee, I was told by the desk clerk that complimentary coffee was available from 4:00 to 6:00! (When I told him that the Guest services directory says 6:00 am to 9:00am, he told me I could have coffee, but I would have to pay. We paid $185.75 to stay here for one night, and they can't give me a cup of coffee! Outrageous.
Other than that the hotel is nice but this experience reminded me why I stopped staying at Holiday Inns.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you want hospitality. Back of the hotel is quieter if you decide to stay any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to improve the quality of our product and service that we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to change your perception of our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I cant believe the rate I paid for this small room, almost $300 for a double room with full size beds..... I was told that we were getting queen beds and the rooms would sleep six... how then do we have people sleeping on the floor? When I voiced my concern to the manager she told me I could pay for a rollaway... talk about your customer service. This is not downtown, so not near any nightlife, there was hair all over our comforter, I was told that my concerns about the room size had to be taken up with the people I booked with through expedia, well there was no help there....I keep getting the response, there is nothing we can do, im encouraging all of our party to give you all the rating you derserve, 1's. Ive never in my life been so disappointed in a hotel in my life.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for you review. We are currently researching your comment in regard to Expedia. Our rooms are not designed to accommodate 6 people, so we will correct that information on the Expedia site. Your additional concerns have been shared with the various departments in our hotel, and will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Distinctly average. Seamless check-in, spotlessly clean, rooms were average. Hotel staff were polite. Music every night produced by wannabe songwriters, which has nothing to do with country music and the majority of which we found to be quite dreadful.

There is a free shuttle which will take you within 3 mile of the hotel and one driver in particular was so awful we complained to reception about him. Very expectant of, but not deserving of a tip. Hopefully he will be dismissed.
This hotel was the most over priced we stayed at on our road trip and will endeavour never to stay at a holiday inn in USA again. You are nowhere near Nashville downtown, so stop charging as if you were!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comments, good or bad, are a great tool to see where we are succeeding or where improvements need to be made. We have shared your feedback with our Executive Team. We would look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were able to walk to restaurants and events. The walk to the entertainment district on Broadway was long but very doable for 2 60ish people! The weather was nice and we enjoyed the exercise. Across the street from a lovely park. Just behind the football stadium for those who want to attend games. Limited parking. Shuttle available if you do not want to walk to Broadway.

Room Tip: Standard Holiday Inn rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, May 20, 2013
thank you for your comments. We do have a shuttle that is available to take you downtown,in case you don't want to walk. We hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I rate this hotel 4 hours; my wife rates it 3 stars. We stayed at the end of April/ beginning of May.

PROS:
-Good value overall, although Saturdays can be expensive
-Very good location. Hotel is close to freeways, downtown, other attractions and neighborhoods
-Shuttle bus is handy, although its last pickup from downtown is 10:30pm, which is too early
-Free laundry, a must-have convenience for a week's stay
-Parking is free and convenient (we've never had a problem finding a place to park)
-In-room fridge (although it didn't seem too get very cold)
-Front desk is usually helpful, friendly.

CON:
-Beds are not very comfortable, although this hotel at least offers different types of pillows. My wife's back hurt sleeping on her side of the bed the first night. She was OK after we switched sides.
-Hotel can be noisy in the morning (house-keeping?) Wear your earplugs if you stay out late at night. Hotel was quite at all other times.
-Room is surprisingly small. We stayed in a King plus room, but it is still small. Don't be fooled by the photo on TripAdvisor, with the sofas and coffee table. What room is that?
-Balcony is quite small (at least there is one, I suppose).
-No free breakfast (oh well, I suppose this might be asking for too much)

We'll be back to Nashville someday and will consider staying here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Late booking at reduced rate did not incl breakfast. One night stop so did not get to enjoy all the amenities. On arrival staff were very helpful and pleasant. Went to the room was good ize with comfortable seating area, paper cups for coffee not what I am use to, king size double bed with all the usual bits and pieces but the room was spotless and great to see a walk in shower why do more hotels not do this. Booked the free transfer to Broadway to see the attractions wait of about 10 mins to be collected and arrange a return(last collection 11pm) all free. On return had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed and up bright and early to do the rest of the sight seeing. Had breakfast in the hotel for convenience at $11 ahead was surprised to find a very poor selection compared with other hotels I have stayed in but it was good and enjoyable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Would be a bit of a hike into town would recommend speak to front desk to get the free transfer to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Address: 2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Nashville
#40 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that West End Nashville has to offer at the convenient full service Holiday Inn Vanderbilt. You are in the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment, sports and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Vanderbilt University, Centennial Park and its famed Parthenon. We are approximately 3 miles from the city center including: downtown Nashville entertainment district, Music City Center, Bridgestone Arena, Ryman Auditorium, Tennessee Performing Arts Center, Tennessee State Capitol, the world renown Country Music Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Titans stadium LP Field. Whether you're coming to Nashville for business or leisure, your room at the Holiday Inn Vanderbilt is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as microwave and refrigerator, balcony with sliding glass door and high-speed Internet mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. When you arrive at the Holiday Inn Nashville, park your vehicle in our complimentary parking lot and use our complimentary shuttle to travel within a three mile radius. No pets allowed. The Holiday Inn Select Vanderbilt is a 100% non smoking hotel.otel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) Hotel Nashville
Nashville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.