We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good not great place to stay in Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Campbell, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good not great place to stay in Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I rate this hotel 4 hours; my wife rates it 3 stars. We stayed at the end of April/ beginning of May.

PROS:
-Good value overall, although Saturdays can be expensive
-Very good location. Hotel is close to freeways, downtown, other attractions and neighborhoods
-Shuttle bus is handy, although its last pickup from downtown is 10:30pm, which is too early
-Free laundry, a must-have convenience for a week's stay
-Parking is free and convenient (we've never had a problem finding a place to park)
-In-room fridge (although it didn't seem too get very cold)
-Front desk is usually helpful, friendly.

CON:
-Beds are not very comfortable, although this hotel at least offers different types of pillows. My wife's back hurt sleeping on her side of the bed the first night. She was OK after we switched sides.
-Hotel can be noisy in the morning (house-keeping?) Wear your earplugs if you stay out late at night. Hotel was quite at all other times.
-Room is surprisingly small. We stayed in a King plus room, but it is still small. Don't be fooled by the photo on TripAdvisor, with the sofas and coffee table. What room is that?
-Balcony is quite small (at least there is one, I suppose).
-No free breakfast (oh well, I suppose this might be asking for too much)

We'll be back to Nashville someday and will consider staying here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    202
    65
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
118
29
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Late booking at reduced rate did not incl breakfast. One night stop so did not get to enjoy all the amenities. On arrival staff were very helpful and pleasant. Went to the room was good ize with comfortable seating area, paper cups for coffee not what I am use to, king size double bed with all the usual bits and pieces but the room was spotless and great to see a walk in shower why do more hotels not do this. Booked the free transfer to Broadway to see the attractions wait of about 10 mins to be collected and arrange a return(last collection 11pm) all free. On return had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed and up bright and early to do the rest of the sight seeing. Had breakfast in the hotel for convenience at $11 ahead was surprised to find a very poor selection compared with other hotels I have stayed in but it was good and enjoyable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Would be a bit of a hike into town would recommend speak to front desk to get the free transfer to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed here many times and in a range of rooms. It seems many have been updated in the last 5 years and are now showing a bit of wear . Some rooms we were given were not updated and we asked for another room that was.
The updated ones have granite shower w/glass doors and granite vanity. I like that the bathrooms are big enough for two women to share vanity space and they have the close-up mirror. The room itself is generally not too large but big enough - 2 double beds, the usual desk area and small dresser. A bonus feature is the small refrigerator and microwave. A single serve coffee maker is also offered. The closet space is large. This hotel is located across from the Centennial Park which offers trails for running, walking, biking, etc. It is very beautiful! It is also located near both the main colleges - Vanderbilt and Belmont - as well as nearby downtown. The hotel offers free shuttles within 3 miles and to the airport. Restaurants are within walking distance and best of all - there is free parking!!! There is parking to the front and back of the hotel. Most of the other hotels this close to downtown make you pay at least $14 a day to park! The only bad thing I can find to say is that the mattresses are not soft at all!!!! Like sleeping on the floor! I had the hardest time sleeping and ached all the next day.
We did enjoy the live entertainment offered in their restaurant - nicely done. We would probably give this hotel another try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is excellently located for business/visit to Vanderbilt. The hotel also provides a shuttle within a 3 mile radius. The staff were welcoming, the room clean and pleasant, and the restaurant excellent. There are many other food establishments within walking distance, including a grocery and wine/beer store. Vanderbilt baseball sports radio held a meeting while I was there and found the presentation educational and inspiring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here while bringing our son home from freshman year at Vandy. The hotel is practically right on campus, and overlooks the Vanderbilt football stadium on one side, and Centennial Park (home of the beautiful Parthenon) on the other side. Service was excellent, and their free parking was a nice benefit that's not always the case in metro hotels. The only slight negative was that the shower did not have much water pressure, which was a bit of a letdown to an otherwise excellent stay. We will be staying again in August, when our son's classes start, and hope they've improved the water pressure by then.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I always book this hotel when in Nashville. The prices are very fair for the location. Most importantly, parking is free and the lot is spacious. Most other hotels will charge up to $30 a night for parking since it's at a premium.

It's in a great location - near 100s of restaurants. Vanderbilt's athletic facilities are literally in the backyard. I have to go to Vanderbilt Clinic frequently for neurological treatment, so it's great to have the hospital so close. There's a good bar in the hotel lobby to visit with friends in the area and listen to live music.

As for the hotel, it's a typical Holiday Inn. The rooms are somewhat small the bathrooms look dated, but everything is clean. The walls are thick enough to drown out most outside noise.

The hotel staff is wonderful. As one example, they were completely out of bottled water in the hotel store late one night. The manager got one from the employee lounge area and did not even charge me for it.

I would recommend this hotel more for business travelers, those who plan on spending little time at the hotel, or folks visiting the many colleges in the area or Vanderbilt Clinic. It's not exactly family-friendly for an extended stay. There is a very small pool in the back. I've never seen many children during my numerous stays.

Please note, this Holiday Inn does not offer continental breakfasts (free or for pay). There are plenty of breakfast options nearby, or you can just pack a bagel or granola bars. There is a microwave and a mini-fridge. There is a mini- Convenience Store downstairs, but the prices of everything are exorbitant.

Don't expect to be completely "wowed" by your Holiday Inn stay, but if you want to pay $300-$400/night for other area hotels with more amenities, go for it. This Holiday Inn is a solid option for a budget traveller. And as I mentioned earlier, parking is abundant and free.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near an elevator. A lot of business travelers are already checking out by 4-5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice Holiday Inn, though nothing out of the ordinary for this chain of hotels. Rooms and service were all fine, the pool area was nice, but water cold at this time of year. If you are going to visit downtown sites, this hotel is a 15 minute drive to very expensive downtown parking - consider staying in town if you plan to be in downtown Nashville most of the time. It is of course adjacent to Vanderbilt Univ.

Room Tip: If you have time, walk through the park right across the street and see the replica of the Greek tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Address: 2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Nashville
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#43 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that West End Nashville has to offer at the convenient full service Holiday Inn Vanderbilt. You are in the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment, sports and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Vanderbilt University, Centennial Park and its famed Parthenon. We are approximately 3 miles from the city center including: downtown Nashville entertainment district, Music City Center, Bridgestone Arena, Ryman Auditorium, Tennessee Performing Arts Center, Tennessee State Capitol, the world renown Country Music Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Titans stadium LP Field. Whether you're coming to Nashville for business or leisure, your room at the Holiday Inn Vanderbilt is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as microwave and refrigerator, balcony with sliding glass door and high-speed Internet mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. When you arrive at the Holiday Inn Nashville, park your vehicle in our complimentary parking lot and use our complimentary shuttle to travel within a three mile radius. No pets allowed. The Holiday Inn Select Vanderbilt is a 100% non smoking hotel.otel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) Hotel Nashville
Nashville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.