We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 150 hotels in Nashville
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip. The staff was very friendly and courteous. My room furnishings were older, but still clean and comfortable. I was within walking distance of Starbucks and lots of other restaurants. There was a nice coffee bar in the lobby of the hotel that had plenty of options too. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    209
    72
    21
    14
See reviews for
109
125
29
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For our first visit to Nashville we picked out a Holiday Inn based mainly upon location and the advice of friend based locally.
We were checked in early by smart, impressive staff who further helped with our sick daughter by supplying a shuttle with its outstanding driver, Richard to ferry us back and forth to the local hospital.
Our room was smart and tidy with a small balcony looking out over the park to the parthenon. Nice bar, friendly staff, well kept and great location. What more could you ask for? :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently returned from a 4-day weekend stay in this hotel. There weren't any surprises -- good or bad -- and it was generally a pleasant experience living up to the "Holiday Inn" name. That said, the accommodations were just "good," not "great" (again, it's a Holiday Inn, so I didn't expect much flash or uniqueness here). What took this property over the "good" benchmark, though, is it's location. Situated directly behind the Vanderbilt stadium this property is in easy walking distance to a variety of restaurants, and local university and tourist destinations. I didn't stay there for Vandy, though, I stayed for its proximity to the downtown nightlife and it couldn't have been an easier trip to Broadway. The hotel is on West End Avenue, which essentially turns into Broadway. One right turn out of the (free!) parking lot and 2 miles later we were in the hub of a live music scene. Additionally, this Holiday Inn location provides convenient access to several major highways, allowing for easy travel throughout the various neighborhoods of Nashville.

One annoying drawback to the hotel: the "double" rooms are actually double-sized beds, not queens like you might find in similar rooms. And for some reason the beds have mattress pads on them that aren't attached to anything (think crib mattress pads) and as a result become bunched up while you sleep. Super annoying.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the parking lot, and get one as high up as you can go. The view will be lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business, and hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed 1 night en route from FL to WI. Good location if you need to be near Vanderbilt. View of their stadium from our room & even had small balcony w/sliding door. But the room smelled weird...like old, burnt coffee? And the sheets/pillows had a strong "hotel" odor. Free WiFi but they gave us the wrong password so we had to call front desk for correct password. Towels were thin & rough, but shower had good pressure. This hotel is NOT worth the price at all & we would not stay here again. No free breakfast either.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have forwarded them to the appropriate departments, so they can review your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff makes all the difference. There was a little hiccup about our room rates when we checked in, and the manager immediately made things right. The room was clean and quiet, and the location is excellent--a few blocks from I-440, and right next to the Vanderbilt campus. Great music in the Commodore Lounge Saturday night. We'll be using the hotel to house guests for a wedding in May, and we're very happy with our choice. Scott Phillips, the Sales Manager, has been extremely helpful. We're looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

3.5 out of 5 really. The location, free parking and excellent downtown shuttle service score the points. The noise (on an executive floor) and mediocre weekend breakfast buffet made our experience less than perfect. Staff were very friendly but not especially knowledgeable about restaurants or nearby attractions. Our Jr suite not serviced til 4 p.m. The park and Parthenon across the street are a bonus for a walk as is the campus of Vanderbilt U behind the hotel.

Room Tip: The view at the back is the campus of Vanderbilt U and from the front, the parking lot overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited Nashville for the first time and wanted a convenient and reasonably priced place to stay close to downtown, but not too close. This is a comfortable place with a good restaurant and great live music on Fri, Sat, and Sun nights. The staff was great and the room was clean and comfortable. The room was clean and towels refreshed EVERYDAY, even with the "save the planet" towel cleaning policy clearly displayed in the room. The hotel is walking distance to the Parthanon park, Vanderbilt, and only a 5 min drive down Broadway to Music Row (no turns, no getting lost, no highways).

Room Tip: Ask for a King room with no adjoining doors...you will get a room on the 12th or 14th floor, if avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Address: 2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#40 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that West End Nashville has to offer at the convenient full service Holiday Inn Vanderbilt. You are in the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment, sports and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Vanderbilt University, Centennial Park and its famed Parthenon. We are approximately 3 miles from the city center including: downtown Nashville entertainment district, Music City Center, Bridgestone Arena, Ryman Auditorium, Tennessee Performing Arts Center, Tennessee State Capitol, the world renown Country Music Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Titans stadium LP Field. Whether you're coming to Nashville for business or leisure, your room at the Holiday Inn Vanderbilt is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as microwave and refrigerator, balcony with sliding glass door and high-speed Internet mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. When you arrive at the Holiday Inn Nashville, park your vehicle in our complimentary parking lot and use our complimentary shuttle to travel within a three mile radius. No pets allowed. The Holiday Inn Select Vanderbilt is a 100% non smoking hotel.otel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) Hotel Nashville
Nashville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.