We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel missing a few tricks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average hotel missing a few tricks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because the downtown hotels were really expensive, we figured out why when we arrived as Kid Rock was playing in town. It gets the basics rights - clean, big bed, good shower but the aircon/heating was really noisy, the coffee shop was rarely open and the bar a bit soulless. The fitness centre was also tiny but it was a good 5 mile undulating run from the hotel to the river and back so I didn't mind. They do run a shuttle service though which was good and we made good use of it. However, if we go back to Nashville we'll pay the extra and stay nearer the action.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear AmeliaLondon,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry about the issues with our air conditioning unit. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    213
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
110
128
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms don't feel very new or super clean. Bed and pliiows are horrible. I should have know when I saw foam toppers on the mattresses and multiple tiny euro style pillows that looked like they belonged on a couch not a bed. Location is good but that's about it. Spend a 20-30 more a night and go two buildings down to the Marriott. It's comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKeiser, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry
we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level
of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason
your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into.
Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I
would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will
give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was fine - clean, well maintained and good service. The price was reasonable with good parking, but the best part is the location. Easy into downtown, across street from Parthenon, and within walking distance of at least two really high-end restaurants, Fleming's Steak House and PF Chiangs. You get coupons for a free, full hot breakfast buffet, but it is only fair. Oddly, they give you a coupon for a free drink at the bar (domestic beer or well drink), but only one even though they may be two of you staying in the room. The biggest draw is it being right alongside Vanderbilt University. It wasn't this time, but at certain times of the year, the number of college students may be a factor worth considering.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Views are not a major factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Umfrid,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology about the complimentary drink. We will look into this point. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebeka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Vanderbilt for 3 nights on 2/14 - 2/17. We were able to check in a bit early which was nice as we were recovering from a long travel day/flight. All staff were extremely helpful and kind. We loved the free shuttle which would take us anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. We utilized that a lot. Just make sure to make a reservation if you have a specific time/place that you need to be. It got really busy on Friday/Saturday nights and it was then on a first come, first served basis which took a while. All in all, it saved us a lot on taxi service. Don't forget to tip the drivers!

Our room was comfortable but a little worn around the edges - though it didn't bother us a bit! Plenty of hot water, comfy beds, and quiet. We had a room on the 12th floor.

Front desk staff was helpful and went out of their way to accommodate us. Thanks again! They even gave us 3 free admission tickets to the Parthenon which was across the street.

On-site restaurant had excellent service and decent food. Loved the songwriters night. Great entertainment! Only thing I didn't like was that there was no free coffee in the lobby. You had to purchase it at their on-site coffee shop but it was hit or miss on that being open. I had requested on the housekeeping form to get more coffee and cups in our room but that didn't happen so I had to go somewhere else for coffee.

All in all - good experience. Loved Nashville!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawson, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Reserved location for meeting for work for mutliple people. My room had a great view off the top floor over looking park area (Paratenon highlighted at night.) Meeting room was great and the food for the meeting was very good and served hot. Locations was good for group to walk to dinner in the evening, plenty of locations to eat at within area. Live music in the evenings at the bar which was entertaining.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room higher up as the veiws are better and further from noise of lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We chose this hotel for its convenient location to the hospital where my wife’s mother was admitted. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Family joined us at the restaurant for dinner. Great food, including excellent specials and open mic with hours of live music. Breakfast buffet was not included in the price but was a good value and we enjoyed it very much. We had a peaceful stay but this hotel is adjacent to Vanderbilt’s stadium. So it might be a different story during a home football game. Free parking.

Room Tip: I would get a room 7th floor or higher and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is just an average Holiday Inn in a great location. It is situated between the "Parthenon" and the Vanderbilt football stadium. If the price is right, this is a great choice. The hotel needs some renovation. I would imagine when events are taking place at Vanderbilt University, this hotel is packed and takes on a lot of wear...and it shows. However, I was very pleased with the cleanliness and the professionalism of the staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators...the doors to the rooms are not insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)

Address: 2613 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Nashville
#38 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#41 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that West End Nashville has to offer at the convenient full service Holiday Inn Vanderbilt. You are in the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment, sports and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Vanderbilt University, Centennial Park and its famed Parthenon. We are approximately 3 miles from the city center including: downtown Nashville entertainment district, Music City Center, Bridgestone Arena, Ryman Auditorium, Tennessee Performing Arts Center, Tennessee State Capitol, the world renown Country Music Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Titans stadium LP Field. Whether you're coming to Nashville for business or leisure, your room at the Holiday Inn Vanderbilt is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as microwave and refrigerator, balcony with sliding glass door and high-speed Internet mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. When you arrive at the Holiday Inn Nashville, park your vehicle in our complimentary parking lot and use our complimentary shuttle to travel within a three mile radius. No pets allowed. The Holiday Inn Select Vanderbilt is a 100% non smoking hotel.otel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown) Hotel Nashville
Nashville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.