We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 150 hotels in Nashville
San Antonio
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We wanted to be near Vanderbilt to see friends. This property is conveniently located, service is friendly and rooms well appointed and clean. We would stay here again. As to room selection, all of the hotel seems quiet enough, but we ask for a room on the back side (away from the street) just to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments letting us know that we were able to meet our guests' expectations. I am pleased that our staff was friendly and welcoming, that should be our guests' expectation. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    132
    42
    12
    4
See reviews for
97
111
13
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Granted, you're paying for the location, which is great: very close to Vanderbilt and nice local restaurants. But the rooms are nothing great. It's comparable to a Best Western in my opinion. It's a 3-star service for the price of 5-stars and prices are jacked up during parent-week or games...call it supply and demand or price gouging, its a hotel wide practice that should not be allowed by law, but I'm barking at the wrong tree. Now to why I picked the title: In the four days I stayed here, I noticed how the staff at the restaurant quickly shifted to cleaning mode a little before 10am and by 10am as indicated breakfast stops. They shut the doors and even getting coffee is a hustle (although they do have coffee in the lobby). Of course they still have yogurt or pastries left inside, but instead of continuing to allow access until items are exhausted without being replenished as a Best Western would do, they simply shut the door and well, they do tell you that breakfast is until 10am...but c'mon now...leave the door open and let things run out. If anyone comes in at 10:30 or 11am for that matter and find an apple, so be it because breakfast ended. But closing the doors when you still have coffee left in the pot makes no sense and comes across as rude...comments from many parents at the very busy parent week by the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. Unfortunately, we do have to close the breakfast serving area. We offer fruit selections and coffee 24 hours a day, and I hope you were able to take advantage of those items. We continually replenish the coffee in the lobby to make sure our guests have fresh, hot coffee. If we were to leave out the coffee in our serving, our guests would have cold or lukewarm coffee. I thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your time in Nashville, and we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was a great location for a visit to Vanderbilt University. We stayed here to attend a football game and this hotel was in walking distance. There are also lots of restaurants very close to the hotel. It appeared newly renovated and was very nice. Everyone that worked there was very friendly. We wouldd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. I am glad that our staff was able to make your stay enjoyable. Our mission is to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. We love our location - located close to downtown, Vanderbilt, and many restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is located on the main street but is very quiet and has a nice swimming area at the back of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was good. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is adequate free parking at the hotel which is a bonus in America.

The main centre for the music, nightlife and restaurants is about 30 minutes walk straight down West street. It is down hill going and seemed very safe as there were a lot of people about. Maybe a taxi ride back would be best although we walked with no trouble and we are all pensioners.

The centre is very lively for the real music lovers and we thought it was a bit seedy but we enjoyed the experience. There are a number of restaurants in the centre and Demos Spaghetti House is great fun and the food superb. Try the fat tyre beer. Near to the hotel we ate at Americos opposite the hotel and Magianoes which is a short ride away on the same street.

If you want a treat ask for directions to Krsispy Kreme which is just around the corner from the hotel and does the best doughnuts I have ever tasted

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

As with many of our guests, I see that you were happy with the hotel's location. We think we are perfectly situated - close enough to walk downtown or to the midtown/Vanderbilt area. Hopefully the next time you are in town, you will be able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle. If I may offer another selection for a sweet treat - GiGi's Cupcakes is just a block away from the hotel, and the cupcakes change seasonally, so every trip could be different. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This Hampton Inn was just delightful. It's very modern and updated. It's decorated extremely well and has a little more of an upscale feel than most Hampton Inns I've stayed at. The room itself and the bathroom were on the smaller side but had everything we needed and were immaculate. It's located very near downtown and we easily took a cab so we wouldn't have to worry with parking. There are also some nice restaurants right across the street. Best of all was the staff. They were beyond helpful and really lived up to Nashville's reputation for friendliness. You can't go wrong if you stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We love our housekeeping, maintenance and front desk staff, and I am glad to see we lived up to your expectations. We love our location - close to downtown and Vanderbilt. You are easily able to get around town from here. We look forward to having you back, and I hope the next time you are in town, you take advantage of our complimentary shuttle. We can save you the time and money of taking a cab downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staff was unusually nice, hotel has been renovated recently and looks very "fresh". Breakfast was super, for a free meal. Free parking, wifi, etc. nice. Had 2 reservations by accident, didn't give us a hard time and instead offered to charge us for the one with the lower rate. Convenient to Vandy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very happy to see that our staff enhanced your stay. I am glad that you took advantage of our complimentary amenities. We our proud to be one of a handful of Vanderbilt/Downtown hotels that offer complimentary parking. Thank you again, and we would love to have you back so that we can continue to display our excellent customer service skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have to say that I've been to many Hamptons, but this is by far my favorite location. You enter this hotel thinking that this can't be a Hampton. The lobby is beautiful, it makes you feel like you're walking into a very expensive hotel. The staff is just down home friendly. The hotel is in an ideal location located very close to Vandy, a few blocks from the park, and less than two miles from downtown 'Ville. I can honestly say that I had a great night's sleep at this hotel. I've never had that happen before. This hotel was the epitome of Hampton Inn greatness. If you ever need to stay at a Hampton in 'Ville, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. This is the reason we do what we do. Our hotel just completed a complete renovation, and I am glad that you liked it. We love our staff, and I will be certain to share your high remarks with them. I hope that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle, as it only enhances our great location. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we can't wait for you to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel
Hampton Inn Nashville Vanderbilt
Hampton Inn Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn
Address: 1919 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nashville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#15 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt hotel is located two blocks from the Vanderbilt University campus in the city’s West End area. Walk to over 50 restaurants from our 169-room hotel which is minutes from downtown. See over 300 species of plants, shrubs and the Bicentennial Oak on the Vanderbilt Campus. Vanderbilt Medical Center, Baptist Hospital and Centennial Medical Center are within a mile of the hotel. Lunch on ‘meat and three’ or a burger and shake at Rotier’s or Elliston Place Soda Shop, two legendary Nashville restaurants which have been serving Vanderbilt students for over sixty years. Shop for out-of-print books and vintage clothes on nearby Elliston Place or take a short ride to The Mall at Green Hills, Nashville’s premier shopping destination. See live music performances at historic Ryman Auditorium, the Grand Ole Opry, or nearby Exit/In and Bluebird Café. View a scale-sized replica of The Parthenon and Athena statue in Centennial Park. Tour The Hermitage, home of President Andrew Jackson, or Cheekwood Botanical Gardens and Museum of Art. Watch the Vanderbilt Commodores or Tennessee Titans play football.Whether you’re visiting Nashville for a business trip, for Vanderbilt graduation or a tournament at Centennial Sportsplex, enjoy our comfortable guest rooms with free high-speed internet access and 32-inch flat screen HD TVs. All rooms feature refrigerators, work desks and convenient lap desks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.