We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, decent location, very clean, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 10%
Ranked #13 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice, decent location, very clean, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have to say that I've been to many Hamptons, but this is by far my favorite location. You enter this hotel thinking that this can't be a Hampton. The lobby is beautiful, it makes you feel like you're walking into a very expensive hotel. The staff is just down home friendly. The hotel is in an ideal location located very close to Vandy, a few blocks from the park, and less than two miles from downtown 'Ville. I can honestly say that I had a great night's sleep at this hotel. I've never had that happen before. This hotel was the epitome of Hampton Inn greatness. If you ever need to stay at a Hampton in 'Ville, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. This is the reason we do what we do. Our hotel just completed a complete renovation, and I am glad that you liked it. We love our staff, and I will be certain to share your high remarks with them. I hope that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle, as it only enhances our great location. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we can't wait for you to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    173
    50
    17
    4
See reviews for
136
150
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is a tad nicer than most Hampton Inns, with a contemporary flair. It is very close to Vanderbilt if you are visiting there, but a bit too far to walk to the downtown attractions. The front desk is one of the friendliest we have found, with freshly made popcorn in the evening. The parking lot is tight, but we were happy not to be forced to valet and had no trouble finding a spot to park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments about our front desk team. I will be certain to pass this along to them. We think our location is great, and for those who don't want to walk to the downtown attractions, we do offer a complimentary shuttle. I hope that you were able to take advantage of that. We pride ourselves on our service, and we are proud to be one of the few hotels in the Vanderbilt/Downtown area that offer complimentary overnight parking. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 30 September 2012 because we had an early morning appointment at Vanderbilt Medical Clinic on Monday and it is very close to Vanderbilt and there were places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. Our room was very clean and quiet.The only negative was the TV channel line up. A lot of the channels were not clear at all but since we were only there for one night that was only a small inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us during your time in Nashville. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay - even though you were here for medical purposes. I hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary hotel shuttle. We believe that we are in a great location - close to Vanderbilt, downtown and a number of great restaurants. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The internet connection is slow to the point of being non-functional. If you have work to do and need an internet connection, you are SOL at this hotel. It should be illegal to call this high speed. I tested it, and was getting a pathetic 0.46 Mbps download speed. High speed? Not even close. For such a pricey hotel, this is a severe disappointment. It's not 1997 anymore, and a true high speed connection is a must for a hotel in this price range. I'd rather be charged $10 and actually get a decent connection.

Their room key system was also messed up. None of the rooms would open with keys, nor would any of the side exterior doors. Guests were required to have a hotel employee escort them to the room in order to gain access. The staff seemed to really be trying, but I will be finding a different place to stay the next time I have to travel to Nashville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us during your most recent trip to Nashville. Our key issue has been resolved, and I appreciate your understanding. In regards to the high speed internet trouble, we are scheduled for an increase in bandwith. I hope that the next time you are in Nashville, you give us another chance to showcase our improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here a few nights in Sept 2012 after my mom had surgery at Vanderbilt. We had stayed at a cheaper hotel the first night, but wanted a dependable chain for our second and third nights. The Hampton fit the bill perfectly, as it was very close to the hospital.

The check-in is quick and efficient, and the front desk staff very nice. The room is exactly what you expect from Hampton-clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was great, huge selection.

Only $20 more than the "cheap selection" and totally worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to provide excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment. I am pleased to see that we delivered on that during your stay. Traveling for surgery can be a difficult thing, and I am happy that you chose to stay with us, and that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. If you should ever return to Nashville, we would love to have you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

C and I decided to hit the highway for an overnighter.......destination choice was a flip of the coin.........heads we went to Memphis......tails we went to Nashville! Tails it was...........we pulled in to the Hampton Inn on West End, we wanted to be fairly close to the Antique Archaeology shop on Clinton St and this Hampton Inn location was perfect. We didnt arrive til after 8pm, we were greeted by GREAT staff.......helped us with walking directions to nearby eateries and such. Very nice and friendly, excellent customer service......she told us all about their recent renovation and made sure we knew about their morning hot breakfast. Room was good, clean, and not a bad view from our window. Now, on the down side..........we always stay at Hampton Inn's......we find them to be of good quaility with VERY comfortable bedding! Welllllllll..........I have no idea what type bed we slept on...........but it was NOT their typical soft, billowy, cloud 9 bed? The mattress felt old and worn out.........hard as a brick............we both left with our backs killing us? Only reason I can't give them our usual 5 star rating............hot breakfast was delish! We would go back ...........but.............I would make sure the mattress is new and up to the normal standards for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I travel to Nashville 5-6 times a year on business always staying at this Hampton or the one on Elliston Place. Both are an easy drive into downtown. This location is closer to tp restraunts and things to do. The breakfast food is better here but I find there to be more street noise. I've never had a bad experience here and will continue to use the property for my trips

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Address: 1919 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#6 Family Hotel in Nashville
#16 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt is two blocks from the Vanderbilt University campus in the city's West End area. Walk to over 50 restaurants from our 169-room hotel, which is just minutes from downtown. See over 300 species of plants, shrubs and the Bicentennial Oak on campus. Vanderbilt Medical Center, Baptist Hospital and Centennial Medical Center are within a mile of the hotel. Lunch on 'meat and three' or a burger and shake at Rotier's or Elliston Place Soda Shop, two legendary Nashville restaurants that have served Vanderbilt students for over sixty years. Shop for out-of-print books and vintage clothes at nearby Elliston Place or take a short ride to The Mall at Green Hills, Nashville's premier shopping destination. Hear great music at historic Ryman Auditorium, the Grand Ole Opry, or nearby Exit/In and Bluebird Cafe. Bridgestone Area also hosts concerts. View a scale-sized replica of The Parthenon and Athena statue in Centennial Park. Tour The Hermitage, home of President Andrew Jackson, or Cheekwood Botanical Gardens and Museum of Art. Watch the Vanderbilt Commodores or Tennessee Titans play football. Attend a conference at Music City Center, Nashville's convention center. Whether you're visiting Nashville for business, a Vanderbilt graduation ceremony or a tournament at Centennial Sportsplex, you will enjoy our comfortable guest rooms with free high-speed internet access and 32-inch HDTVs. All rooms feature refrigerators, work desks and convenient lap desks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.