We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Hayes Street, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
New
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I checked into this hotel on Friday, March 16th. Upon going up to my room, I was shocked and annoyed to see that all the rooms around my room were going through renovation. The halls smelt of paint, there was dust everywhere, there was a nasty musty smell in the air, it was appalling. I went into my room and the room just felt disgusting. The air was musty, the smell of chemicals from the construction across the hall was coming through, and everything in the room looked out dated and dusty. I had an allergic reaction to the chemicals in the air and the dust, and within 45 minutes I went down to ask to check out and get a refund. The manager refused to refund me for my stay, even though I physically could not stay there due to my allergic reaction and there was no way I could sleep there. They also refused to give me proof of check out and of my exit of the hotel, which I found to be extremely odd as every hotel I have ever stayed at gives me a receipt of check out. I checked into the hotel across the street and paid MORE money to get a good nights sleep and sleep in a comfortable environment.

I contacted the corporate office later to submit my complaint and request a refund, and I was told I would be contacted back. I have (2 months later), still heard nothing. I do not know what type of operation is being run here but from my dealings with this management and their corporation, I will definitely NEVER EVER stay at one of their properties. I will also tell my colleagues, friends, and family members to stay away from all of their properties as well.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    19
    11
    18
See reviews for
25
20
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was absolutely appalled with this hotel. I stayed for three days while my father was having bypass surgery. We chose it because it was in relative proximity to his hospital, and they offered a shuttle service back and forth.

Those were their only positive points.

In a matter of three days we encountered a total of six roaches in our room and bathroom. The service access door under the bathroom sink was broken and would not stay closed (a port to the pipes inside of the wall.) To top it all off, the lamp in between the two beds was a complete shock hazard, with the bulb socket completely loose and wires exposed.

I have been told that people pay an average of $120 to $140 for this hotel. I wouldn't pay $30 for this slum hole.

I HIGHLY advise avoiding this GuestHouse like the black plague.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAFTON
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

No hot water - called desk - told to let it run - did so -still no hot water
blankets were torn and had holes in them
Told desk on chechout - response was we'll look into it
A/C either too hot or too cold

Room Tip: closer to elevator had no hot water problems in past
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you want a clean, comfortable hotel DON'T STAY HERE! The "free" breakfast was pitiful. First night morning we ate at the "free" breakfast there was hardly any choices.. there was hard biscuits and out of the can gravy, waffles from the "chef" which most hotels let you pour the batter in the iron and at least you got a waffle this hotel always had a waiting list for eggs and waffles. The next morning we went to McDonalds which was cleaner and better. I never got a hot or warm shower the 2 days there it was always cool to down right cold. YES I did let the water run to heat up and once it got a little warmer I stepped in the shower and had warm water for about 2 minutes. The hotel over all was so/so clean. The air conditioned when it came on blew directly across both beds the 2nd night we moved a chair in front of it so we could divert the air somewhat above the beds. Even with the Vanderbilt Hospital rate I would NEVER stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Would not recommend anything except don't stay here .. keep on driving or stay at the Hampton In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight (near my hospital). We were three hours past check out time due to my health treatments at the hospital. You so politely and generously waved the fee for being past check out time. We so appreciate your kindness and your intregity. We will continue to use your hotel as our choice of stay when we visit my hospital.

Thank you very much!
Gerald and Donna M.
Kentucky

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our first visit and were pleasantly happy with the hotel. The staff was friendly and breakfast was the best. The room was quiet, very clean, and comfortable beds. The lobby area is great for our veterans to sit and visit with each other.

Room Tip: I would think if you are there for more than one night one might prefer a suite but the room with qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My dad and I stayed here for almost a week while my mother had surgery at Vanderbilt. Everyone has been super friendly, rooms are clean and adequate. We have had a little trouble with hot water in the mornings but found nice hot water in the evenings. Breakfast in the mornings are amazing. Chris the chef is super friendly and makes some huge omelets. The bisquits and gravy are to die for. And the best part is that the breakfast is all FREE. We used the shuttle service every morning and evening and the drivers were all wonderful. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone with family at Vanderbilt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt

Address: 1909 Hayes Street, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn & Suites At Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
Guesthouse Inn And Suites At Vanderbilt
Guesthouse Inn And Suites Nashville
Guest House Inn Nashville Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Inn & Suites at Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.