We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drake Motel to your Saves list
Drake Motel
420 Murfreesboro Road, Nashville, TN 37210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Motel Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked in for three nights, left after the first one after finding a used crack pipe in the bed. The place was filthy, surrounded by dodgey characters & constantly noisy throughout the night. Sirens going, doors slamming, shouting, no sleep was had, not to mention the unwelcome addition of the bedbugs. You wouldn't feel comfortable here unless you are a crack head, a dealer or a complete scumbag. Steer clear....oh yeah, and the staff were really unhelpful, no refund for the lost nights.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    5
    6
    37
See reviews for
7
23
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We checked into the drake after a long drive and wanted to see Nashville and split as we only had one day to stay. we got in around 2PM, basically threw our stuff into the dingy/ugly room and split. we saw it wasn't the best looking room around but needed a place reasonably priced. we should have looked MUCH more closely. we had a microwave, refer. big flat screen TV (old style) and Jacuzzi, we didn't use the rest room etc. we returned well after dark. we got in and went to fill the Jacuzzi, the water faucet was super loose and it dripped, no big deal. I could live with that. we hit the bed after the tub.
the bed when laid in formed a "V" both sides sank into the middle, no firmness to the mattress at all, the sheets had holes in them, I still didn't care we were dead tired. I woke up about two hours after falling asleep only to arise to roaches on the headboard, in the bathroom and on the Jac. tub. It was like the room from hell. the TV set had a distorted picture on it, clearly not even close to clear, the remote never worked for the TV set, I had to manually change channels. we left the hotel after a two hour stay, when we checked out I clearly stated in words not proper for print the room was loaded with cockroaches the desk clerk, didn't say one word. he knew the place was roach ridden. I've saw the other reviews, but none have the pictures to prove it's a nice place. I also saw the trip advisor logo/decal proudly placed in the front window, TRIP should ask that it be removed.
I WOULD NOT, REPEAT WOULD NOT suggest this dumpy place to anyone.
I could go on and on, but anyone should get my drift!!!!

Room Tip: GO ELSEWHERE, rooms on the other end of town are most likely cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We read that the motel offers newly renovated, our room definitely wasn't, old dirty carpet, old mattress/bed and bathroom. We asked for a non-smoking room, the sign on the door did so indicate, however the room smelled like people smoked a lot in it. We wouldn't recommend thus hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I were in town for a concert & basically needed a place to sleep. I realize we were very lucky to book a room on the inside by the pool & close to the office. He booked the room online & I read the reviews afterward. I have a nice car & I was so worried it would be broken into that I completely cleaned it out before our arrival. The room was a king suite. It's an old place but as I already mentioned we definantly got in one of the nicer rooms. It was as clean as an old place could be. We checked for bedbugs & bugs & found no evidence (although I litterally still brought in all of our clothing & put it on the hottest setting on my dryer afterward) when we arrived it was mid day & everything seemed pretty normal. We checked in, looked at our room & walked downtown. In retrospect I'm surprised we walked although we didn't have any trouble. I'm positive we walked past a prositute leaving the hotel. On the walk we past liquor stores, gun & ammo shops & the projects. The area is rundown & dirty & you would not want to walk at night but it is very close to downtown, about a two mile walk. That night we caught a cab ride back to our room & got in without being bothered by anyone. About 2:30 in the morning our neighbors were making a lot of noise... There seemed to be an array of moods coming from the room including anger & laughter & my husband swore he heard a man telling someone that she " better get his money" we figured they were high on drugs & they never slept & kept us awake for hours. We could even hear the shower. Finally they calmed down & we were able to get some rest. The next morning we showered, the bathroom was just fine & adequately clean. The towels were old & tiny. As we left the next morning we saw a lot of scetchy activity & got a look at the loud women from next door who looked down & out & like they had not slept in weeks. One was peering at us & I figured she was probably pretty confused as to why people like us were there. People were standing around with their doors open & my husband didn't even want to get out of the car to return the card key! I finally got a look at the side of the inn & there were grills pulled into the parking lot. I absolutely would have never stayed on that side. The place is old & I can accept that but the area & its tenants are right down rough & scary. I will never stay at the Drake inn again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!
Our room was dirty and had BED BUGS and when I asked the manager for a refund he refused saying he couldn't see any bedbugs in the room, even though I was covered in bites!
Terrible service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had hoped this place was a walk in the past like it advertises itself to be. WRONG!!Our room was FILTHY and the constant flow of drug dealers and hookers makes for a great COPS Show. BUT this place is NOT for families and is FAR from safe. When we left to find another hotel, we spole with a Nashville policeman who could not believe a family would stay there unless their next choice was homlessness. BEWARE

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.Or keep a weapon on you at all times. Dont worry you can always buy 1 from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This motel is awesome. For $65, you can upgrade to the jacuzzi suite, which is disappointingly clean and devoid of anything gross or seedy. It's in its own little building with a dedicated parking spot. It's very spacious and has a quaint little bed.
We had hoped that all the reviews would come through and this place would be scary and disgusting but it's actually really nice. MurderMotels.com FAIL.
Oh, and the toilet is in its own closet. You don't even get that kinda luxury in jail!

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi suite. You deserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Motel

Address: 420 Murfreesboro Road, Nashville, TN 37210
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Drake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Motel Nashville
Drake Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.