We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Family Reunion Girls Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   706 Church Street, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #39 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Location for Family Reunion Girls Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed for a girls weekend and the manager was happy to give us adjoining suites that gave us ample room for sleeping and socializing with each other. We weren't able to secure this ahead of time, but the manager was great when we were there.

Request an outside room, then you'll have a city view instead of the courtyard view. I think even numbers are to the outside, but I'm not completely sure. It's a restored historic building, so it has lots of character. The rooms were larger than I'd expect in a historic building, but certainly not huge. A good size, it slept 3 of us per room with no problem.

We were easily within walking distance to clubs and restaurants. Street parking is free on the weekends, so if you have a car, you don't necessarily have to valet everytime. In fact, the lot across the street was cheaper.

Each room has a kitchenette with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and utincils. The breakfast had hot entrees in the morning and wine and apps in the afternoon, but I think only on weekdays. All included. There was an excersice room with a treadmill and bike with tv, and a whirlpool spa.

There is a concierge who can help with restaurant and tour recommendations too.

All in all, the hotel had more that I anticipated, and the staff was helpful and friendly. True southern hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    142
    58
    33
    15
See reviews for
69
144
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

This is a great place to stay near the entertainment district and downtown. You are close to all of the museums and capitol and the old opryland location. The rooms were spacious. There is a comp breakfast (excellant) and comp evening snack M-Th with spirits. Although it will cost a few bucks - your food costs should be about zero. Well worth the stay for the location and amenities. Only caution is there seemed to be a lot of homeless in the area. They do not bother but be aware. Plus parking is extra about $8 per day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

In general the suite was okay, but the only window in the bedroom faced an interior courtyard. The windows do not open so the suite was airless. There were no windows in the "living area" at all so overall the rooms were dark and we felt trapped. We couldn't even tell that there was a raging rainstorm and tornado warnings outside. All of their larger suites are facing the interior courtyard so a smaller room would be better at this hotel. The location was awesome. The service was generally good to great. I would recommend it for price and location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

For the price the location was really good, walking distance to the street with all the bars and music venues. On the weekend the street parking is free so we didn't even have to pay for parking. The breakfast was really good, lots of choices, even make your own Belgian waffles. The only down side to mention is that when we walked into our room after check in the door was open and all the drawers were open as well as the fold out couch, so we went back to the front desk to tell them and they didn't seem to care, they just told us to push it all back in. But when we told them the door to the room was open too they gave us a new room because of security issues. Bu it seemed like they didn't think it was a big deal. Needless to say if the room does not appear to be ready then it shouldn't be given to a guest and a guest should not be expected to finish up for housekeeping. Our new room actually ended up being larger and better layout than the 1st so it worked out. Loved the free internet too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

The Homewood Suites is in a very generic "blink or you will miss it" building (I drove around for 20 minutes trying to find how to get into it) next to Morton's and across from the library. The enterance to the hotel off the street is sort of grungy, but when you enter you walk down the shabby corrider, turn the corner and walk into a proper lobby which is small but perfectly nice. The desk staff is very kind, but there are too few of them. They appear eager to help but badly trained or maybe untrained. The women who ran breakfast were awesome. SO sweet and accomodating. Can't say enough about them. The concierge was friendly but seemed to know only about very low end options when it came to dining. I like to save money, but the only suggestions I could seem to get were based on value and I don't mind spending more than $9.99 for a meal.

One example maybe of poor training; the housekeeper (politely) asked me every morning if I needed her to do anything when we left in the morning. I wanted to say "yeah, I need you to clean my freaking room". But just said "we will be out of your way". She took the hint (every time) and cleaned the room, but I resented feeling like I was asking for a favor. Also, the bathroom was never cleaned well.

The room was fine though the bathroom vanity area looked like a high school woodshop project and was made of unvarnished wood which seemed really unsanitary in a damp bathroom. Also the room smelled a bit musty and it was really, really small. I had a hard time getting around the pulled out sofabed into the kitchen. The funny part about how cramped it was is that ours was an accessible room. We did not request an accessible room, but its status was evidenced by the open shower (not even a lip, the water just flowed to a drain in the middle of the room). The shower sprayed water all over the bathroom floor (thus creating a skating rink) but had a flimsy and useless shower curtain which (given no barrier and no weights) flew in and stuck to one's body while showering. Ewwww! So we dealt with this inconvenience to no good end since I could barely step around the sofabed to get to the kitchen or door, let alone negotiate it in a wheelchair or with a walker. I am all for making things accessible to the disabled, but this was an accessible room in name only and the shower was pretty bad for those without special needs.

Enough complaining. The location of the hotel was very good. It is an easy walk to Broadway, the convention center, the Hall of Fame, the art museum, the State Museum and monuments, and a number of other venues. Also, it is across from the library which turned out to be a highlight of the trip - super exhibits for people who love books and documents which chronicle the history of the region, and the best childrens library ever. My son and I are city dwellers and walkers, but it is worth mentioning that some more sedentary and easily frightened (my son used the term wussy) types seemed bothered that the parking lot is a couple lighted blocks away from the hotel.

Final analysis -- for the price this was a perfectly fine option in a great location. I would stay here again if I got a good price, but I would certainly consider alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

The decor in my room was nice and modern but smaller than most Homewood Suites I've been in and it smelled vaguely of smoke.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Still like HS-Nashville. However, on my last couple of visits I have noticed what smells like sewer gas, first in the front entryway (which I don't mind since I don't spend much time there), but lately in the room itself, which is more offensive. I happened to be placed in a handicap room that had a drain in the middle of the bathroom floor. I covered it with the trashcan, which seemed to help a little, but I am not sure.

Otherwise, the hotel is still good, and I'll give it another chance. But my doubts are mounting...

See my review of a few months ago for more info about my overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown

Address: 706 Church Street, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#40 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest of the Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown, we invite you to dream sweetly with one of the most comfortable beds you will ever experience - providing the perfect balance between comfort and support. In all of our suites you will be able to spread out in your spacious living room and cook meals in a fully equipped kitchen. All suites are also equipped with Hilton Family Exclusive alarm clock/radio with connection cable for personal MP3 player, laptop and other entertainment devices, large work desk with a comfortable, ergonomic Mirra chair by Herman Miller, two telephones with data port and voice mail, complimentary high-speed internet access, and 32 inch flat-panel HDTV. Our PrinterOn service enables our guests to send print jobs from laptops in their guestrooms directly to the hotel's 24-hr business center for pick-up at their convenience. We will start your day off with a complimentary full hot breakfast and when you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, feel free to join us at our welcome home reception Monday-Thursday evenings for a light meal and complimentary beer and wine. Why stay anywhere else when you can have value and all the amenities you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Homewood Nashville
Nashville Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.