We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, with a few misses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #19 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Sierra Vista AZ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location, with a few misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We chose this hotel for our 4 night stay in Nashville due to its proximity to the Country Music Hall of Fame. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in was easy enough, and our room seemed clean and comfortable and nicely appointed with a sofa and desk with lots of outlets for chargers, etc. We did have a couple issues with our room and location.

We were facing 4th Avenue, directly across the street from the service entrances for the newly built Omni Hotel. All hours of the day and night big semi trucks and garbage trucks came and went...with their beeping as they backed into the bays on ground level. We were on the 4th floor, and even then we could hear garbage trucks entering to load and unload the big dumpsters. We could also SEE the dumpsters inside the bays full of hotel garbage.

The second irritant was the so-called "fitted" sheet on our king bed. The thing was totally too small, and even before we used the bed we could see that the top corners of it were barely pulled over the top of the mattress. The darn thing came loose numerous times during the night. With the prices this place charges, they could certainly afford to have properly fitting sheets! BTW, we did not have our room serviced during our stay - we prefer that most everywhere we go.

And there was one waste basket for the entire room. Not sure if that was an oversight on the part of housekeeping. We collected excess trash in plastic bags and disposed of it ourselves.

The free breakfasts each morning were great! The nice selections of foods, fruit, juices, coffee and tea were much appreciated. Also, it's nice that they keep coffee, hot water and lemonade available all day. And the location of the hotel can't be beaten if you want to visit many of the sights in the area. Just be aware there is A LOT of construction going on in every direction...noise and congestion are everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the 4th Avenue side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments about your stay with us. We do apologize for the invonveniences you detailed and will share with our staff to make needed improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    333
    90
    20
    17
See reviews for
202
328
30
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Common sense is needed at this place. They were pressure washing the entrance while everyone was trying to check in ---they should have scheduled during a less busy time --- perhaps just after lunch? When I did make it to the line, there were 7 people...and only one person behind the desk. Once I waited a few minutes, they did manage to call a second person. Check in was ok.

The room size was nice....but smelled a bit moldy. Not sure why.

While there were may lights in the room, they were poorly placed and they used bulbs that were low wattage. Hard to see without the blinds open.

One of the two phones in the room did not work. I used the one that DID to report about the second as well as to schedule a wake up call. The call never came....I guess it was a good thing that at the crack of dawn, someone was sanding something just outside so loudly it woke me. Perhaps that was it?

I also needed to do some work and asked for a late check out (and reported about the lack of a wake up call) The desk person seemed indifferent about the wake up call.
said she had to check if I could have the late check out. She finally came back and said 12:45. That must not have been communicated to the cleaning staff as twice my calls/work was interrupted with the maids knocking on the door. Anyway, with some minor changes and organization, it might be a decent place.

Room Tip: Don't choose second floor near the entrance. NOISE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments about your stay with us and we will discuss improvements that we can make here at our hotel. We appreciate your time and bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great Time in Nashville that included our stay at the Hampton. I was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. It was only a short walk to Broadway. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return when in Nashville. Thanks for reviewing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great location by the Country Music Hall of Fame and only a couple of blocks from Broadway and all the bars and great restaurants. The complimentary breakfast had all the hot and cold items anyone would want.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our hotel and Music City USA! We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A pleasant surprise and good value. This is a real downtown hotel with the added value of the Hampton breakfast, friendly service and free wifi. The location is perfect for walking to the downtown venues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed both your stay with us and all of the FUN attractions in Nashville...come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very nice hotel conveniently located near to major attractions and right across from the Country Music Hall of Fame. Decor and free internet were great. Rooms were nice and clean and the service was top notch. A bit expensive but then most hotels in Nashville were on the pricey side

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for taking time to send a review and thanks for letting others know you enjoyed our hotel and Music City USA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I thought it was a clean and friendly hotel. It is not glamorous or have room service, but it does have a pretty good breakfast in the morning and local places that will deliver. The location was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Your comments are valuable to us and we appreciate you taking time to send them along! Hope to see you again here at our hotel when in Nashville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Address: 310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nashville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville Downtown is located across the street from the Country Music Hall of Fame and just blocks from the Music City Center, live music on Broadway, and events at Bridgestone Arena. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast, complimentary internet, and a convenient location close to everything Nashville has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown Hotel Nashville
Hampton Inn And Suites Nashville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.