We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you want to stay Downtown it a really good hotel at a good price, it doesn't come much better.
Great location. A bit tricky to find with all the road works for the building of the new convention centre next door. Valet parking optional.
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice room. Clean and well appointed. Great HDTV and excellent free wifi.
Breakfast is the pretty standard American mid range package. Lot of business people staying in the week. Good fitness centre, with good range of equipment. Pool looked nice, but we didn't use it.
Best thing is the location. Literally across the street from the Country Music Hall of Fame and 5 minutes form Broadway and all the restaurants, bars and shops. Great.

Room Tip: River side are away for the convention centre building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay! We are happy to hear that you had a great time and were able to enjoy all that Downtown Nashville has to offer! We look forward to you staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    369
    104
    23
    18
See reviews for
228
376
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Upon arrival after driving six hours, we checked into the Hampton Inn and Suites in downtown Nashville, Tennessee. We were happy to learn that our earlier request for a room away from the construction was noted. When we arrived at our room, neither of our keys worked so a trip back to the front desk was necessary. After the clerk insinuated that we somehow de-magnetized the keys with our credit cards, new keys were programmed and back to the room we went. These keys worked; however, when we opened the door there stood a naked man! (Okay, the naked part was an exaggeration.) He was not phased, and even commented on our STL Cardinal attire. Once again a trip to the front desk was in order. We were told that the guest in the room was supposed to have checked out (he told us, he had just arrived).

After the original desk clerk fumbled around making excuses for the mishap, a second clerk, Allison, stepped up. She immediately apologized for the inconvenience and put us in a beautiful suite. Everything from that point on was very satisfactory.

We don't expect everything to be perfect, but it all depends on how the situation is handled when something doesn't go right.

Thank you, Allison!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay! We are sorry to hear about the mix-up, but much relieved that Allison was able to fix the issue! We value your feedback, and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Fabulous hotel. I was pleased with the large spacious room, the comfy beds and pillows, fast elevators, high speed internet (FREE), delicious food (FREE breakfast) and the high quality in cleanliness of the room and the entire hotel. The hotel provides wonderful valet attendants and helpful staff. It is perfectly located in downtown Nashville. Only steps away from great activities, wonderful shopping, magnificent restaurants and spectacular entertainment.
The Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Nashville is a wonderful alternate while away from home. When considering a stay in Nashville, TN, considers staying at the Hampton Inn, you’ll be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our hotel! We believe you summed our hotel up perfectly! We are so glad that you had a great time staying with us, and we hope that you can stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've stayed at this location for 1-2 days this time of year for the past four years. This year I thought things slipped a bit. If you arrive/depart at peak times -- which is when most of us do -- you'll find a log jam of traffic under the portico. The attendant stands by doing nothing to help the situation. Extricating you car from the mess, try entering the garage with the new swipe-card system. Mine didn't work on every opportunity. We were upgraded to a pleasant room, which was larger but contained no additional furniture -- so just more space. The bath was a significant improvement. The was no TV the entire first day because of reception problems -- no one goes there for TV but it was supposed to be provided. On Fri. night there were signs posted in several place stating that the hotel was full and guests that made noise and disturbed others would be asked to leave. I ask Management why they thought the signs necessary and received the reply "you never know what kind of clientele we'll get over the weekend." Hhhmmmmm. I should think they would and that it would be unnecessary to post signs. Another significant concern if you have plans to stay and don't consider noise part of a >$200/day room: significant construction on both sides of the hotel. One was making serious noise at 7:15 a.m. Sat. I was told that this site begins work at 6:30 a.m. The other site looked like work was to start at 7:30 a.m. By this time I had left my room and wasn't able to access the noise level in the room. However, if you have or make plans call the hotel and inquire about construction noise, request a quiet room, and exercise your 100% satisfaction guarantee if things don't work out.

Room Tip: Inquire about possible construction noise from adjacent sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are sorry that your stay was anything less than wonderful. We post the signs up in the elevator to alert guests to keep the noise down, so that everyone can have a wonderful weekend. Unfortunately, we are going through some growing pains in our lovely city so construction can be a bit noisy but please feel free next time to stop by our front desk for some ear plugs. Thank you for your comments, they have helped us to improve our guest experience. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a nice Hampton Inn close to Broadway in Nashville. The rooms are nice and large with a microwave and refrigerator. There isn't a restaurant onsite, but the hotel does have a great breakfast in the morning. My room was on the first floor so there was a lot of noise from construction during the day and loud voices at night. I can't really fault the hotel for that since that is just a natural result of being so close to downtown, but it is worth noting if you are very concerned about getting a decent night's sleep.
The location is hard to beat though. Being walking distance to downtown Nashville really allows you to explore. The pedestrian bridge across the river is only a few blocks away so the hotel is even in a good location to walk to LP field.

Room Tip: The bottom floor is a little loud. I would ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay. Please call us the next time you are in town and we would be happy to put in a request for a higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Only spent one night here but it was the nicest of the hotels on my 5-day trip. Staff was very friendly and generally helpful. We arrived to find that this is not the Hampton Inn near the Grand Ole Opry but instead is downtown. We decided we'd rather stay downtown as the Opry is miles away from the city center. Tthe staff helped us make the change (despite the 48-hour cancellation policy). The hotel is only 2 blocks away from Broadway and all of the honky-tonk bars, Country Music Hall of Fame, etc. Breakfast was very nice--the only hotel that had cut fresh fruit on the breakfast bar. Note: parking is $17 self-park or $22 valet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments on our hotel and staff! We are glad that we were able to assist you in changing your reservation. We know there are many hotels in the area to choose from and we hope that you stay with us the next time you come to Nashville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Only had one night in Nashville but really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton. Rooms were large and clean with friendly staff. Easy walking distance to Broadway. Construction noise was bad at about 8:00 am but I don't blame the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay. We are glad that you had a great time at our hotel, and we hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Address: 310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nashville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#21 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville Downtown is located across the street from the Country Music Hall of Fame and just blocks from the Music City Center, live music on Broadway, and events at Bridgestone Arena. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast, complimentary internet, and a convenient location close to everything Nashville has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown Hotel Nashville
Hampton Inn And Suites Nashville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.