We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience with great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenience with great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights while attending a wedding. The hotel was chosen by the wedding couple for its convenient location within walking distance from the wedding venue. Construction across the street did not affect our stay as they were not actively working there on Labor Day weekend. Quick check in, parking garage directly under the hotel with easy in-out but there is a fee.
Room has iron/board so you need not call housekeeping to ask for that. :o)
Pull out sofa bed was quite comfortable and was made up ahead of time---something that some other hotels do not do unless you remind them to on check in. Nice breakfast included in the price of the room which was $169/night (reduced? rate for wedding guests block booking). We did not use the workout room or pool, so no comment there.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the great comments on our service and breakfast. We hope that the next time you come to Nashville you are able to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    297
    83
    20
    17
See reviews for
185
303
28
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There was nothing special about this hotel at all. We stayed at this hotel for a wedding (probably wouldn't have chosen it otherwise), and paid $179 a night. The location was really good for proximity to Broadway, where there are all sorts of bars and restaurants.

There is major construction going on directly across 4th Ave (Omni Hotel), and the noise from this starts about 7 AM weekdays. The construction site is brightly lit at night, as well.

The service at the hotel is modest, with a friendly but minimal staff.

The workout room is small, with 1 elliptical,, 2 treadmills, and exercise bike, some dumbbells and a small multi-function "machine". The pool and hot tub area is indoors.

The rooms are fine. We had booked two adjoining rooms (from the central reservation number). This was a problem at first, as the hotel stated they don't book adjoining room. Eventually they were able to accomodate our reservation.

Our rooms were fine. One room was a handicapped room, but there were no major alterations to this room. The other room had a significant condensor leak from the A/C unit, which gave it a musty, off smell. The beds were not really that great, and the pillows were pretty worn.

The hotel breakfast, included, was fine, with good food for kids, and those not really interested in healthy choices.

I probably would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not on the 4th Ave side of the building to avoid construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the work-out room, breakfast and the musty room smell. Thank you for your comments, they have helped us to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Again very happy with the Hampton experience ! The beds are great and really comfortable , the location of this hotel across from the CMA Hall of fame was an extra bonus. There is some construction across the road, but it is not too disturbing. All around a great experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our beds and location. Having the Country Music Hall of Fame next door is an added bonus for us. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel, and we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Check in went smoothly. There were 4 people ahead of us and only one desk clerk, but she was pleasant and helpful.

I am Diamond and did not receive any amenity and there was nothing in the room when we went in. As we were leaving the hotel to walk downtown, I asked the desk clerk about it and she told me that they don't put anything in the rooms, since the may change, but that I could pick something out from the pantry which was right next to check in. It was nice to pick, but be ware Diamonds...if you don't ask, you don't get.

Room was very nice. We had a whilrpool suite and I was looking forward to soaking in the tub after a long 10 hour drive. SADLY, the whirlpool tub did not work at all. I tried the big button marked "START". I tried to find a hidden switch. I called the front desk. All to no avail.
Needless to say I ended up feeling like a kid in a tub with no toys. Annoying.

Everything else was spot on. Great location to walk downtown and enjoy all that Nashville has to offer. VERY clean, breakfast was great in the morning. Self Parking was very easy and efficient and the spaces were generous. Price was about $30, but I am not exact on that.

All in all a good stay marred by a couple of small glitches.

Room Tip: If you go downtown for dinner head to Jack's for BBQ. We were told by many that this was the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are sorry that your stay was anything less than exceptional. We leave bottles of water, and snacks in all of our Diamond Members rooms. Please give me a call; I would love to speak with you more about your stay. David McWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As others have reported there is construction on 2 sides of the property. Neither was a problem with noise. The rooms are clean modern and spacious. Good complimentary breakfast is offered. The location is only a few short blocks from 4th and Broadway (the middle of the fun downtown) and next door to the Country Hall of Fame. I got a better rate through one of the travel sites than at the Hampton site. Paid parking is 17 and valet is 22. I went for the valet it was very fast service with in/out privileges.
FYI the Hampton site has special deals, that they will charge the same cost every night. For example a Gas special is about $30 more for $50 of gas, good deal if you stay one night. But they will charge the same rate for two nights but only one gas card per stay. I challenged this but they did not budge thus I when to a travel site to book.
I would return on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our breakfast and valet staff. We are glad that you were able to find a great rate! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the best hotel stay I have had in a very long time. Despite having full occupancy, the hotel run extremly smooth. I recommended the hotel to three of my husband's friends who also had a fantastic experience this weekend. Compared with other Hampton Inns, I would rate this the highest I have experienced - large, comfortable, and clean rooms, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing down town or one with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the great comments on our staff and rooms. We always love to hear wonderful feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just returned from our holidays of which we stayed the majority of our nights at Hampton Inns.
Unfortunately the only one that was not a pleasant stay was the Nashville downtown Hampton.
There is construction taking place across the street and it was 24 hours a day. I don't think I slept all night. The Hampton staff was not very understanding to this major inconvenience! The room was nice and comfortable, but we value our sleep when we are on a travelling holiday. It is important to get a good nights rest when we are driving from one city to another. They could have let us know when we booked the room or given us another room on the opposite side of the construction!
Signed sleepless in Nashville, Linda

Room Tip: Ask if they are on the side of the hotel were the construction is taking place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are sorry that your stay was anything less than wonderful. Unfortunately, we are going through some growing pains in our lovely city so construction can be a bit noisy but please feel free next time to stop by our front desk for some ear plugs. Thank you for your comments, they have helped us to improve our guest experience. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Address: 310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nashville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#20 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville Downtown is located across the street from the Country Music Hall of Fame and just blocks from the Music City Center, live music on Broadway, and events at Bridgestone Arena. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast, complimentary internet, and a convenient location close to everything Nashville has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown Hotel Nashville
Hampton Inn And Suites Nashville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.