We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two night stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Music City Hostel

Music City Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Music City Hostel
Save
You added Music City Hostel to your Saves list
1809 Patterson St., Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great two night stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Loved this hostel!
Really good area (walgreens, food, free parking, attractions all walking distance)
Clean, comfy and pretty good wifi.

Rooms were secure and good areas for socializing

Kitchen is great, tons of spices and stuff to cook with.
Only thing is it can be bit loud at night

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
6
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Now Firstly I must confess I am more a cheap hotel girl than a hostel girl so my other half had to explain to me that the lack of towels is normal. My only gripe with this place was the price. It's about a mile and a half away from downtown which didn't bother us so much but could be a problem for others. But I have had a lot more for a lot less whilst traveling across the states. The hostel is tired and could do with new mattresses and bedding but it was clean and quiet and we had no problem parking. It was fine but for $85 a night for two of us I expect more.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in multiple hostels and Music City Hostel is by far the best. It is an older building, but well taken care of. The price is great and it is an easy walk into downtown Nashville. We really liked the music city location because it is in a quieter part of town. We stayed in a shared room and everyone was very respectful and I felt comfortable leaving things in the room. I hope to be back for another visit sometime.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Quite a nice hostel with great friendly staff. Bedroom was a bit small, struggled for space for everyones cases! The bed wasn't the comfiest either. However the hostel had a great vibe and atmosphere - I wish I'd had more time to spend in it to meet other travellers but on the 1 night I did I had a blast. Good location too as only a short walk downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After staying at the downtown hostel and loving it, I decided to stay at one of "Ron's other hostels." Music city is conveniently located to the baptist hospital and Vanderbilt campus. This hostel is more of a home atmosphere and less of the party scene which I really enjoyed! Ron and his wife are awesome and lovely! You can walk to many restaurants. Free parking!!! Free wifi! Everything you need if you are in town for business. I feel completely safe at either hostels as a female traveling alone. Thanks so much for people like Ron and his wife for running places like this! Cheers!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the worst hostels we stayed in. Staff were very rude, snatching alcohol out of our hands despite them sitting there themselves drinking. People were loud, inconsiderate and very unfriendly. Rooms very stuffy with plastic sheet on matress. We forked out of our shrinking budget and stayed in a hotel one night. Did not enjoy it at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_Host, Owner at Music City Hostel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate all reviews good and bad as they help us improve our operation. We aim to create safe and harmonious environment for guest of all age and background. The consumption of beer and wine is not a problem but we prohibit consumption of hard liquor. As you stated in the review the consumption of liquors and party atmosphere can be a toxic mix for loud and inconsiderate behavior.

Our rules and guideline that include the alcohol policy are emailed to guest when booking is made and again during the check in. We offer storage of liquor until the check out date. Our staff may have over reacted when trying to manage difficult crowd control situation. The staff may have been abrupt and short when faced with blatant disregard for the rules and guidelines. Our apologies as all guest, intoxicated or otherwise, deserves our respect and gratitude.

We train our staff to be considerate and be graceful in all circumstances. However, I know first hand how difficult this can be. The reasoning and logic fail when intoxication is involved. We will use this review to better train and manage our staff. We seek cooperation from our guest to better our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

i've not been to Midtown Music City Hostel on Patterson St, where this lovely Hostel all began -this review is for the Downtown Music City Hostel just off Broadway where all bars are! i went in october 2012 when hostel just been opened. downtown music city hotel is what made my week in nashville! such a wonderful welcoming and friendly community with great accommodation and all just minutes walk from Broadway where there's country music from 10am till 2am every day! great modern facilities for kitchen in open plan social area where can hang out, use internet, play games, chat and even pick up instrument and play! bathroom and dorms were modern and cleaned every day with small quiet areas where can sit in calm and read books on display. check out the folder at front desk giving top tips what to visit- try sunday church service in one of bars on broadway!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Music City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hostel

Address: 1809 Patterson St., Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in midtown Nashville, within walking distance to Downtown Entertainment district and Vanderbilt University. We have private apartments, private rooms and dormitory beds. We don’t accept reservation for long term stay apartments and private rooms via hostel booking system. We do accept short term dormitory beds booking via hostel booking system. We aim to provide safe, comfortable, and convenient lodging experience. For security, we require either a Passport or Two photo identifications at check in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Music City Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Music City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.