We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Music City Hostel

Music City Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Music City Hostel
Save Saved
You added Music City Hostel to your Saves list
1809 Patterson St., Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the worst hostels we stayed in. Staff were very rude, snatching alcohol out of our hands despite them sitting there themselves drinking. People were loud, inconsiderate and very unfriendly. Rooms very stuffy with plastic sheet on matress. We forked out of our shrinking budget and stayed in a hotel one night. Did not enjoy it at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel_Host, Owner at Music City Hostel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate all reviews good and bad as they help us improve our operation. We aim to create safe and harmonious environment for guest of all age and background. The consumption of beer and wine is not a problem but we prohibit consumption of hard liquor. As you stated in the review the consumption of liquors and party atmosphere can be a toxic mix for loud and inconsiderate behavior.

Our rules and guideline that include the alcohol policy are emailed to guest when booking is made and again during the check in. We offer storage of liquor until the check out date. Our staff may have over reacted when trying to manage difficult crowd control situation. The staff may have been abrupt and short when faced with blatant disregard for the rules and guidelines. Our apologies as all guest, intoxicated or otherwise, deserves our respect and gratitude.

We train our staff to be considerate and be graceful in all circumstances. However, I know first hand how difficult this can be. The reasoning and logic fail when intoxication is involved. We will use this review to better train and manage our staff. We seek cooperation from our guest to better our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
6
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

i've not been to Midtown Music City Hostel on Patterson St, where this lovely Hostel all began -this review is for the Downtown Music City Hostel just off Broadway where all bars are! i went in october 2012 when hostel just been opened. downtown music city hotel is what made my week in nashville! such a wonderful welcoming and friendly community with great accommodation and all just minutes walk from Broadway where there's country music from 10am till 2am every day! great modern facilities for kitchen in open plan social area where can hang out, use internet, play games, chat and even pick up instrument and play! bathroom and dorms were modern and cleaned every day with small quiet areas where can sit in calm and read books on display. check out the folder at front desk giving top tips what to visit- try sunday church service in one of bars on broadway!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this hostel and things sure changed. They opened a new branch Downtown so the Midtown location is no party hostel.

Was visiting with my girlfriend this time so we enjoyed the quit times and serenity vibe of this place. Clean rooms and nice patio, about 20min from Downtown by foot and free parking on the street and behind the hostel.

Tip: if you're traveling alone or with friends, best book the Downtown one for a party vibe.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Came to Nashvile for a conference. The conference hotel was overpriced and overbooked, so I opted for a private room at this hostel instead for all 4 nights for less than half of what the hotel would've cost. Despite the fact that I arrived from the airport after 11pm on a Saturday night, the staff person on duty was welcoming and helpful. Room was clean, bed was comfy, and after a long travel day I really appreciated the HOT shower! This was the perfect place to wind down after 8hr conference days. Appreciated the friendly people & the free wifi was great for keeping up with stuff at home. Would definitely recommend to others/stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a fab time. The hostel has a great location and is an easy stroll to bars, restaurants, music and groceries. The staff were friendly, helpful and fun while the hostel itself was clean, spacious and had a really laid back atmosphere. Great suggestions of things to do/where to go and a daily board with events etc.
As 2 girls travelling we felt really safe here, even getting back late at night and would happily recommend anyone to stay here!!

Room Tip: Shared rooms, can request same sex if you want to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hostel several times over several years. Always a great time, good area, Walgreens is just a block or so away. It is a little ways from downtown, but not bad. The last time staying I'd been coming in after a pretty rough time - really appreciated the hospitality and easy going time there. There's limited off street parking, a welcoming spot.

Room Tip: I haven't had a problem sleeping any time I've stayed here. Rooms are pretty comfortable. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Music City Hostel (on Patterson St.) was the first Nashville stop on our tour.
The managers, Gary and Mirthe, are welcoming, informative, and reliable. That's already more than I can say for most hotels I've been in. Rooms/Bathrooms were clean, the patio is a great spot for music jams. Internet's decent - and free! I felt at home here as a touring musician and ran into a number of great folks on their own adventures.

You'll have to walk a bit to get downtown, but there are bars/good restaurants very close by.

Keep up the great work guys - I'll see you next time.
-Strumero

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Music City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hostel

Address: 1809 Patterson St., Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in midtown Nashville, within walking distance to Downtown Entertainment district and Vanderbilt University. We have private apartments, private rooms and dormitory beds. We don’t accept reservation for long term stay apartments and private rooms via hostel booking system. We do accept short term dormitory beds booking via hostel booking system. We aim to provide safe, comfortable, and convenient lodging experience. For security, we require either a Passport or Two photo identifications at check in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Music City Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Music City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.