We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Music City Hostel

Music City Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Music City Hostel
Save
You added Music City Hostel to your Saves list
1809 Patterson St., Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was doing a musical trip with 2 friends.
We call to the hostel from Nashville's airport without a reservation. The reception was brillant.
People are very cool. I made friendship with a lot of people from all around the world.
It's not very near the centre. But you can walk 25 minutes to the bars in Broadway. Probably it worth to share a taxi on the way back "home".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
6
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a good place to sleep and the staff is nice. It's a little run down and it's difficult to charge anything because the electrical outlets are so old plugs just fall out of the outlet and land on the ground. Also, even with the central air it still felt a little hot in the unit which made it harder for me to sleep. It's a great location if you will be spending a lot of time at the gay bars and clubs up and down church street, however if that's not your scene you can't beat their other Hostel in downtown. Stay at that one instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I showed up to the Patterson location around midnight, and they sent me to their other location, on 1st Ave. North and Church st. I'm glad they did. This place was not only in a fantastic location, but it was really cool inside! I've been to a lot of hostels, and this is definitely top 3. The staff saved me from a $20 parking fee by referring me to a parking garage down the road, and they were fun to hang out with. The rooms were well kept (I'm a professional cleaner, so I'm not just saying that) and the commons area was loaded with fun things to do, and space to hang out. I couch surfed the first couple of nights, which was free, but would rather have paid to stay here. It was a blast, and I'll definitely stay there again next time I go to Nashville. (Be sure to stay at the downtown location)

Room Tip: The fourth floor is a 24/7 quiet zone, a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Needing just a place to sleep for the night, this hostel serves the purpose. At minimal cost, I had a bed with clean sheets, clean bathroom, wi-fi, access to microwave, refrigerator, etc. Coffee in the morning reading the local paper. Free parking right outside of the rooms. Sort of a home away from home. I highly recommend if you don't need luxuries like a sauna, pool, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the new downtown Music City Hostel a couple of weeks ago with friends and absolutely LOVED IT! It was much bigger than I thought with a spacious chill out area, all open plan with the kitchen and reception area, which is also the laundry area too. FREE WI-FI and there's also 3-4 computers available to use too.
We stayed int he Patsy Cline room, i love how all the rooms are named after famous artists! There's a choice of private bathrooms or female bathrooms with clean showers, toilets, sink etc...all really spacious.
The location is fantastic - you're a 5min walk from downtown Nashville where all the cool bars are and also where the Country Music Hall of Fame Museum is too, and the Ryman - everything is right on your doorstep.
The staff are really helpful, if a little too laid back, but i think that's the deep south in general, i'm from the UK so not used to that! Ha! I liked the fact that they had their 'quiet rule' on the floors where the dorms are, you had to be quiet after 10pm so you could go party all night, and even carry on in main reception area! And no one in bed would be bothered.
Amazing value for money - i highly recommend peeps! I will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed at the new downtown location on 1st Avenue North. The staff were great when we had any questions or needed help and they were all really nice and we'd become friends with a few of them. The lounge area was big and spacious- a few seating areas, dining table, tv, and piano. The kitchen was probably one of the best kitchens I've seen in a hostel- spacious and well equipped. Rooms were big as well, only thing was there were no mirrors or hooks because obviously the place is new and they're still fixing the place up, but those were minor details. Location was amazing, close to Broadway and easy to navigate.

The only negatives were- you had to pay for a towel and for luggage storage.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed for 5 days and i had een great time..the staff was very friendly and would help you out if you have any questions. Great place to meet other people and musicians. Also you could sit outside wich was very nice..felt sad to leave but I would definitely go back when Ik visit nashville.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Music City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hostel

Address: 1809 Patterson St., Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in midtown Nashville, within walking distance to Downtown Entertainment district and Vanderbilt University. We have private apartments, private rooms and dormitory beds. We don’t accept reservation for long term stay apartments and private rooms via hostel booking system. We do accept short term dormitory beds booking via hostel booking system. We aim to provide safe, comfortable, and convenient lodging experience. For security, we require either a Passport or Two photo identifications at check in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Music City Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Music City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.