We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See While in Nashville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum

Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum
417 4th Ave. N, Nashville Municipal Auditorium, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)
615-244-3263
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #41 of 197 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum honors musicians from stars to studio players, from all genres of music. Historic artifacts include instruments played on original recordings of Red Hot Chili Peppers, Hank Williams, Sr., George Harrison, Frank Sinatra, The Supremes, Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Chicago and more. See the original stage where a young Jimi Hendrix played. "To be recognized by this institution is the greatest honor a musician can have." -Neil Young.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Must See While in Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

In my opinion this is the #2 best thing to do in Nashville (Grand Ole Opry being #1). The history is absolutely fantastic and is presented in various medias; artifacts, videos, recordings, and live interaction with actual performers, If you to see it all give yourself the better part of a full day to so, especially if you intend on including the Studio 'B' tour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    25
    15
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marmaduke, Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sittin' On The Dock of The Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very cool place to kill 2+ hours. If your into music and what goes on behind the "star" and music history you will love this museum. They have have the drums that were used to record Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay as well as lots of other instruments used on many hit songs across all genres. They take you back in time to studios and locations where music history was created. Not only can you see but you can touch lots of the items. They have a piano that Elvis played and Floyd Cramer recorded Last Date on. Go there you won't regret it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Behind the Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a great collection of memorabilia with a lot of information about the music business. What most people don't realize is these artists make the sound we all associate with singers of all genres including country, rock, and motown. It's a look at the stories behind the stories with interesting insight into how the music business works behind the scenes. The videos were informative, but we wanted the video screens to be bigger. The worst part is parking, and we'd love to see a cafe on site. The cheerful staff suggested we'd be an hour on the self-guided tour, but we were there for two because there was so much to see. It's a great value and totally worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Public Relations Manager at Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are in the process of expanding our museum and will take into account visitors suggestions in that process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Music Lovers Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just wanted to take a minute to tell everyone about the great exhibits and staff at this gem in Nashville . Blake the manager and his team were friendly and helpful when I needed to go out twice to add more money to the parking meters outside , there was no way you can rush through this place !! The exhibits were well done , informative and they have a treasure trove of memorabilia covering some of the greatest music and musicians ever . It covers all genres and really pays tribute to the musicians who helped create the songs we love !! I would recommend going to anyone who visits Nashville ... Thanks for a wonderful experience !!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family and I got to the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum just as a short, intense cloud burst started. The staff greeted us happily and just after we handed in our tickets realized that we forgot to grab lunch. Without missing a beat, they popped an iPad into my hands and pulled up a few restaurants in the area, from which we could order online, and who deliver to the Hall! Within 15 minutes we had a solid lunch for five delivered and were eating while sitting in the Hall’s pub tables. It was an awesome opening to a great visit at the Hall. The staff made it seem casual and routine, but in reality they went out of their way to make us happy and help us enjoy our visit. Kudos and thanks!

Now, for the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum itself. Hey really cool stuff! It opened with an engaging ten minute (or so) movie about the music industry. That got us prepped for the museum itself. We saw old recording equipment – most of which I generally recognized from my days of interest in music writing and recording. We saw the snare that Danny Seraphine (Chicago) played when recording Saturday in the Park, letters and works from the Beatles (individuals and group), Beach Boys paraphernalia, on and on I could go. All of it is well narrated in a self-paced tour, and the layout invites you to go back and re-read / revisit sections again. Well worth the visit. if you pushed yourself you could be in and out in one hour, but don't push yourself. Take it in.

Make it an early part of your Nashville experience, so you can build the rest of your Nashville visit on the knowledge and fun you’ll gain here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.