We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Time Was Had By ALL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Schermerhorn Symphony Center
1 Symphony Place, Nashville, TN 37201
615-687-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Nashville Evening Tour with BBQ Dinner
Ranked #1 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Led by Music Director Designate Giancarlo Guerrero and President and CEO Alan D. Valentine, the Grammy Award-winning Nashville Symphony has a growing international reputation for its recordings and innovative programming. With 140 performances annually, the 83-member Nashville Symphony is an arts leader in Nashville and beyond, offering a broad range of classical, pops and jazz concerts; special events; children's concerts and community outreach programs.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Good Time Was Had By ALL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently drove my mom and two of her friends from St. Louis to see Il Volo in Nashville. My only complaint was the $20 pre-paid valet parking fee. My mom needed a wheelchair and most venues in St. Louis will give you free or reduced parking if you have a handicap tag. However, people could not have been nicer when we arrived. They made sure we were escorted to the elevator and taken to the correct area. I surprised my mom by buying tickets in the first set of box seats on the stage. She was unable to take the wheelchair all the way. She had to get out and climb 4 or 5 steps up and walk 5 feet and 4-5 steps down in the hallway to get to the seats. The view was worth it!! After the show they met her at the steps and helped her navigate them and had her wheelchair waiting.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    37
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Saw a concert, not a bad seat in the room. So classes and elegant, public parking across the street, otherwise it's the standard $25/6 hrs. I would recommend seeing any show here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Symphony View Seats-what a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We sat in the "symphony view" seats for the Brandi Carlile concert, and it felt like we were insiders who got a secret extra show. Sitting so close we could see the set list was awesome, not to mention getting to watch the director. The venue is beautiful and the staff very welcoming. We did think the sound quality is probably not as good in the symphony view seats, but we thought it was a worthwhile trade. We enjoyed grabbing a drink and sitting in the garden before the show. It was such a little oasis.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pink Floyd show was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed this show. They played all the songs from the "Dark Side of the Moon" album and then played a lot of the bigger hits from "The Wall". The lasers were disappointing because the ceiling in the hall is not flat and provided a poor surface for that part of the show. The guitar solos were not on track with the actual ones in the original songs. It seems some liberty was given to the lead guitarist to play his own. Also, the lead singers voice was flat at times.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Concert and Visit Inspired a Poem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

July 5, 2014

Late last year, my brother and I met in Nashville, a perfect reunion location between Arkansas and Maryland. We focused our trip around tickets to see Michael McDonald in concert with the Nashville Symphony at the new Schermerhorn Symphony Hall. Great choice! The Hall's orchestra seats and seats above the stage were not the most expensive, but delivered great sound and clear views. Nashville is truly Music City USA, with a diverse menu of high quality music and entertainment...indoors and out. In addition to the Grand Ole Opry and other landmarks, city streets are bustling with great stores and restaurants. After the concert, we retreated to a rented home, a quiet B&B in the nearby neighborhood of Inglewood. It was very close to a popular, beautifully maintained park that offers running and biking and walking trails along the lovely, meandering Cumberland River. We toured Belmont Mansion, a beautiful antebellum home circa 1849, now on Belmont College campus. It was used for US Army preparations in the Civil War, Battle of Nashville, in 1864. Our docent-led tour was excellent. It covered nearly 10,000 square feet of the home and the life and legacy of its mistress: Adelicia Acklen, and her life before, during, and after the War. This tour reminded me of relatives from Jackson County, Tennessee. Soldiers were lost and families stayed or migrated to Texas and may have stopped in Nashville on their journeys.

My most recent visit inspired this poem:

Ode to Nashville!

Warm and welcoming capital of Tennessee, where we met in harmony
Heard great talent in Music City USA, Schemerhorn Hall and Nashville Symphony
At Ryman Auditorium and Grand Ole Opry, enjoyed the soul of music country
Belmont Mansion, inspired by a Civil War woman's amazing story

What makes Nashville fascinating through its history?
Cradled in the Cumberland River called Wasioto in Shawnee
Nashville Central Basin rimmed by highlands and trees
Part of ancient mountains blanketing Alabama to Maine
Former inland seas fossils uplifted, the "Appalachia" chain

First Mississippian culture built mounds and hunted game
With immigrants, a trading post, fort, then river port came
First settlers raised cotton to sell by barge or by rail to sea
During wartime, Nashville's commerce thrived on diversity
Leaders conducting smartly in times of vast adversity

Where people gather, there are stories to tell
And great venues needed to celebrate them well
We are all pioneers with plans to achieve
Inheriting ancestors' spirits to create and be free
And risk, learn, and do what we love and believe

Nashville's leaders, infrastructure, and talent galore
Unite families, states, and nations around a musical score
Becoming a beautiful place to be free and in harmony
With hopes for new music venues and family reunions to be

Liz D

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schermerhorn Symphony Center also viewed

 

Been to Schermerhorn Symphony Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schermerhorn Symphony Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.