We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it's been there years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Schermerhorn Symphony Center
1 Symphony Place, Nashville, TN 37201
+1 615-687-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Nashville Evening Tour with BBQ Dinner
Ranked #4 of 268 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience music of all genres in Nashville's acoustical gem, Schermerhorn Symphony Center. Home to the GRAMMY Award-winning Nashville Symphony, the venue hosts more than 140 events each year. Experience classical masterworks, exciting new music and today's greatest artists, with breathtaking sound of 84 world-class musicians onstage. Wine, beer and cocktails available at all concerts, with casual dining available at the in-house Cherry Street Eatery. Tours of the building are offered free of charge at 1 p.m. on most Wednesdays and Saturdays.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like it's been there years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Acoustically phenom. Beautiful. Went to see a concert ( not with the symphony) and sat in balcony. Comfortable seating. It's as if it has been standing for over a 100 years. I was to attend again tonight for Brandi Carlile, but she postpone her date with the symphony for an illness. Having heard the DSO ( Detroit Symphony) on many occasions I look forward to a taste of Nashville.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    40
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Distant World/Final Fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Parked across the street in the parking garage. Arrived early and ate at the Cherry Street Eatery. Graphics were shown on the screen from the games as the symphony performed the music. Kim Keys performed two songs for this performance. Very enjoyable evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“World Class Symphony Center!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

You will have to go to Europe to find a classical symphony center this beautiful and with perfect acoustics AND a grammy-winning symphony orchestra! I love our symphony!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Night out with mother”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I carried my mother here to see Mama Mia for her birthday. My mother is in a wheelchair. I called ahead and they were able to get her into a special seat asked that I call when I got there. They met me on the corner and carried mama in while I parked the car. They knew it was her birthday and treated her like a queen that night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Symphonic Venue in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This ranks as, most likely, the best symphonic venue in the country. The acoustics are perfect from all angles and in any seat, even on the back row of the lower section. Solo instruments can be heard as if the musician is sitting 15 feet in front of you. The building itself is the classiest building in Nashville.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schermerhorn Symphony Center also viewed

 

Been to Schermerhorn Symphony Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schermerhorn Symphony Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.