We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campus near downtown Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University
2201 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37235
615-322-7311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Nashville
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus near downtown Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I went to college here in the 1980s, and living in Nashville I still visit the campus from time to time for events. The main part of campus has expanded but remains lovely, with beautiful buildings and lots of tree-lined paths. Lots of venues for events. The hospital campus is a bit difficult to navigate if you are not familiar - allow plenty of time to find your way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My organization went on an evening tour of the campus grounds, one October evening...
Our tour guide lived on campus and told us the story of how Vanderbilt came to be, and that the campus was "haunted."
We walked around and he told us stories about each building, the dorms, the architecture, and the founding fathers......

Big trees, old and new buildings.
Lovely grounds.
Nice place to walk and see history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vanderbilt University campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully landscaped campus, center of so many fine restaurants and activities in lively Nashville scene.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful music at the Blair School of Music of Vanderbilt University!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our visit to Nashville included a performance at the Blair School of Music. We attended a Viola recital, and the student performers were top-notch! We also visited the entire campus, and were impressed by the freshman Commons and the architecture and especially the beautiful landscape of the campus.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Baseball graduation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hall where the graduation was held was a great art exhibit also. I really enjoyed that. I was disappointed in the ceremony and speech. The speech meandered around and probably had a point, but it was lacked preparation. Vanderbilt holds thier students to high standards, but the speaker [Williams?] did not reflect the standards of this great university.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanderbilt University also viewed

 

Been to Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.