We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite Nashville Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatch Show Print

Hatch Show Print
224 5th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)
615 256 2805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 Shopping in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: If you follow Southern music, art and culture, from the Delta blues to honky-tonk heroes, you've no doubt seen the unmistakable look of a promotional poster made by Hatch Show Print, one of the oldest working letterpress print shops in America. Located in a historic building at 316 Broadway in the heart of downtown Nashville, Hatch Show Print has produced posters for performers ranging from B.B. King to Dolly Parton.
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Nashville Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited the shop after our Country Music HOF tour, but decided to go back for the Hatch tour a few days later. So glad we did. The tour is not long, but you get a great overview of letterpress history, and how the rise and fall and rise of the Broadway area had affected the shop (what the effect of the Ryman closing in the 70's did to the area and the print shop). Loved the look of the prints, which just can't be duplicated digitally, and we even got to roll the top copy on our own print.

They do accept AAA, as do many attractions in Nashville.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    83
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Last summer we visited Hatch Show Print in their Broadway store. It has since relocated to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. The space is larger and new, but the vintage charm is still alive with the same wall of wooden block letters that defined the Broadway location. The tour begins in the print shop, where the guides explain the history and the production process. You can't walk around the production area, but there is still plenty to see from presses to posters. The second half of the tour is in the classroom. The room is lined with walls of Hatch Show prints, making it a visual feast. We learned more details about the printing process in the classroom, and saw examples of vintage and new posters. At the end, everyone had the opportunity to press their own keepsake poster from a preset design.

The retail store has a wide selection of prints for sale, as well as cards, t-shirts, and other souvenirs. The Hatch Show Print gallery in the same wing is also worth a stop. When I initially found out that Hatch Show Print had moved from its Broadway location, I was disappointed. The new Hall of Fame location allows visitors more opportunities to appreciate the history and artistry behind the prints.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Our Trip to Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Nashville, and this was by far our favorite visit of the trip. If you love art, local history, museums or music, you’ll find something to love at Hatch Show Print. The shop itself is free to visit, and you can see the working studio through large glass windows, but I recommend taking the tour as well (~$15) which gets you inside the studio for a guided tour covering the history of the shop as well as a bit of Nashville musical and cultural history. The tour guides were very personable and knowledgeable about letterpress printing, and will even guide you through making your own print. This tour had a little bit of everything; supporting the arts, seeing a ton of great music themed art and taking home a little something. Absolutely loved it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool tour, wish it was longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Tour was fun and definitely enjoyed learning about the history. Daughter also enjoyed making a letterpress poster. Enjoyed seeing all the old artwork around. Must see nashville staple.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy NC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We didn't do the tour. We visited the store inside the hall of fame. It was nice to look around. We watched through the class as a couple people made posters. I wouldn't go of my way to visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatch Show Print also viewed

 

Been to Hatch Show Print? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatch Show Print, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.