We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool tour, wish it was longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatch Show Print

Hatch Show Print
224 5th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)
615 256 2805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Shopping in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: If you follow Southern music, art and culture, from the Delta blues to honky-tonk heroes, you've no doubt seen the unmistakable look of a promotional poster made by Hatch Show Print, one of the oldest working letterpress print shops in America. Located in a historic building at 316 Broadway in the heart of downtown Nashville, Hatch Show Print has produced posters for performers ranging from B.B. King to Dolly Parton.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool tour, wish it was longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Tour was fun and definitely enjoyed learning about the history. Daughter also enjoyed making a letterpress poster. Enjoyed seeing all the old artwork around. Must see nashville staple.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    89
    27
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Airy NC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We didn't do the tour. We visited the store inside the hall of fame. It was nice to look around. We watched through the class as a couple people made posters. I wouldn't go of my way to visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
322 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Classic Printing Technology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a tour of Hatch, including a presentation on the letter press techniques they use to print music posters and other types of printed materials. We had the opportunity to use a demo printer, and Hatch has an excellent gift shop.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worthwhile hour or so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Interesting tour of the art of letterpress and its history. Informative staff. Fun getting to see many one of a kind posters and the back classroom experience where we got to add the final coat to a print to keep.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Was a great lesson in print history, Nashville history, and even country music history. So glad to see them preserving the same tools used for so many years and preserving and carrying on this craft. So many arts like this die off due to convenience and the digital age. I'm glad so many businesses still find the need for quality art and skill in advertising. We learned a lot and took a print home. Although I was hoping to make more of a personalized print, it was still neat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatch Show Print also viewed

 

Been to Hatch Show Print? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatch Show Print, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.