We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Restaurant & Brewery

Blackstone Restaurant & Brewery
1918 West End Ave., Nashville, TN 37203
615-327-9969
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 1,718 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

walking in the place smelled of old mop water & beer. we were seated in a corner where there were several refill pitchers above wifes head she got splashed once when a server came rushing by and set another pitcher on the banister there. server was super slow got the beer order mixed up oh well. the porter was decent but a little on the thin side for a porter but with good flavor. wife had american brown ale which she liked very well. food ended up being pretty good not greasy and everything that was supposed to be hot was hot and things were to be cold were cold. one thing that made us very uneasy was that the people who were right next to us ended up with the wrong dish delivered and we watched the girl sit there for a while waiting for the server to come back and get it fixed. the server took the food dish from the table and walked back to the prep area which is in view of the bar, set that dish back up there and took another dish off and delivered it to the lady who was waiting........ uuuuhhhh i'm not sure i would want a dish that was sitting in front of a stranger for 10 minutes as my food...... just saying. probably will not go back again nothing too memorable besides that food goof up lol

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    80
    53
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go for the burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were able to eat without too much trouble here. Most of our visit to TN we struggled to find healthy food but the menu here had a good selection of food that wasn't fried or BBQ

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average at best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and we had a mediocre meal. Our sever was dopey and had no recommendations for food. She didnt even recommend beer..it a brewery, seriously! Food tasted bland and not worth the average prices we paid. Go somewhere else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Blackstone Restaurant and Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Blackstone is a brewpub that has a rich wood type atmosphere. I had the spinach and artichoke dip with chips and a dark beer. Both were delicious. This place is a comfortable spot to stretch and the comfort food and rich fresh beer help it along. The beer is the star here. You can have a semi private dining experience or just a quick beer at the expansive bar. If you like a good brew choice will go down well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I hate writing only negative reviews, but for this one, I can't include positive feedback. Ok, the parking was adequate. From the atmosphere to the quality of food and beer, this brewery is average at best. It is not the brewery you would expect to find so close to a major university.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackstone Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Blackstone Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Restaurant & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.