We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem Right Off the Interstate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco's Italian Market & Restaurant

Coco's Italian Market & Restaurant
411 51st Ave. N., Nashville, TN 37209
(615)783-0114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 1,632 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: We are not just a great restaurant, at our heart we are a market of Italian imports. Our availability of fresh, authentic products ensures you the real Italian culinary experience.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Right Off the Interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Coco's is a wonderful neighborhood restaurant that is worth more than one visit. The food is delicious, plentiful and affordable and the wait staff was friendly but extremely busy and rushed. The negative is the awkward restaurant floor plan with the kitchen located in an area that requires the servers to carry food from the kitchen, across the grocery market floor space and through the crowd of people shopping and waiting to be seated in the restaurant. More than once I observed a near collision of food and waiting customers. Seating in the restaurant is tight so don't be surprised that your romantic dinner for two may include a family with young children seated just an elbow space away. The positives are the delicious menu choices, the ability to purchase a glass of wine while waiting for a table, the friendly employees and the convenient Italian market. Will definitely visit again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Coco's is always on our list of places to visit while in Nashville. They're always busy, but I take that as a good sign of good food. My best friend always gets the Pollo Pesto. I'm a fan of the Eggplant Parm or Baked Ziti.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

As my family and I continue to find wonderful eateries in West Nashville we were very pleased we "stumbled" upon this place.

Coco's has been around for a while but we happened upon it by accident. Driving to another restaurant and wondering "what are all of the cars doing in front of that place?"

We went on a Friday night after 6p. It's my understanding it's first come-first served and so, if they're busy, you'll have to wait (stand) in the italian market area. They will serve you beer/wine in this area while you wait. When it's not cold outside, they do have outdoor seating as well.

We ordered a pizza but couldn't pass up one of the sandwiches as well so I also ordered the Muffaletta. Ample portions left us with alot to take home. I'm not going to say this is the best pizza in the world, but it ain't bad. The Muffaletta was about the same. I've had better but there was nothing wrong with this.

We were there with our 7 year old daughter who munched on the pizza. I don't remember if they have a kids menu but, there were plenty of families there.

The service was very good and the prices reasonable.

Again, being in West Nashville near Sylvan Park it's not convenient for out of towners but for us, it's a wonderful find for family friendly good italian food close to our home.

I'll have to go back on Tuesday's when they have Pizza & Pint night!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Best Pizza in town! They also have a very good dessert selection. Staff is very friendly and the atmosphere was great

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I frequent the area where Coco's is located for good thrift store shopping, and now I have a favorite place to stop in for lunch (or dinner). The market is great, with cool Italian foods and deli meats and cheeses at good prices. The coffee drinks are "out of this world", and the restaurant always serves up fresh, delicious food. They have amazing pizzas (so my family has told me, I am gluten free) that are reasonably priced. They do offer gluten free pasta which I have never tried. It takes longer to prepare (separate pot of water). I had a bean dish that was absolutely amazing. The service is always great and friendly! My new favorite place to eat, or just have coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco's Italian Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coco's Italian Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco's Italian Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.